Watching paint dry, synching the Ethereum Blockchain. Adventures in crypto mining

in #crypto-trail7 years ago

Are we there yet? NO!

GETHsynch.png
Mining Ethereum has been a thorn in my side. I don't understand why I can mine dagger-hashimoto all day on NiceHash, but when I attempt to pool mine on my own to get actual Ethereum instead of BTC it's a righteous pain! First, I have to synch with the Ethereum blockchain using GETH, which also has to be done in order to load the Mist Wallet. A couple of hours in and I am only in block 2430145 out of 3868795. ARGHHH!@

I have read online that there are some periods of time where the synching goes quite slowly due to some events that have happened in the blockchain like the DAO hardfork and some other things. Spam transactions flood 2283416-2379641, account bloat from 2421507-2463130. This is an arduous process, but I want that ETH so I'm toughing it out.

Summoning all my patience


Steemit Logo Thanks for reading, @necrophagist is 100% Steem Power and wants to be your friendSteemit Logo


Check out my previous posts on Crypto Mining

https://steemit.com/steem/@necrophagist/setting-up-a-crypto-mining-rig-to-make-usd300-a-month-while-you-are-away-my-journey

https://steemit.com/blog/@necrophagist/adventures-in-crypto-mining-the-journey-to-stack-future-moneys

As well as my post about when steemians are more likely to upvote your post

https://steemit.com/blog/@necrophagist/how-to-improve-your-chances-of-getting-an-upvote-a-week-long-experiment-on-when-to-post-to-increase-votes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26