Facing the Death of a Client

in #counseing7 years ago (edited)

We received some grave news this afternoon - one of my wife’s clients killed himself.

It was her first day back to work after our trek across the country - we were hoping it would be an uneventful paperwork day. Sadly, that was not the case.

While @mustardseed buried herself in her work to keep her mind busy, the two of us faced the pain of death.

Mental Health counseling can be tiresome work. There are many nights where the two of us sit and visit with one another because a disconnection from the day is needed.


You can imagine how giving, listening, and helping people turn their lives around can make you weary.

I do not say that as a complaint - I say it as a reality. You cannot give what you do not have, and working with troubled souls requires effort on our part.

As a husband, I find myself rethinking what I do to prepare myself for the time at home. My job doesn’t stop when I leave the office, no, the real work begins when I walk into our home.

The home is where we disciple, love, and prepare to change the world. Sometimes, that changing involves people who have never had a good home.

I distinctly remember one of the young men my wife works with, saying that he has never had a Christmas. For some, you may hear it everyday, for me, it is a new paradigm.

While we prepare for a funeral next week, my heart is heavy for the family that mourns their son. A life we were working to remedy, has no life to live anymore.

It reminds me all the more, that the hope I have matters, and people need to hear it - they may not have a second chance to listen.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

@lydon.sipe What a sad event, I ask for a God who loves you so much and directs you both so that you can do a great job for the people who really need it. God bless you greatly.

Thank you for your kind words and prayers @cricri27. I enjoy reading your heartfelt comments.

I am so grateful to have read that you and Abi create a home that is a refuge from your day jobs and that you comfort one another and listen and protect. The real work is your homelife. !!! Very wise, very very wise Lydon. You don't know how happy that makes me to hear - it's a rare virtue these days.

Hearing the story is heartbreaking. I can only imagine how Abi must feel and need to apply the same techniques to her own thinking and feelings that she teaches her clients.

I know you will depend on the Lord for the right words to say on the day of the funeral and you'll have an open heart to minister comfort to whoever He leads your way.

I liked the little quote at the end - I might add....it also takes death to appreciate life.

I've gone through this very thing with friends, lydon, and I empathize with Abi. It's the dark side of counselling and can't be avoided. I like the fact that you two talk - Deb and I talk for hours and hours each day and we used to do that even when I taught - I'd phone her from work and often spend my coffee break with her. Ecclesiastes 4 9-12. You are her support.

Amen, brother, amen. Thank you for the Scripture - it is well said.

I have to say I am too empathetic to probably do that work. I would certainly get too attached. It is a great service and work that you do.

I know that feeling. It is not easy. Thank you for your kind words, Paul.

A tradgedy. Very sad story. My condolences to all.

It truly is. Thank you for your condolences, Mic

Very Sad Think , Many People Suicide & Silence is The biggest killer of young people .. we need to foster conversations that can help survivors feel safe enough to disclose their experiences and seek help when it's needed

Amen. We do need to foster conversations with people, especially those who do not talk

we just can't understand what could happen next in life it is strange

That is so true.

that was indeed sad... i don't know exactly why ( i have some thoughts) the suicides have increased so much these years while everything mostly gets better, maybe it's getting worse by the looks of it

It is a mixed bag you hear. The plethora of media adds to the attention. There do seem to be more mental illnesses developing.

i try not to hear the media ( tv, radio) but instead checking different sites and even from our own microworld we hear what's happening. Fro example in my city ( a city of 100.000 people) i had listened at 2017 at least 20 suicides while at 2017 i had heard 2-3. i really have no clue what's happening

my prayers and thoughts are with his family so sad to hear about it

Thank you so much for your prayers, @cutiepie.

Death is to come to all of us but the part where it comes and struck the family that faces the death is very much hurtful and I really am feeling sorry for that family hope they face it strongly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57