Having a "I was pretty good at that!" Moment...

in #creativecoin5 years ago

Ooookaaayyy... I'm admitting it "out loud" here for the first time... I miss photography.

Eeek!

Regrets? No. No regrets. I'm still glad that I sold all my gear. I am, however, thinking of starting to save up for a new system. Something minimal, small, lightweight. I'm looking pretty hard at the Fuji system. Not planning on getting even close to the closet full of gear that I used to maintain. Promise.

Anyways, I was just organizing my portfolios here on my big computer to include some of my metalsmithing stuff, and of course I looked over all my old paintings and photographs that I had stashed away there. I was admiring some of my old portrait and pet work... it almost feels like a completely different person took these photos.

08 Mavy.jpg
2016

A person with crippling anxiety and an inability to ever be wrong or make mistakes...

08. Odin BW.jpg
2015

A person who didn't have the perspective that allowed them to see their own worth.

014 Mandy.jpg
2017

015. Helo Ball.jpg
2015

012 Kris.jpg
2017

But at this point, I am so grateful for this opportunity... the opportunity to take this thing that I loved so much, which I absolutely destroyed for myself, and nurture it back to health.

01.OdinfromAbove.jpg
2018

01 Rachel.jpg
2017

I don't think I will ever try to make a business out of my photography again (never say never)... but I feel ready to dig into it again.

015 Lily.jpg
2016

Ready to play, ready to try new techniques & genres...

013.Toby.jpg
2013

03 Dahlia.jpg
2017

Ready to make a bigger effort at taking amazing photos of my friends, family, and adventures.

010 Haely.jpg
2015

...instead of just trying to get really good at one type of shooting that I think will sell...

04 Kyle.png
2015

...to the point where I refuse to pick up a camera unless I'm getting paid.

4T5A6101EDIT.jpg
2018

That attitude left with all my Canon gear. I'm so excited to simply enjoy photography for what it is...

09 Kira.jpg
2016

...an incredible art form with so many facets to fall in love with. My first love!

012.HELOSHADOW.jpg
2018

This is going to be fun!

Thank you for taking this walk down memory lane with me. I'm so so excited to have finally shed the negativity and anxiety that I had wrapped around my photography practice and now allow myself to simply enjoy. Stay tuned!

Peace & Love

Caitycat

Sort:  

Nawwww, I'm so happy to see this!

I've been down memory lane quite a lot too. I don't want to go back to studio work, but I do miss the creativity and just how excited people got when they got a really good shot of themselves... even professional models. Your photos are just so amazingly good, I'm really excited to see what comes next...

Thanks, buddy! Right?! It's such a fun and easy hobby, especially when you get a solid technical foundation established... I'm wildly excited to just take it and have fun... what a concept!! I used to be so jealous of the people who came into the camera store I worked at and would just buy gear to shoot for fun. My turn!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Sometimes you need a break from things to get a good refresh.
I've gone a month or two without picking up my camera because I got burned out or too busy for other things. I ended up selling two backup cameras and a bunch of lenses last year, which I kinda regret now, because having a 2nd camera is nice as a security blanket.

Can't wait to see some more photos from you!

Yes it often takes walking away to get some perspective! I was so scared that I would regret selling all my gear but so far.. only the occasional small pang of regret- mostly to do with having lost my default creative outlet... but I have lots of ways to create these days.
Thanks for stopping by!

I always liked your work, and your eye for framing up a good shot.

You should ease back into things by being my official drone-photography-consultant.

Didn't we recently talk about this?? let's get out there!

Hello @caitycat, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much! Cheers!

This post is supported by $5.0 @tipU upvote funded by @mstafford :)
@tipU voting service: instant, profitable upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20