Some Food Price Comparisons: US vs Philippines, and the dreaded Gray Soup!..

in #costofliving7 years ago

I moved about a year ago from Hawaii to Philippines. There were several reasons that I saw for making the move. My wife is a Filipina and being close to her family was definitely one of those reasons. However, another big pro for me was that things are much cheaper in Philippines and so I could stretch my pennies without worrying so much about finances and such.

Here is just a fun example of what I'm talking about.. I must add that I do luv Buko (coconut) and it doesn't get much fresher or better than this. (although I did have fresh

IMG_20160914_163658.jpg

buko, cut straight from the tree, while visiting Bohol, another island in philippines) This one tastes even better cuz they add things to it. This costs 59 pesos, thats about $1.20 USD and would probably cost around $5 if bought in US, if you could even find such a thing..ok, another example of just everyday little things would be when we got some 'dirty' ice cream. It's really just homemade ice cream and not that it fell on the floor or something like that. :P

IMG_20170618_111306.jpg

this was a whopping 30 pesos, or about 60 cents USD. I don't know exactly how much this would cost in the US, but last time I went to baskin robbins I paid $3.

here's a more substantial example.. a favorite meal of mine that I get from a small eatery at the same mall where my gym is, so I can just go there right after a workout. :) (I didn't even know about mussels, looks just like oysters to me, so I pass, but turns out they are my favorite seafood along with crab and lobster) the greens are called kang kong and is just a form of water spinach.

IMG_20170724_182152.jpg

IMG_20170724_182206.jpg

IMG_20170724_182211.jpg

like I said, I never even saw food like this anywhere in US, but over here I pay 200 pesos for this and with can of coke. Total is $4 USD. I'll let you figure out what a similar meal would cost in the US, but I'm guessing it would be at least double this price.

This one is from today's lunch. I got to go back to the first hotel I stayed at when I came to Philippines back in 2003. I really like some of their food and havent found any better clam chowder here in Philippines. (I know I could prolly learn to make a better one, but I am no chef and that might never happen) so I had to get a bowl of chowder and some other dishes that sounded good.

IMG_20170728_134715.jpg

IMG_20170728_135512.jpg

The total for this came to 1500 pesos, which comes to $30 USD. Not the cheapest by any stretch, but for hotel food this is what I would consider fair indeed. :) We stopped over in Taiwan a few months ago, on the way to hawaii, and stayed in a hotel there for just 1 night. We ordered some food and paid about $20 USD for each entree. Btw, the chowder I got there was GRAY and I only could stomach 3 spoonfuls. My son had 1 spoonful and got sick a few hours later. :(

ok, thats all for now. Thanks for reading! Please upvote this post and follow me.. I follow u back! :)

word count: 563

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted & resteemed by @teamphilippines . Thank you for supporting our TeamPhilippines Movement by upvoting, resteeming, delegating, or donating to this account to allow us to support our growing team more and more each day!

Please let your members know... The best way to buy bitcoins here in the Philippines.

https://steemit.com/philippines/@robcarter/buying-bitcoin-overseas-i-am-in-the-philippines

Philippines is a good place to live if your currency is in the form of dollar. Cost of living is low.

Enjoy the Philippines :)

ha ha this explains my recent question very well :D thanks Chinito

yeah. it's a big difference. I miss fresh buko. also glad to see you in the pictures :) your daughter is beautiful.

great post man!

Ill resteemed it :)

Hi friend, very good !!!!!
You would help me with a vote in my post., Thanks !!! ;)

You are funny and interesting person.. you make me laugh and smile at your very own experience in philippines... thank you for giving me smile in my heart... and you really enjoy there.. i hope i can ho back also in philippines... but in my situation, i can not... may God bless you @chinito... i will always follow your experience... i enjoy and happy to your post... ♨❤♨

Whoa! Those are huge differences!

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.

This is kinda spammy. Like really spammy. I use @resteembot so I will not flag it but it is not needed to get your bot off the ground. Just do a good job and you will grow fast.

Lol clever! Cool photo of you eating the ice cream and yes we call it in the Philippines "dirty ice cream" I love it since I was a kid. Wish I can go down the street to get it, but I so hate the traffic so I stay home most of the time lol

keep it up!

I'll keep an eye for more interesting post. You can also check out my profile if you want to know me a little:
https://steemit.com/introduction/@purepinay/hello-i-am-a-filisteemian-filipina-steemian

✔️ Upvoted and ✔️ now Following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45