Sort:  

More nice pics :)
Slightly off topic...
I have a hard drive full of such pics, from my own adventures and photography. Some maybe not as good, some maybe better. Point is, I can't make any money posting them. I've tried! People consider my photo posts to be shitposts, and I rarely get over 20 cents, no matter how long they are, how good the photos are, and how clever the captions are.
Maybe it's jealousy, but I see each of your photo posts automatically garnering at least $10 to $20 (and thereby pillaging value from other posts, such as mine). So my 20 cents becomes 10 cents, so your photo posts get just that much more. Silly, right?
So I'm curious, why is it that your photo posts, which under my account would be considered spam or shitposts, are almost trending?
Not that I don't love them. I always check them out. You've been to lots of obscure tourist spots I'll never go to.

People consider my photo posts to be shitposts, and I rarely get over 20 cents, no matter how long they are, how good the photos are, and how clever the captions are.

I haven't seen any of your photo posts, and I would question anyone who considered them spam or shitposts if they were an honest attempt at creating content and telling a story.

...and thereby pillaging value from other posts, such as mine

I don't really know what to say to you here, but it's a valid question. If you feel my post is overvalued, downvote it. I don't decide how my post gets voted or how much of the pool gets sent to me. I certainly don't solicit votes, bot them, or trade them. I've even been dwindling down my self vote on top of that. It is a social network at its core. It's not always vote the post, it's also vote the person. What I do is network a lot outside of steem on discords, etc. I'm in anti-abuse and curation communities, and I take stands and am outspoken on issues here that get me noticed and more followers with more stake. I also occasionally get my posts downvoted to hell by those that disagree because of some of those stands as well.

I bought quite a bit of steem and I power it all up(except for steem monsters cards), and you can see on both my accounts I follow trails and delegate out a lot of it to projects and initiatives. Most of my voting with this account, I vote very inefficiently because I'd rather support people such as yourself instead of maximizing my milking the system. For the most part my votes are very asymmetric, I stopped voting steem related posts any higher than 10%, because I want to see more non-steem related content here. I also keep on buying STEEM. I just bought 2k more today and powered it up on @joshmania. That might have something to do with getting noticed more too.

To be honest, I personally only care that my posts don't get zero'd out. It's just fun to document my experience on a blockchain in addition to my website. I care more about the unit price of steem going up in value, than getting more of the inflation. That being said, whatever inflation I do earn, I'm going to try to put it to good use.

But like I said, if you feel it is over-rewarded compared to similar posts, downvote it. I'm not going to judge you for it or retaliate. But know there are others on steem actually trading votes with other whales and orcas for 3-4 times the rewards who would do both to you. Would you be consistent and take that same stand against them?

Thanks for the opportunity to really think about this topic and challenge my assumptions. I hope that my response will accomplish the same for you.

And thanks for not assuming I'm attacking you or your content (because I'm not). I think you're a great photographer and your posts are nicely laid out. I'd never downvote any of your stuff (unless it somehow took a really dramatic turn for the worse, and even then maybe not). At the very worst, I'd refrain from upvoting it. I'm really just trying to figure out what makes certain posts (or people) winners, post HF21. Something's different (such as the former bidpots piling on votes to certain people/posts). I'm not trying to take you down! I'm trying to find out how I can potentially get in on it.

Not voting Steem-related posts highly is an interesting policy! Cool. I guess I have that same policy, I just never put it into words for myself. :)

As for "networking", I don't doubt the effectiveness of those strategies. But, is that what curation is supposed to be calculating, a person's networking ability, and time put in to developing partnerships with curators? It seems NewSteem is a lot about networking and not so much about content. Indeed, the insiders announced the other day that the new direction for this blockchain is away from content, and toward "launching new cryptos/SMTs". But back when I started putting in full time work here (2 years ago), and put in $5000 (my entire savings), that wasn't what this place was billed as. Back then (and still officially to this day) the concept here was:

get paid.png

So I too have put in some time, money, and effort, and currently it isn't paying off. Yes, I'll take your advice about tags and other stuff (mentioned in another comment), but I don't think that's going to take me all the way. Perhaps I put in my time, money, and effort too soon? If I had held that $5000 until today, and never made a single post or comment here, I could buy 35,000 STEEM out of nowhere, and I'd be in the club. Sometimes it feels as though I'm being penalized for doing everything right, and supporting this blockchain too soon/early.

I understand that you don't need the money and you're posting to document your adventures. I'm the same, although I had dreamed that at some point my work here would at least buy me a new camera, as my current one is essentially toast. I'm disabled and on a very fixed income, so even a few hundred bucks is hard to come by all at once. Losing all my savings in this blockchain, and still never making enough to replace my camera, is pretty dismal.

Not that it's your fault whatsoever, so please don't hear me saying that :)

Thanks for helping me understand better.

Honestly, I value more the the fact you comment and engage my blog. That tells me that you actually looked at it and read it.

Ask yourself if STEEM price wasn't so depressed, would we be having this discussion? If it was a dollar, Edgar would have a well already right?! We are both thinking there is potential it recovers to previous all-time highs. If it actually did that, the STEEM you have would look completely different, and the fact that you are accumulating any at all is probably a good thing. I think with a few tweaks I mentioned you could increase that dramatically. This might be a DPOS blockchain, but the human component introduces the human social element to it.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

damn what a beautiful spot!
I'd like to be a ranger.. or some kinda shepherd with an enduro in the mountains.. :)

@tipu curate

Thanks! Life would sure be a lot less complicated...

LcTxR7u1XKaa3e4T1EBuBP18JezPvjFFo8gNuE9CiKHBn4KaQ9UNHXAvRhjnR2UrDe9MGNqQ8kawWezsmsbxKgACDhsuE5Jx1wLU92fr5LpzCcD8XFdLwVdfEWRKkaeKRNnnXYAWMBBDEjUFTuuXaqGus.gif

¡Gracias! Te estoy siguiendo.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @mrprofessor and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Did you know that you get larger upvotes when posting through TravelFeed.io? That is not all, we are also giving away a ticket to Steemfest to one lucky TravelFeed user. Make sure to read the announcement and opt in! Also, thanks to the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi you can now earn up to 100 STEEM on top of the post rewards when posting through our new platform TravelFeed.io! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we introduced EasySignUp and EasyLogin, our first step to make TravelFeed ready for mass adoption.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

That is definitely my ideal place total peace and relaxation i love the photo of the Syke's Monkey looking at you...damn give me some food human 🤣 🤣

Haha yeah, no food for you monkey!

You were lucky in Thailand they jump you if you have no food for them 🤣

I would love to visit such a park!
Great photos!

Thanks for dropping by, I'm glad you enjoyed them.

Thank you joshman! You've just received an upvote of 50% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you joshman! You've just received an upvote of 60% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hi @joshman!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.728 which ranks you at #5509 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 101 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01