Crowdfunding: What do you want to know?

in #crowdfunding6 years ago

I've had several crowdfunding posts here since I joined Steemit 4 weeks ago. I wrote about the rules of crowdfunding, about how to keep momentum in the lulls of the campaign, about the emotional toll, and about my amazing recent experience where author Neil Gaiman kinda saved my campaign.

ask-2341784_640.jpg
Image credit: terimakasih0 on Pixabay

I've had a lot of experience running, consulting, and writing about crowdfunding campaigns. But at this point, I think I've built up enough of an audience to be able to ask y'all: What would you like to know? This is actually one question with two types of answers:

  1. Quick questions I can answer in the comments.
  2. Future post topics.

You are, of course, welcome to state which it is, but I may see a proposed quick question and decide it's worth a post, and I may also see a proposed post topic and decide it's best answered briefly.

So... what do you want to know?

Sort:  

How do you think people can make steemit grow more than ever?

I think community standards are critical. With no centralized moderation, it's up to the community to build it up to be strong and diverse and open. We have an advantage in that Steemit is already incredibly geographically diverse. It's something the community needs to embrace as a true strength.

Also, no flag wars. Whales abusing their power is a huge potential turn off. Before finding a couple of really nice communities on discord and following some terrific people, that almost turned me off of Steemit.

what do you think about the futur of steem

I am not a cryptocurrency or blockchain expert, so I don't know how much I have to say about this. I'm obviously optimistic about it, because I'm here and posting once or twice every day. As it relates to crowdfunding, since so much of crowdfunding is about marketing, and not just pre-sales, I'd say the platform would still need to grow, but could definitely be viable. I would not be surprised to see a Steem based kickstarter or gofundme type site in the coming months.

I guess my question would be what is crowdfunding? I've never really heard of it before

Well, if you've heard of Kickstarter or GoFundMe or Indigogo, those are crowdfunding sites. These are sites where you go to the people, rather than organizations or investors, and ask for help with whatever it is you're trying to fund.

Ahhh! Thank you!

Talking about crowdfunding, I think one can comprehend what it means at first sight. But here is my question : If one has an idea that he intends seeking support funding on steemit, what is the probability that it would be given attention. Or rather, what are the criteria needed for one to get crowdfunded? (I doubt if there is a world like 'crowdfunded')

We just use "funded" for that, usually.

Basically, I think the rules I outlined in my first crowdfunding post apply. You would be giving up the wider marketing opportunities afforded by the big crowdfunding sites, but people being able to support via upvotes makes deciding to support easier. As I said, I fully expect to see a Steem based crowdfunding platform to launch in 2018, but you can certainly do it on your own now.

Thanks. I have followed your post for more insightful contents. I also noticed that your page was the only account followed by a certain robot that comments on posts and upvotes similar contents. Great. Thanks again.

Wait, what? I haven't noticed that, and I'd like to think I would!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88