Crocheted sketches and forever knitting ...

in #crochet6 years ago (edited)

I had to wait in the car for a long time yesterday so I started working on a secret crocheted animal design. It's not going that well at the moment but it was interesting for me to create the shapes constantly unravel and to compare with other creative processes like drawing.

It's somewhat easier to 'sketch' on paper as it's fast and I can normally just erase and move on. In crocheting it's hard for me to visualise what will happen if I increase a few stitches. I feel I need to make it and see : trial and mostly error.

I am also trying to keep some mental note of what I am doing to be able to make another one more easily. Normally I just get on with things and barely have time to take photos.

My forever knitting is going okay. This is how I now refer to the knitted digestive tract I am making. I've labelled it like that because I have had to unravel more than a few times to try and make it more presentable. It's only 24 stitches; knitted with double pointed needles, and there are two changes of colour. Unfortunately dealing with the balls of yarn is hard anywhere other than at the table. This means that I cannot take this knitting on the road at the moment so it's basically going slowly.

Hopefully the other sections will be more portable.



I was interested to see these vases the other day in a shop in Carmarthen:

From a distance they looked just like knitting so I had to get closer to check and take a photo. I'm not planning to buy this sort of thing; I think I could just knit a tube instead, but I must concentrate now.



all photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

Glad to see some progress on digestive tract :) Love those vases at the end

Thanks @steven-patrick. The vases looked good and were quite inexpensive, but I refrained from buying :D

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Swatching and sampling are to fiber artists what sketches are to painters. It is time well spent. In my youth I thought swatches were a waste and I ended up with projects that were too small/big/floppy/stiff. Now I take time to be sure I like the fabric I'm making before I start a project. Keep updating us on your digestive system project--so interesting!

Yes, essential @fiberfrau, but at least with a sketch you can just rework one bit of your drawing whereas with a crocheted or knitted piece you need to unravel it all and start again.

hihi... I would perhaps go on with the mistake and later claim I wanted to crochet a fly/donkey/elephant.... I am better in explaining than in following a plan :-D

That's a way of doing it, @neumannsalva :D - as long as you write a good explanation and you include good photos you will succeed...
My reality is that I am unlikely to buy any nice yarn with with

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47