JUST A HOBBY??????DUDE WAKE UP!

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

When I was a kid, I admired the British and Americans for their diction (Americans especially). I was a big fan.


[source]

I loved the way they pronounced words, of course I started to mimick them. When I got into junior high, I was introduced to phonetics and word transcription. It was one aspect of English Language (as a subject) that most students weren't conversant with and had a distate for. at first i didn't understand it myself but I was a tenacious kid, dogged especially when it came to academics. "Whatever the subject, i must understand", that was my philosophy even as a young teenager.


[Source]
I didn't learn much at that time until the subject came up again in senior high, that was when I made up my mind to "decode the mystery" at all costs. I also discovered that the OXFORD ADVANCED LEARNERS DICTIONARY transcribed words, the dictionary became my friend from then on. I also started listening to newsbroadcasters differently, this went on till I got a pretty good knowledge of word transcription, consequently, my pronunciation of words became more articulate and accurate, then I became a fan of popular On-air-personalities in Nigeria like FEMI sowoolu and Dan Foster because their voices were used for major radio and TV adverts and jingles,they were pretty good at it. I even conditioned my voice to sound like theirs at some point, this became a hobby for me. Many years later after graduating from college, I joined an MLM company via a Whatsapp group. They held their business presentations on the group and added prospects to the group to see , that was their strategy. I noticed the presentations bulky and tiring to read sometimes. One day I thought to myself, what if there was a way the prospects could be exposed to the presentation without having to read plenty write ups or be physically present at a seminar? A prophet of God once said "one of the ways of becoming successful is to find a need and meet it". This was an opportunity for me. I decided to study the written presentation myself then I prepared a 10 minute audio presentation with my voice.


[Source]

When I sent it to the admin of the group, he was in awe, infact every member of the group loved It! This new format could be sent to anyone and all the person had to do was listen to it, even while driving. I did the job for free.
Not long after, one of the partners on the group introduced me to a top partner of another MLM company who also needed an audio biz presentation for he and his downlines to use as a marketing tool. The job was done satisfactorily and I was paid for it, then more jobs came. Today, Dovvana Studios is a reality, yet , this all started out as a hubby. My point..whatever skill u acquire, take it seriously, harness and develop it. Maybe its something u are naturally good at,and its probably just a hobby to you, PAY ATTENTION to it and nuture it, someday, it could cause people to PAY ATTENTION to you, maybe even build you a fortune. No knowledge is ever wasted, keep improving, never stop learning.big tnk u to @klynic ,@ejemai. and the stach community, for welcoming me to the stach family. God bless steemians.#nakedthoughts

[Source]

Sort:  

I have this too... Hmmm . Gotta pay attention to it too ig

never stop learning


Learning is progressive. 🙌

This is beautiful Sir

👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

Congratulations @krismyguy! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @krismyguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61