How to improve your chances of getting an upvote, a week-long experiment on when to post to increase votes.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Finally the results are in!

As a new steemian and author, I was wondering how to improve the amount of upvotes I get when I post a blog. It occurred to me that there would be varying amounts of users active depending on the time of day and day of the week. Over the past week (Friday-Friday) I have been conducting an experiment where I post the exact same picture and post with only the day and time of day changing. Since I am working during the day, my posts consisted of morning and afternoon or evening submissions. The results were about what I expected, with more upvotes occurring during the evening and on weekends. The payouts for each post varied, as curators with more steem power have more influence with their upvotes.

The following is the post that I “spammed” throughout the week, and many of you may have seen it. I used the #photography #blog #life #steem #steemit tags in my submission.

California Friday morning post (experiment on upvote submission value)

Here is yet another view from precious abalone cove. This post is an ongoing part of an experiment to see what time of day yields the most upvotes using the exact same post.
california.jpg
Make sure to follow @necrophagist for the results

** Here is what a few of you have been waiting for!

  • Friday 5/12
    Morning 4
    Afternoon 6
  • Saturday 5/13
    Morning 3
    Evening 9
  • Sunday 5/14
    Morning 4
    Evening 5
  • Monday 5/15
    Morning (no post)
    Evening 8
  • Tuesday 5/16
    Morning 8
    Evening 4
  • Wednesday 5/17
    Morning (no post)
    Evening 6
  • Thursday 5/18
    Morning 3
    Evening 5
  • Friday 5/19 (today)
    Morning only 3

As you can see the upvotes varied but the evenings tended to yield more upvotes. Please resteem if you enjoyed my post

Thanks to everyone that followed me and participated by voting to see what the results are. I hope this experiment helps others out in any way.

I am going to be posting as many pictures of California's beautiful scenery that I have encountered so be sure to follow @necrophagist to see them.

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @necrophagist very good work statisticians, congratulations for the initiative, thank you very much for sharing the results of your research, open you to publish more in the evenings, we look forward to your photos

Thanks, I put a fair bit of time into this one

Cool.. You never know when a whale up votes.. Then
All these make no difference

Gotta love those whales..feed the minnows

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.07 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Where are you located? EST? GMT?

California..PCT

Thanks, 8 hours behind me.... so with my calculator I deduce that around now is the time to blog?!

I would say any time from about 5 hours ago up to now-ish

@necrophagist Thanks for sharing your work it is really informative and really helpful for us minnows like me. Following you! Please follow me back!

Nice meeting you!

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70