We are all spiders in the net...

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

Invited to a TV show to speak about my work and knowing the journalist being not that friendly about what I do, his first question didn't surprise me at all: "What is digital about your art?"
Now that was easy to answer, "I"m working with digital tools".
May be that's why I started to replace the term Digital Art by Art made with digital tools.
Art made with digital tools might be the most popular and widely practiced art making of all time. It's there and succeeded in encouraging artists all over the world. It is the most popular art form ever.
It does not need the imprimatur of fine art critics, which will come anyway. What is more, with digital art we make a huge step towards the appreciation of art being less about possession and more about sharing.


"Fancy-dress ball"
original art by Werner Hornung

maskenball.jpg


ezgif.com-optimize-15.gif


portrait (419px, 14fps)-1 (glissées) (220px, 25fps).gif
The better you look the more you see

Sort:  

I love the many layers of this piece and the way in which we can see them all xx The many layers of Self.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I agree with your statements. However, the problem I see - it's more of a feeling on my part, really - there is nothing tangible in those bits and bites. There is just something about (e.g.) a painting which you can touch, feel, even smell. Sure, you can print digital art, but (to me) it's still aseptic, cold, technical.

I have worked (technical, not artistic) on a lot of web sites in my day, which have a very short half-life. Now, looking back, I have nothing to show for... It was work, it was in part ground-breaking at the time, and now it's defunct and worthless. The older I get, the more I regret having worked in engineering. I think I would have loved cabinetry. Wood is so warm... Now I would know, there is some furniture out there I created. Does that make sense?

Mind you, this comment is IN NO WAY meant to denigrate digital art or your excellent work in particular. I love your stuff. Just musing, just wondering how you might feel about that particular aspect?

I remember when digital photography and digital cameras were entering the main stream there was a lot of discussion about photography, what is "proper" photography, what isn't, etc. Going back further I remember a similar discussion about vinyl albums vs compact discs. I think any major shift is bound to bring with it questions, which is a really good thing! More than anything, art is intended to provoke an emotional response and get people to think and engage in discourse.

That said, I share your sentiments. I have dozens of gigabytes of digital photos that sit on two hard drives. I've seen web sites that I've created disappear, never to be seen again. But I don't think that's much different than a museum's collection sitting in a warehouse. It's interesting that you've brought up woodwork; I've started woodworking for very similar reasons. Not furniture, but walking sticks and chess boards. My children get home-made Christmas gifts from me.

I have dozens of gigabytes of digital photos

Same here. 12 TB and counting, lotsa pics, umpteen video clips, carefully edited family films. I was into digital photography and video since Commodore Amiga (what a great machine that was). I remember driving 500 miles to pick up a new toy: a genlock interface :-)

Anyway, at least my stuff is networked and beamed to each TV in the house. So on cold winter days my wife and I frequently watch old travel videos and slide shows. Meaning, I'm getting some mileage out of it all for our personal enjoyment. Same goes for even older Super 8 movies that without having been digitized would only gather dust in the basement.

So there really is something to be said about Werner's thought of the "immaterial code stored in some sort of ever active, always amendable state."

Wooden sticks are great, too. They're so handy when one needs to hit overly zealous art critics over the head ;-)

Wooden sticks are great, too. They're so handy when one needs to hit overly zealous art critics over the head ;-) Hah! I should see if I can make my next one much more in line with a standard wooden club. :)

Yep, I've got a number of digital photo frames around the house that I like to rotate photos through, too. It's a more manual process than I'd like (I am, inherently, a very lazy person) but it does give me some satisfaction, too.

thanks for your feedback...I can understand your frustration and can only hope that you have been paid for your work on web sites...that way you could have bought something as a reminder of this work.
The visual digital arts have suffered criticism for the lack of materiality, real texture, painterly smells, the smeary feel of the pigments.
Why not relish in the closer similarity that the digital "original" shares with pure thought; that being, that is and will always be immaterial code stored in some sort of ever active, always amendable state.
That viewing a digital art work is more like experiencing a poem, or a film, in that the bringing forth of that image into a material space represents not only the poem itself but the performance of a specific set of visualization tools. for a poem is nothing until it is read and a film is just a round metal can until it is projected.

have been paid for your work ... could have bought something

I was. Well. My comment wasn't meant to extoll the idea of hoarding stuff. That I don't really need.

Example: My BG is electrical engineering. As an apprentice I worked on the lighting of a small shopping mall nearby. Today when I go to this building and look up on the ceiling, I remember running the wires high up there as a youngster and how scared I was, my first time on a cherry picker and my first professional responsability.

The fixtures have changed, but the light is still on thanks to work I did back then. Makes me proud in a small way. O.K., it's not art and it's not forever, but it looks like the building will survive me at least. With the web stuff, it's the other way around. And the measure of time is not decades but mere months more often than not.

digital art work is more like experiencing a poem, or a film

That is actually a wonderful explanation and makes so much sense, even to an old bean counter like me ;-) I guess I had never thought of it that way, as a bridge between the fine arts and the performing arts.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Woaa.....Thanks for turning me onto Werner Hornung's work. I dig it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81