I Built a (Basic) Blacksmith Forge

in #creative6 years ago

39282967_673532006359221_2882173890296020992_n.jpg

I spent about 250 dollars purchasing the materials to make this forge, and 3 days putting it together, including mortar curing time.

So far, it works pretty well. It holds the heat pretty well and I am able to heat the metal to about 2,100 Degrees Farenheit, according to the internet (may be reliable, may be not). I did not do much hammering today, but the test fire that I did today was very good.

Pump.jpg

I use a hand crank blower meant for a barbecue, but still works very well. It cost me about 40 dollars on Amazon, Along with a 15 dollar hose segment that I use to get the air from the blower to the forge.

Anvil Work.jpg

Right now I am using a railroad track as an anvil, which rings a lot more when struck than a usual anvil might, due to how thin it is. However, it still does the job. I got it for 35 dollars on Ebay from a railroad track seller. Interesting guy.

Either way everyone, I hope you liked the look at my basic forge. I will be working on this more in the future, and I will post as cool things happen. Have a good day Steemians!

Sort:  

Congratulations @tyric! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @tyric! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 63935.74
ETH 2749.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65