Extracts from Rondo Capriccioso, Op. 14 (Felix Mendelssohn)

in #music5 years ago (edited)


This is an excerpt from a particularly tricky Rondo Capriccioso by Felix Mendelssohn, which I used to be able to play when I was much younger... however, the skill has left my fingers since those times... but I would really like to relearn it.

In this video, I am trying to have a go at running a section that I was practicing... it's only a page and half, but it is pretty virtuosic, and as every performer knows... things that go well in practice can go completely pear shaped in a running performance. So, just to put a little bit of running performance stress on myself, I recorded these three attempts at the section. A page and half out of about 10 or so pages, I'll be pretty chuffed if I can get it all together. I'm about half way into learning the piece... but I might just stick to my day job!

Next time, I'll try to have a shot that sees my hands a bit better....


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

I am sure you will learn it and get it down perfect :)

Well.. perfect isn't quite the aim.. but decent would be good!

Good point but i am sure you will get to decent ;)

Wow, you are doing great. If only the person who owns a piano in the apartment above me had even a bit of your talents.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks... although, I think the practice that I needed to do to get to this intermediate stage would have driven a downstairs neighbour nuts if I had one!

Wow! Are you an Aussie? I detect the Australian accent 😉 Do you play the organ too? You should enter the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes... I'm originally from Australia... sadly the organ is way beyond me, I can barely co-ordinate my two hands on two seperate parts let alone adding the feet!

I wish I would be able to play the piano or at least to have at least 1% of your talent and skills! ;0)

It's never too late to start!

Bravo!!! That was really quite brilliant, Bengy! I do believe you are too modest!

Throws flowers!

I love how easily it seems to flow and even if you can detect every single mistake, the sound of music playing so passionately warms my soul. I cannot tell you how many years the pounding of the piano played at my house, but, there were nine of us and my mother made us all take lessons.

I surely love your sound of music. Thank you!

!tip

Thank you... it is more a problem of past memory of what was possible... when you knew that things were easier and more fluid, then it becomes a little frustrating when it doesn't immediately jump into your hands! Despite the fact that there should be no reason for it to do so!

Human nature. When we don't oil the machine and it won't start up like before, you wonder what is wrong, even though you already know. I picked up my flute and was dismayed to learn that I could blow hot air or control it like I used to, but, I am back after a while!

Good luck!

I am always in so much awe of musicians. I love music, love listening to it, love watching people play. It's certainly good to want to push one's self to improve, but I can definitely say you're sounding great!

Thanks.. slowly slowly... it will hopefully get better!

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Thank you bengy! You've just received an upvote of 37% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

🎁 Hi @bengy! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

You got a 8.62% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bengy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51