Crowdfunding rules

in #crowdfunding6 years ago (edited)

money-2724241_1920.jpgSo you want to crowdfund a project? That's awesome! I hope it does super well. But before you do, here's my list of rules and tips.

First, my bona fides. I've run 3 campaigns of my own, all of which succeeded. I've helped several other campaigns, which succeeded. I have never had a campaign fail to reach the goal. Also, I covered crowdfunding for several years in Haaretz.

Now that we got that out of the way, let's get to the rules. Crowdfunding can be fun and rewarding, but it can also be incredibly hard. These rules will help make it easier, and hopefully more successful.

The Three Elements


You need at least one of the following:

  1. A cool product
  2. A good reputation/track record
  3. A strong community

The first is, absolutely, the most powerful. However, if you have a good reputation and strong community support, you can succeed even if the thing you want to do isn't the coolest. A cool product is also the only one that can succeed without the other two elements. If you have none of them, build them before launching your project.

All Or Nothing


Unless your project is definitely going to happen regardless of what happens in the campaign, always go for All Or Nothing. And usually, even if it does. There's an energy to All Of Nothing campaigns that others cannot match.

Minimum Rule


Ask for the minimum needed to actually make your project happen. I know well the feeling of "but if I ask for more, I'll get more, and more is GREAT." But if your campaign doesn't reach its goal, you get nothing, and nothing sucks.

Plan Ahead


Plan for stretch goals from the start. This is the flip side of asking for the minimum. Be prepared to push for more as soon as the goal gets near. And the way to do that is stretch goals.

Stretch Carefully


Stretch goals have to be things you ALREADY WANT TO DO. Don't burden yourself with new missions that you don't actually care to achieve.

Stretch Wisely


Stretch goals should benefit your existing supporters. When your stretch goal benefits your supporters, you give them incentive to spread the word. Few things are as powerful as "if I do this, the money I already spent will benefit me more."

Film It


You need a video. It can be you talking to a camera, it can be an awesome production. But you need that personal touch of seeing and hearing you, or your product.

Always Be Emailing


Email is your friend. Social networks are fine ways to spread the word, but research has shown time and again that a personal appeal via email is the single most effective way to get people to support you. Just don't spam people. One email at the start, one near the end. MAYBE one in the middle.

Slow Going Days


Be prepared for the fallow middle. I'm sure you've seen projects that just go up and up and up. Those are RARE. The first three days, and the last three days of your project will, if all goes well, be lively. The rest? Not so much. Figure out ways to add more rewards during that time.

Help


Don't be afraid to ask for help, part 1. Some crowdfunding sites will advise you not to use the word "help." This is bullshit. There is nothing wrong with asking for help, as that is what a crowdfunding project is about. Sure, you're offering cool rewards, but you want people to help you make a thing happen.

More Help


Don't be afraid to ask for help, part 2. This time, I'm talking about rewards. Do you have friends who can contribute rewards that are relevant to your project? Ask them.

Fulfilling Rewards


Once your project succeeds, you are not sailing the gravy boat yet. Reward fulfillment is hard. Be prepared for it to be hard, to take longer than you expect, to have complications you cannot predict. Be as organized about it as you can. If you aren't an organized person, use tools and ask for help.

Edit: I'm making this into a series, with the first followup here. Follow #didicrowdfund for more.

Sort:  

Good work writing this up. Can't say I disagree with any of it!

Thanks for sharing this link over at the Isle @didic! This is actually something very useful and I hope you don't mind if I ask for some clarification because I have never raised money for anything other than school trips back in the day.

When you say "All or Nothing" do you mean you set a minimum and if it isn't met, everyone gets refunded and the project is either scrapped or put on hold? This is somewhat similar to what I've been reading about ICOs as I try to familiarize myself with how the Smart Media Tokens will work, and I can see where that approach might cause supporters to feel a greater urgency to contribute or encourage others to do so.

Anyway, it's a good post and generous of you to share, thanks. Hope to see you around!

Yup. The kind of projects Kickstarter has, rather than the kind you may see in indiegogo (which also has an All Or Nothing option).

I love the subversion of Always Be Closing to... always be emailing. This is probably where I've failed in promoting my own book. I haven't kept a list of email addresses of those who already purchased it, though I've heard email is important. Do people tend to respond to crowdfunding emails? This is something I'd love to learn more about.

As I wrote in the isle, absolutely. Crowdfunding emails are super hard to do, emotionally, because it's more of a direct request, rather than just telling the world about it on social media. But they ARE effective.

incredible writing in your post

This is so useful and educative. Congrats, great content, high quality! Upvoted it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90