The Story of Crontab-r

in #crontab6 years ago

This happened yesterday.
I was logged into one of my servers via mobile phone.
I do this often, ConnectBot helps a lot, pulling some changes from some of my repositories, added there a new file, that I needed to put into cron.

Quick, let's do that change..click
crontab -r

Et voilá
The result you can see above.
Wait what, what did I do?
ARGHL..e and r are way to close on this android keyboard!
What does crontab -r do?
Let's see the manual:

-r

The current crontab will be removed.

Mind you, I was on mobile. I lost all cron entries for my user, around 50.
And did you ever backup /var/spool/crontabs/?
Me neither. Why?;)

Lucky me, all my scripts start with:
print(time.strftime("%a, %d %b %Y %H:%M:%S +0000",time.localtime()),flush=True)
and I keep logfiles from all my script outputs.
Surprisingly, after half an hour I was done with everything.
Crontab is filled and running.
But I still have the feeling, I forgot some scripts..
Well, in a week or so, I should know;)

So, if you see any weird behyviour from my user, cron is still wrong:))

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 16.0%!
Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote!
I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar!
I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67232.05
ETH 3746.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64