NEW INDUSTRIAL STRENGTH RABBIT TRACTOR PROTOTYPE

in #creative7 years ago (edited)

Always one to invent and create...


Raising rabbits is a great hobby that takes me back to my childhood. For meat-eaters, they say that 1 buck (male rabbit) and 2 does (female rabbits) can produce the same amount of meat as an entire cow in just one year. Honestly they do reproduce like rabbits!

We enjoy raising them and certainly love to breed them and see all of the variety in their offspring. By arranging different "marriages" we have got all sorts of variations in the next generation of bunnies. Since we plan on continuing our breeding efforts long-term, we have to be conscious of the potential cost associated with raising so many rabbits. Additionally, if any die, then that was essentially a waste in time, energy, and effort.

ENTER THE TRACTOR

A "rabbit tractor" is basically a mobile pen that allows the rabbits free access to the green growing grass. Anytime that an animal is allowed to be closer to its original habitat, I believe that it is better for the animal, even domesticated ones. I've experimented with a variety of rabbit tractors over the past few years, but here is my most recent prototype as I am thinking about "beefing up" the structure.

MULTI-PURPOSE AND BUILT TO LAST

By using some $50 Kennel Panel as a base, I wanted to build a solid structure that was still light enough to move by hand. I built it taller than needed to eliminate some of the heat that the sun will provide. If you trap a rabbit directly under a hot sheet of metal I don't think it'll work out very long.

If you look in the photo above, you'll see all sorts of rabbits. That was just us running some tests on sizes. Five of those bucks were too small to place in the tractor. Once the rabbits are big enough though, tractors like this will be a great place for them to live.

Since various predators like hawks, owls, possums, raccoons, coyotes, and wild dogs are always present up here in the Ozark Mountains, having a solid cage is important. We once had some dogs try to attack one of our rabbit pens. By combining the kennel panel with pallet boards and sheets of scrap metal, these tractors should be able to prevent any predators from successfully getting a meal.

By bending the Kennel Panel into a square shape, the rabbits are protected on all sides, once the ends are secured. Since rabbits can dig, I don't want them crawling out of the bottom, or another animal crawling in. Though they cannot get out, their manure still can, and the grass can still get in.

The one in the video is just another prototype. I enjoy creating things and exploring possibilities, and even when I do not reach a final design that I believe is perfect, I still have a functional cage on my hands that works. I'm exploring some other uses for these and having some fun getting creative with the @little-peppers.

We used the one featured in the video to house some of our bucks while we were in Wisconsin, and so far so good. They are all still alive and all still inside!

SHOPPING CARTS ARE INDUSTRIAL STRENGTH TOO!

Also, if you enjoyed this post, perhaps you would like to see how I am using broken shopping carts too. Click the post link here to check it out.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-industrial-strength-rabbit-tractor



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I might have to borrow your mobile tractor plan when we start raising rabbits ourselves. Our build is moving along, so far everything is on track for us to be in our new home by November 1st. This time next year we should have rabbits and chickens on our land. Though technically we do already have rabbits on our land though they are wild.

I saw a wild one on our land tonight!

I hope that your progress continues at an excellent rate!

Good work thanks for sharing with us !!!

The rabbit is so cute.
But children are more cute.

Don't want to say this, because it is unnecessary, but I fear if your kids cry when you sell the rabbits for meat? I say this, because I remember a goat in my childhood, that I used to take out for grazing in open, and I felt attached to it.
One day it was cut for meat, and I can't forget the cry that I had. It felt very bad. But I understand it now that it is all part of life, but as a kid it was a bad experience.

It is okay to say such things. I know how it is. I think that we must remember that every animal dies anyway. If it can live a good life and then for a purpose, I think that it is better than just having it get sick, be in pain, and eventually rot away.

My children understand enough about life to understand a bit about death, and they would rather enjoy raising these animals than not, but I do understand your concern, and for that I am grateful.

Well said @papa-pepper We have to get the next generations to understand food doesn't come from a styrofoam box, it starts long before that! Same goes for all food stuff, If we don't remember where it comes from, we are doing a great disservice to all the past generation who had to work for their food!

Good points there!

Good to know that. :)

I asked him the same question some days before and he said his children are aware of all this and are comfortable with it!

This is a great write up. We're planning on adding rabbits to our homestead. Probably gonna raise a 2-3 breeders indoor this winter and put them on pasture in the spring. This tractor would be ideal and we already have most of the materials in the barn. Just wondering though, is it heavy to move?

I also have some baby rabbits and i know how it feels to take care of these little cute guys,i really like your rabbits truck idea and i am also going to order a truck for my rabbits also to make them happy and safe @papa-pepper IMG-20170707-WA0015.jpg

Rabbits are tasty too besides serving as a lawnmower.

That they are.

Lawnmower and fertilizer in one!

OH yeah! I like the way that you think!

Anytime my friend.

Cute bunnies, my late father would eat them, he would let them soak in vinegar for a day and roast them. Por bunny ;) Looks like your making good progress with the home papa
Keep up the great work ;0)*

Thank you! I appreciate the encouragement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11