Craft Adventures: Rope and Yarn Crochet Craft Basket

in #crochet6 years ago

This is a project that started as something else but got turned into something more useful halfway. Originally this was going to be a rug for the dogs, but considering I keep my crochet materials very badly in a cardboard box, I figured it was time to make something that'd hold all my stuff for crochet and then some. The green thing started as a pocket intended to be attached but seems to work better as a roll up thing that holds all my needles and a small pair of scissors. Nothing turned out as expected but I had a lot of fun.

I got the idea from Pinterest, to combine yarn and rope. I used a cheap plastic based yarn full of kinks and as a result my bag is full of kinks, but dammit its strong as fuck and giant.

There's a lot of potential for the technique used to make this for all sorts of things and all different types of bags.

This was intended to be attached but I like it as a sort of roll up thing that can be taken by itself.

And here is the problem with using cheap rope with lots of kinks, these are all over the bag. No matter, it's for me and it's great. Should I do this again more care will be taken on source of yarn.

All in all this was likely less than 150 pesos and was handmade. It's extremely strong. I plan to use this design to make super strong market bags.

Check out the links below for more like this one!

When rope meets yarn.....
Just keep Crafting
Finished my first crochet bikini top!

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Adventures: Costera Beach Water Fun Trip
Paletas de Fresa y Coco (Strawberry and Coconut Popsicles)
Jungle Shots: Tailless Whip Scorpian

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Sort:  

Wow! Kinks and all this looks awesome!!

I'm happy with it, it was a fun project too.

I love this project. And I kind of like the rope slubs. They give the bag character and make it unique.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65