How I learned to speak to the dead

in #creepy-pasta8 years ago (edited)

I have never written a story before so I'm taking a risk that will hopefully help my mind cope with the dream I had. The dream which I actually had (meaning I had the dream) was an instruction on how to communicate with the dead. Don't be mislead; I have no idea how or if it is possible to communicate but in my dream I learned how. I will also add that I am not a spiritual person at all. I rely on science and fact. But this was a dream so anything could happen.

The Dream:

In my dream I was in the bed with my little cairn terrier by my side as usual (my terrier barks at everything so I know this was a dream because he slept through all of this). There was a man in my room watching me. I was half asleep/half awake. The man talked to me for about ten minutes despite my questioning how he got in my room, the house, the gate etc. He said calming things but never fully explained himself.
Once I calmed down I asked him what he wanted. "I want to show you how to communicate with the dead" he said. I didn't question him after that. He proceeded to show me how and then he climbed out my bedroom window. While looking back at me he said he was sorry that he intruded into my home.
Now that he was gone I tried to communicate with the dead. It took a few tries and required complete concentration but finally after a mental struggle I was "in". Before I continue I just want to say that I had no one in particular that I was trying to contact. It was assumed that once I was "in" I was at "their" mercy. The first entity was a woman. I can't describe her appearance (like in most dreams) but she was a loving women either before her death or after. She didn't have much to say other than she liked me and that I should really be careful with my communications with the dead. "We aren't all the same" she said. "The more you communicate the more dangerous it is" she warned. So we ended there and I was half awake/half asleep in my bedroom again.
I was reeling with the fact that I was actually able to contact a dead person. I started to feel like I was special and had more power than anyone else. Sort of like when you are in on the secret and you use that to get more respect. At that time it indeed was a gift but it was also difficult to use.
So I get ready to go back so I can communicate with someone else. While I was concentrating my terrier kept barking for no reason and distracting me. I finally calmed him down and began my journey to talk to someone else that is dead.
I immediately encounter an entity. I don't know much about him/her(?) but it's appearance reminded me of a mummy from those old scary movies. I'm not afraid but the entity is telling me a thousand things at once. All of this cacophony dwindled down to three words "Are you confused?" "Yes" I said. The entity laughed and said that it doesn't mean any harm.
After this encounter things in my mind went haywire. Truth was false or might be truth. Things were but they weren't or maybe they were. Confusion consumed my mind. I couldn't tell if it was real confusion or a dream (within a dream). I felt to the side of me and there was my faithful terrier. My fear diminished but I couldn't help thinking that the entity had been laughing at me the whole time. It wasn't exactly good nature confusion it was simply chaotic.
I swore at that time I wasn't going back "in". The confusion left a bad taste in my mouth and a dull fear that I may have communicated with a malevolent entity; a charlatan at the very least.
I wanted answers and the desire had gotten so huge at this point I had no choice but to go back. Hopefully I would find a helpful entity that enjoyed talking. My ideal entity would have been a teacher. You don't get to choose.
So "in" I went and this time I encountered a dark entity. He was in the shadows. I couldn't see his face but he was a giant. He called himself the "Dark One". I couldn't control myself when I chuckled at this but He controlled my emotions quickly enough. The dread came instantly and I couldn't laugh, cry, or even talk. He told me that He had done evil things in the past that would make the strongest of men cringe. I listened intently because I had no choice. He told me He wanted to tell me these things and that He wanted me to write these things down. "You will document these things for the rest of your life" He said. "I will contact you and you will know what to write".

A deep breath.........heart beating through my chest I awoke from the dream sweating bullets and my terrier inching away from me because the sheets were wet with sweat. I got up and turned the heat thermostat down and went back to bed. I awoke this morning as usual with all of the morning chaos before I was scheduled to be at work. This evening I decided to document my dream. I'm still a bit shaken by the images. The entire dream could now be called a nightmare. What makes this different than others is that I still feel it. I can recall the feeling of concentration, the confusion, and the dread. Why would I feel compelled to write it down? I don't know the answer but I may be writing more in the future.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rackinhorseman! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rackinhorseman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63