Still in progress!

in #crochet7 years ago

Obviously, I have yet to really get this space moving. I am working on so many things at this point, and I have a list a mile long of crochet projects to organize, photograph, and post.

Today I am starting on an embossed crochet pattern, which is such a cool concept. It uses post stitches to give an amazing texture effect. Normally I crochet garments and prefer complex patterns, but for this technique, I am starting off with a blanket. I'm fairly excited about it, but also know it will take a good amount of time. I am also working on a motif top inspired by a Free People design, and a beautiful top from a German pattern. I'll be sure to post pics soon!

If you are interested in checking out some Embossed Crochet, check out Bonita Patterns on Ravelry (linked below), or Google Bonita Patterns or Embossed Crochet. There is a free pattern from a recent crochet along that is posted on the Furl's site if you want to give this technique a try before going all in and buying the pattern book. It's a gorgeous vest pattern and it's on my list of projects. I'll link that and the link to the pattern book below.

I spend a good amount of time looking for patterns on YouTube as well, and have found that there are some amazing crocheted garments out there! Many of the tutorials are in Spanish or Portuguese, but they are pretty easy to follow since most show you stitch by stitch. I learned how to count and the words for all the crochet terms and have been having fun creating some of these patterns and helping others. YouTube does have subtitles that you can set to auto-translate to English, but they are nowhere near accurate. In fact, sometimes they are downright hilarious. They do show the numbers correctly, and that makes it pretty easy to figure out starting chains, repeats, etc. If you are a crochet junkie like I am, check them out!

Hopefully I will upload some pics of finished work and some WIPs this week. I am in the process of registering for a full load of classes for Fall semester, so I am a bit distracted. Feel free to leave me a comment reminding me to get movin'. And, of course, feel free to comment with anything crochet related, patterns, where to find certain patterns, questions, what have you. I love finding other people that love crochet!

LINKS:

Ravelry: https://www.ravelry.com/

Embossed Crochet by Bonita Patterns: https://www.anniescatalog.com/detail.html?prod_id=135688

Embossed Vest Crochet Pattern by Bonita Patterns (please keep in mind this link is to week 3, which is the post where the patterns begins. You can go back to see the previous two posts if you would like to see video tutorial of the post stitches.)

https://furlscrochet.com/blogs/crochet-tutorials/may-cal-embossed-crochet-vest-week-three

Let me know if you have tried embossed crochet or what you think of the idea.

Until next time,

-Vixx

Sort:  

wow, embossed crochet, I had to google it. I am a great crochet fan myself and permanantly working on crochet garnments. I think half of my wardrobe consist of crochet jackets :-D
I hope to here more of you and your experiences with embossed crochet!

Congratulations @vixxdeville! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @vixxdeville! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45