My thoughts on Choon delaying the unlocking of Notes

in #crypto6 years ago

So, I thought I'd make a post about this.

I have to admit, I felt quite deflated when I saw the announcement on Friday. The day before the anticipated unlock

I knew the unlock might not be exactly on the 1.st of September, but it should be close is what I thought. Wrong. 

Original Photo by rawpixel.com from Pexels

It has been delayed until December due to a few different factors. As you can read in the official announcement here.

I thought I'd just briefly mention why I was disappointed initially. It wasn't because I was planning to cash out. No, I had personally expected the price of Notes to drop and be quite low for at least the first few days, or even weeks. So that's not it. 

I was disappointed because Choon has been a huge part of my life for the last 5 months. I've been talking about it to such a huge and diverse amount of people who's also been getting excited. And they all want to know: "So how much money are you making with your music now then?". "It's hard to say. The notes will unlock in September, so we will see then. But I believe it will be a lot better than Spotify and other legacy platforms 😉We will find out soon enough!". And... All my curious coworkers. Potential artists who don't believe in crypto and wants to see actual money first. They will now have to wait even longer. And I kind of look like a fool to some. 

By having a volatile, but real price, I would have something new to get excited about every day. Something to leverage to get sceptics to finally sign up. 

Regardless, there is nothing I can do but wait. And I'm sure it will be worth it!

I assume there are a lot others who also felt this way, and I would say it's quite fair to be feeling this. Especially if you've been spending money promoting your Choons. Like me, and quite a few others. And I personally have a goal of doing music-related things, crypto, and writing, pretty much full-time from 2019. So I'll need to adjust my plans a bit.

Anyways, moving on.

The decision felt a little bit rushed, as I am sure the team would have made the announcement earlier to avoid disappointment, if they could. And seeing their attitude towards artists, I am sure we will all agree this was the right thing to do, when looking back at this in the future.

One of the main reasons I have been relentlessly promoting Choon wide and far, is the founding team. Not only do they have the required skills to be able to pull this off in the end, but they also genuinely want to fix the music industry for all of us artists. In terms of talent and competence, the team have a lot of experience in the actual music industry. (as opposed to most "competitors")

It was not founded by "finance people" - Something I consider to be a massive red flag in the cryptosphere, as I can easily see the appeal to make quick and easy money in a still widely unregulated space. Especially if your main talent is moving and managing money. It might be a benefit if you are creating a dedicated currency, but not if you are going to make a music platform. 

How Choon works reflects the core beliefs of the team creating it.

And as someone who understand most of the dynamics in the Choon economy, I wholeheartedly agree with it. Why? Because it is set up to reward actual value created. Every second you engage someone with your music counts. Everyone doing good things to help the platform or artists, can also be rewarded. The incentivized playlists are allowing people a way to get paid, for helping promote great music. And as an artist, you are incentivized to do your best, and create music of increasing quality.

No other streaming platform I am aware of, is set up like this. No legacy ones, no crypto ones. None.

---

Now that we have covered that, back to the good news: 

Choon has secured funding for the next 2-3 years. 

This can mitigate all the negative things that can happen in the cryptosphere, and is amazing news to all of us. They have come a long way in a short time. And peeking into my crystal ball 3 years in the future, I see nothing but good news, and a strong streaming company claiming a fair share of the entire streaming market. -  Effectively being able to be self-sustained after the initial investment is spent.

They want Notes to have actual use before unlocking

Meaning, they want to have a useable beta of the platform promotions, allowing you to spend your notes on promoting your music within Choon. As well as some initial staking benefits. 

Being able to spend my Notes within the platform for promoting my music, is pretty much the best context to advertise music in my opinion. No more paying Facebook a ridiculous amount of money to show my ads to people who may or may not be using the platform I'm promoting the music on. And when they are browsing Choon, they are also probably in a place where they can, and feel like playing music already. Again, not like on Facebook.  (Pretty much the entire first article in my "marketing for artists" series is about context. It matters a lot)

So I will probably be one of the first ones to take advantage of this new type of relevant advertising, and write some guides as well 😉

---

And in the end, we all have to realize that "this is crypto". Anything can happen, and unexpected things happens all the time. The technology is new, and in a lot of cases also immature. The experience anyone can possibly inhibit, are limited to max 5 years. There can be regulations happening. Forks. Bugs. Normal startup problems. Hacks. A lot can happen. 

Considering all of this, it's impressive how accurate and fast things have happened with Choon so far, and I hope and believe they are able to keep it up at a similar pace going forward.

---

Found this useful? Then consider upvoting and following me =)

You can also support me by listening to my music for free on Choon. 

You can find my profile here: Kryptokind on Choon (#melodictechno+#minimaltechno,#progressivehouse + #deephouse, and more. Some with inspirations from#italo and #psytrance )

I also have set the playlist split to 50% for all my tracks, allowing you to get 50% of the royalties from any of my songs streamed through your playlist. This rate may change in the future.

New to Choon? Skip the waiting list here.

Want to learn more about Choon? Check out my comprehensive Steemit post about it here: Why I Believe in Choon, and why it matters Wanna check out my website? Go for it.

Want to check out my Facebook Messenger bot? It's here, Kryptokind the robot.

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected by @edje and rewarded by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with the support of Curie. About IINC: here.

Congratulations @cryptoprebz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Regards @cryptoprebz

Thanks for sharing this blog. Very helpful. I thought also to invite to visit my website and my choon page. Hope to stay in touch and after you'll check out the links i'll send, maybe someday we'll collaborate for your music productions.

https://choon.co/artists/luciannagy/

https://luciannagy.com/

Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97