Dilemma date

in #couple7 years ago (edited)

Just like every Saturday night, my husband and I went out for our weekly date, leaving behind the kids with their respective caregivers. Jayden was with his aunt. Jansen was at home with the caregiver that we had trained to cater to his medical needs.

Which one?

Screenshot_20180114-184613.jpg
Image from Unsplash.com

As usual, there is always a dilemma within me as a mother. One part of me wanted to hang out with my husband. Another part of me desperately wanted to stay at home to cuddle with kids. It is true when children come along, they steal my heart away from their father's. Yesterday night's dilemma was the most intense, I miss my 2nd son dearly. If you know me longer, he has a condition and he needs special care. He has been going through some rough days recently, not able to eat well due to alot of gagging, hence we top up with tube-feed to ensure he has enough calorie. No doubt, I was worried. So I was reluctant to leave home. I knew my heart would not be there with my husband despite my presence. Don't worry, if my husband reads this post of mine, he will be fine. He is a secure man.

It is time to go

SmartSelectImage_2018-01-14-17-43-46.png
Image from Unsplash.com

My husband arrived home, getting ready to bring me out for a date. And it was time for me to say bye-bye to Jansen. I was battling inside, wanted to cancel our date. However, I went out with my husband anyway, for the fact it was the only night in a week we got to catch up and re-create some spark. Marriage indeed is a commitment, and we vowed to each other to never let our love dwindle. Pondering on this, I let go my heart, said goodbye to dear son and off we went.

Quiet couple

SmartSelectImage_2018-01-14-18-57-08.png
Image from Unsplash.com

We were rather quiet. Only a few exchange of questions to break the silence. "What do you feel like eating?". "Do you want to watch movie after dinner?" He was smart enough to sense I was not alright, hence the lesser words. We reached the mall, bought our movie ticket, then continue to walk around for 15 minutes, still undecisive where should we go for dinner. I started to feel famish, and told him I wouldn't walk further. We ended up at a restaurant called Grellas, because it was right in front of us at the point of me being a little impatient. Grellas serves grilled western food, burgers and pasta.

20180113_210704.jpg
My Hawaiian Grilled Chicken with butter rice

IMG-20180113-WA0007.jpg
His Grilled Lamb Chop with mashed potato

What caught my attention there were the many photo frames with meaningful quotes. Please spare me some of your attention and time to browse through each of them.

20180114_100334.jpg

20180114_100210.jpg

20180114_100404.jpg

20180114_100428.jpg

20180114_100236.jpg

I would deem myself as a dumb if these quotes did not ignite some senses to my soul. Thank God they did prick me. And I was woken up from dilemma zone to usual jovial reasonable me. I took few seconds to glare at him without him knowing. His fagged countenance showed how much hard work and sacrifice he had done for the family. I love this man so much, how could I kept myself aloof from him for almost one hour? Guilt-ridden, I started some conversation like "How's your lamb chop?", "How's the mashed potato?". We could not talk much by then because we had to rush for the movie. Gobbled up our food, we headed off to cinema to watch "Commuter" by Liam Neeson.

It was a nice show. Even more meaningful because I watched it with the love of my life. Many times, familiarity does breed complacency. We could diregard the feeling of our loved ones just because we know they will accept us as we are. We easily take them for granted as if they owe us something, as if they are responsible and are obligated to cheer us up when we are down. Yes, by all means they should because of love. But it is our duty to be responsible of how we feel, and don't let our unsettled cranky mood rub off on others.

All is well

We ended the night with high note as deep inside me, I was quietly reminiscing all the good memories we had, not forgetting some bad ones when we quarreled. Ups and downs are part and parcel of marriage. And the outcome of these, hopefully, will be a couple with resilience to go far, committed to each other in love and adversity, till death do us apart.

20180114_122730.jpg
Image from Unsplash.com

Movie ended at 12am. Upon reaching home, I went into Jansen's room to have a peek of his cute face. Just when I was about to sleep, he was in his sharing mode. I pinned my eyes up so that I looked alert for him. Cryptocurrency, mining rigs, blockchain, church, future, the lists go on.....all he would have shared during dinner had I been alright. Time flies, 3am, zzzzzz.

A reminder to self: I know your job as a mother is noble, and every moments with children are worth spending, but without your husband, there will be no children. So don't forget about your husband. Enough said.

DQmaSkZUGPFYYvJmXCpL9H8xaBZu4oY9rP4zYQXYz63brEf.jpeg



APP.png

Sort:  

Yes, that dilemma. What a great reminder that without our love and life partner, there's no children. I always have to learn this from you @iamjadeline. You have laid down your life so much, for your children and for your husband too. So glad God gave you assurance through those quotes <3 May you also be loved as you have been loving!

