CAGE MODIFICATION AND PREPARATION - FROM RABBITS TO QUAIL

in #creative6 years ago

When I came home late the other day from my time trading some rabbits for some quail with @armadillocreek, my work was not yet done.


Proper housing is important for animals on the homestead. Thankfully, @armadillocreek had sent me home with a cage for the quail, but with over twenty five of them in there, I needed to break things up a bit. Since I had just gotten rid of some rabbits, I had an empty rabbit cage to work with.

THE OL' SWITCH-ER-ROO!

The rabbit cage was not all that far from from being appropriate. Eventually I'll make a really nice housing unit for them, but for now it was just a matter of keeping them healthy, happy, and spaced out. For the most part this rabbit cage was suitable, but I had to add some "hardware cloth" to a few of the larger openings on the front of the cages.

With plenty of @little-peppers to help, watch and learn, shine flashlights, and take photos, projects like these are a lot easier than they would be. Not only can they learn from me and help out a bunch, they also come up with some great ideas sometimes!

Some of the process for attaching the hardware cloth was more difficult than other parts. In some areas, a simple trimming of the wire and folding of it was all that was needed. On these edges, though, I opted for basically "sewing" the two pieces together with some thin wire.

Here is a closeup of the basic concept. It made sense to the @little-peppers too, since they are familiar with sewing. In fact, they have even been known to take the initiative of sewing up tears in my clothing without even being asked to! You've gotta love stuff like that!

Before too long the cages were prepared. Having never raised quail before, I was only guessing that they would enjoy their new living accommodations. Of course, there was one simple way to find out.

I pulled the cage full of quail from @armadillocreek out of the truck I borrowed from @bluerthangreen. Don't worry @bluerthangreen, I put down cardboard first so your seat wouldn't get covered in poop! Just look at how beautiful those birds are!

Once they quail were split up, it was time to remove those tasty little eggs! We first tried quail eggs when @armadillocreek blessed us with some last time, and now, thanks to him, we can raise our own! Hooray!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-quail-at-home-in-their-new-home

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Whoa, is that a quail's eggs? that's too big bro. This is the first time I saw that big of quail's eggs. Usually, its 1/4 of that size the normal egg. Its almost same size of the size of chicken's eggs. Thats cool!

Those are in one of my @little-peppers hands! LOL!

Very good! More eggs for your family.....:)...

Beautiful looking this animals, I appreciate your creativity. best of luck my friend.....
It's bird's egg?
upvote and resteemit

very nice and creative hope those rabbit never run away from the cage., i love those animals specially those cute little QUAIL you are the man mr @papa-pepper

Thank you! We are having fun with it!

yes i know because i experience the same like you do with my little one. very fun and exciting hope those quail never jump onto the cage keep it safe because i do love birds.

Cool, this quail has given a lot of results.

Quail eggs are very tasty, my son most like chili fried quail eggs. Your children look very happy to help you. Looks like they also want to take care of it. I have also kept quail, only 10 tails, but not long dead quail because of disease. Until now I never keep it anymore. Thanks @papa-pepper

New critters!! What fun!
You have super duper helpers in those @little-peppers.

I love to see how you always find a solution to things incredible way to fix the cage as last week you fixed the door of the corral, by the way remember to eat the quail eggs with sauce and mayonnaise sauce together I told you yesterday: D

New critters!! What fun!

You have super aides in those @little-peppers.
Upvote and rsteemit Sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.19
ETH 2613.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67