Semi-Blind Sketching: Park People April 2018steemCreated with Sketch.

in #crayon6 years ago

Sketching on a Sunny Sunday

This Park People is a spin-off from a similar four-page spread in my March 2018 sketchbook. (Here's lookin' at you, @manouche). The day these sketches were made was quintessentially spring. Fluffy, puffy clouds slipped across the brilliant blue sky on a refreshing southerly breeze while people from all over town soaked up the day's splendor.

This series was drawn semi-blind, meaning more time was spent looking up at the subject than down at the paper. That's why the lines are so loose and flow-y, and not exactly accurate. These are ink and wax (crayon) on multipurpose copy paper.

Life moves fast - no time to look for perfection with this exercise!


steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-crayon-semi-blind-sketch.jpg


walking away man
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-walkingawayman.jpg

smoker's break
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-smokingman-backturned.jpg

eat and run - kids to catch
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-eatandrun-kidcatcher.jpg

table guard
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-sittingman-foodtable.jpg

walk away, tiny backpack
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-walkingawaywoman.jpg

wrapped and rapt in thought
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-deepthinker-walkingwoman.jpg

little stripes
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-standingstripes-girl.jpg

casting a rainbow spell
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-magicwand-littlegirl.jpg

What an ordeal! Entangled with pooper.
steemit-enternamehere-parkpeople-april2018-poopingdog-tangledwalker.jpg


How do you like to spend a Sunday afternoon?
What season do you most enjoy?

voxel-sig-enh-steemit-by_fabiyamada-032018.png
^^custom voxel art made by @fabiyamada^^

Sort:  

These are great, they have that Matisse feeling about them, the dog is so funny I love it! Made me smile.

What a compliment! Thank you for looking at the park people and pooper :]

It's very intriguing to see the shapes and movements that caught your eyes and/or interest. Like that Smoker's break, I love that one. You can see that you let the crayons just drift away and go with the flow of that moment.

I guess I like springtime, because it feels like a fresh new start. I also really like it when its rainy, but still warm outside. It gives such a chill vibe for some reason.

Thanks for taking a look at the park people. Glad I could share the spring energy.

To me, springtime is always welcome. Being inside all winter can be a recipe for madness! What have you been doing this spring, Benja? I missed #50 of your doodles :[ I've got to catch up on your posts!

Always good to see you back on track, thank you for that Spring energy. It really is a thing.

Winter times can indeed affect your state of mind, glad the warm days are upon us once again. I've been creating still, to my surprise. I've found myself some consistency since forever, and I will only increase that within just a few weeks. And more music, which I am excited about :)

Thanks for asking.

How about you?

I know, I've been hanging out in the shadows around here lately. Mostly because I've been spending more time outdoors! I've been throwing the discs a lot and working on a few art related projects simultaneously. Your dedication to consistency is noteworthy, you've always got another one up in the queue. I'm interested in hearing your next work! ♫

The stripes one and rainbow are very cute! ^^
My favorite season is spring. Not too warm or cold and motivates me to do some cleaning/decluttering :)

Thank you for looking at the park people. Yes! Spring and fall are a great time to catch up on cleaning and organizing. Lots of activity this time of year, Spring brings a smile, that much is clear. ☺

I really like what you did! I think it is full of joy and with its own style.

Thank you Sandrina! Yes, style takes care of itself when joy is what it's all about.

I just hate it when they don't clean up the poop. Watched an old lady slip on some while heading to the boardwalk. Felt so bad for her, yuk.

I really feel like you took me to the park today.
Sundays I try to guilt my husband to do more work on the reno.

Around this time of year is my fav. No Holidays too much, the weather is starting to get better, warmer, sunshine and blooms.

Fall is probably my second favorite

How'd you know she didn't clean up the poop! In fact, it was a disgusting and hilarious scene. There was also a little toddler with the lady and the canine, totally getting in the way while she was stamping out the poop like it was on fire (for some reason) and grinding it into the grass...It was like watching a movie. Then when she got untangled, they all just walked away, nothing going on over here. To slip in the stuff on a boardwalk, that's terrible :[

How long have y'all been working on it and how much more work is left to go before completion? Or is it more his project than his and hers? We're looking forward to finding our first place together, been keeping our eyes wide open!

I also love springtime, for the same reasons. Never know what the weather will bring this time of year, could freeze, could hit upper 90's. This year has been particularly mild for us down here. From the looks of your recent pics you've been enjoying the season as well. ☺

Sigh... We pulled up the floors in December...It's a glue down operation. We salvaged and sanded down some old furr from a house being demolished.
IMG_20180426_080234.jpg
and we usually can't finish because of procrastination or something coming up that makes it so we can't afford the product we need to lay it down. I have been living in my kitchen and office for months, very closed in. I take solice in the fact that one day I know I could live with very little if any space. Makes me want to live on a sailboat or tiny house for a spell.

I have to get out everyday or it starts to make me depressed.

Ah, project scope creep in some of its most insidious forms. Setbacks like that can drive a person mad. Good to see you're staying sane given the circumstances!

Being outdoors is regenerative, I agree. And the tiny house, yes we've also discussed that very thing. We've been looking at all kinds of living quarters from RVs to barndominiums. So long as you can live with the space you have in your mind you'll probably make things work. Springtime makes depression a challenge!

aaaaaah i should try to do this one day :> sketching people at the park ! sounds so fun :>

your figures are very fluid and they really capture the flow and movements of all the park goers :> nice works !!!

upvotes

Thank you! I appreciate the feedback and support. Yes, park sketching is a challenging and relaxing pastime for us sketchy-types. Maybe less challenging with practice over time.

Nice quick sketches, brave also :D. I don't dare to do this because I feel they might think I'm a weirdo. I like these drawing because they expressively capture people's body languages.

-upvoted-

Thank you for having a look! On still days, sitting out among the people to sketch is ideal. But on windy days I just keep it in the car like I'm some kind of creeper. We mean no harm in sketching the public! The more you dare to get out and sketch in the open the more comfortable it will become. One day I'll be doing plein air paintings, until then the crayons are a decent substitute. Thanks again scrawly ☺

Yeah, I know that we're harmless, but still! It requires bravery to do it, and something I still have to wrestle with myself. Keep on drawing and I will keep looking :).

Wow, am I behind. A real news flash, I suppose ( :
I love these. They're so whimsical, yet have a lot of motion and activity. And the fact you did them with eyes up, even more amazing. Love them all, but the pooper is super... I hope she had her baggie...

Thank you for stopping in to have a look! Whimsy bimbsy, yes I agree. The crayon really sends the whimsy over the edge with this one. Alas, no. She failed to use a baggie. In fact, she used her shoe to stamp and smear it into the ground. I was drawing from inside the car on this day. (´∀`)

Ewwgg. Never seen that one before. Think I'd run off, before messing up my shoes. Takes all sorts I suppose. These are really fun drawings. I think some should be framed, like before. The Head's Up Series or something like that. Have a nice night, and Crayola on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66982.11
ETH 2591.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67