This also reminds me to date my husband soon! :P which I'm also sure he would be sharing on crytocurrency, business and church! Husbands are also our blessing!

Go have a date with hubby and have some nice dessert! :) thank you for compliment 😁 Both of our husbands have great similarity, you know, I know. 😉 Next meeting for teammalaysia we must try to make it.

I don't think I am familiar with your son's story. Can you send me a link so I can get to know your family a bit more? I don't want to ransack your profile looking for it because I will leave a ton of long comments I usually leave on peoples posts. lol

I can't speak much upon the topic of marriage and having a family since I am not jet married. But, I believe it is very similar to anything in life. You have to work on it to get it(happiness, love,) and you have to work double to maintain it.

I can't imagine how you felt about going for a dinner date with your husband and leaving your son at home, but I am glad you went for it. Maybe those messages like all "all you need is love" were meant for you to see. :)

I agree with you on the part of happiness. It is your husband's "job" to cheer you up when you are down because he loves you. But, like you said we should all take a little personal responsibility for our happiness. :)

Thank you for sharing your day with us. Have an amazing day. :)

I don't mind your long comment. Super love it. And once again, thank you for your heart and time and attention reading people's story and leave a meaningful comment. It makes us worthwhile the time and effort to write. Hope there will be more people like you in this platform. 😊

https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@iamjadeline/big-hello-to-all-steemians-this-is-a-long-intro-so-thank-you-in-advance-for-time-and-love

https://steemit.com/life/@iamjadeline/from-stomach-feed-to-mouth-eat

https://steemit.com/life/@iamjadeline/jansen-s-1st-surgery-at-6-day-old-to-fix-diaphragm-hernia

Here are 3 links in detailed writing about my 2nd son. If too long to read, just read the 1st one will do to get you knowing more.

I am glad too that I went out. Oh my those quotes, they really speak to me, like a snap that woke me up!

Thank you once again for dropping by 😁

You are more than welcome. I just like to give appreciation to a well-written like yours post by reading it carefully and leaving a good response to it. I am glad you find it encouraging to keep writing, and sharing :)

P.S. - I wish there were more as well. But, our still little Steem Engine group is working on it. :)

I will read about your son story. I am interested in reading his story. Thank you for the links and taking the time to answer. :)

No matter what is happening in life find the time, and something to smile every day. :)

Have an amazing day. :)

Nice post. I have a 15 month baby. Our date actually involves our boy, taking him to the park. I live near Dubai so it is still warm at night.

That is an amazing family time. ☺Your baby must be feeling the most blessed baby in the world. I have never been to Dubai before heard it is a nice place.

😭😭😭😭😭 thanks for putting those emotions into words, exactly the feelings I believe many mothers would have experienced at some point because these ring true to me too! Lots of love from one mother to another 💓 you're doing great!

Really ring right? my love to you too! 😚

You need that time with your spouse, or even yourself, to regenerate and refresh.
I know it's difficult to leave a child, but even a few hours can really give a person new perspective and an outlook.

Give yourself this time.. enjoy your husband's company, eat a meal you don't have to cook or clean up after. A little time apart is healthy for both child and parent.

So happy you enjoyed the time!

I am glad I went for the date with him. Thank you for your advice. They boost up what I wanna hold on to. ☺

wow dear damn amazing work
all you wrote is well said amazing
you done amarvellous job
food looks damn delicious
amazing
thank you for sharing

Thank you @yasirgawad for dropping by :) Thank you for the compliment. We learn from each other. There are so many talented writers here and I learn alot.

It is worth reading your post here. Thank you for sharing your insights :)

Thank you for reading ❤scally :)

My pleasure :)

Beautifully written. Such meaning. It's amazing how many "signs" there are when we can see them. Thank you for sharing! Upvoted and resteemed! This is so important!
Much love to you all xoxo

Thank you for upvote and resteem. Much love to you too xoxo.

They said one of the biggest gift you can give your children is maintaining the spark/ love with your spouse. Do not feel bad and just treat your dates as part of your responsibility for your children.

Oh I will embrace this gift 'gaogao' so that I won't feel bad when say byebye. ☺ Thank you for the inspiration.

I have to super agree with this. most important is keeping balance between kids, spouse and yourself. 'Me time' is also required. We need to recharge.

the beauty of quotes, only few line of words but can be apply in so many situations. that's why i love them as well..

Yes super need to recharge to go far! 💪

Beautiful story. And as luck has it, I will be seeing the Commuter with the love of my life today.

We have same luck. It is a nice show. You will sure have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44