Making a Star Trek insignia patch for lounge / pyjama top...

in #cosplay6 years ago

I wanted to make a pyjama top for my husband using recycling materials. I drafted it all from his favourite pyjama top and made it all virtually from scratch.

Unfortunately the sleeve pattern turned out too big for the material I’d chosen so I found a new material and then I just changed the colour of the body sections as well.

As I was sewing my daughters kept on saying that it looked like a Star Trek costume… As @pennsif and everyone here really is quite keen on Sci-fi and Star Trek… I thought ‘why not?

I’m no stranger to cosplay as I’ve made quite a few items for @mivstar, @tinygalaxy and @jen0revision

I don’t have the skills or (usually) time to make it totally perfectly, but it's always about reminding people of a character / costume by using the right colours or aspects of the design… So what you will see below is not perfection; it’s ‘make-believe’.

Having finished the top I quickly continued with the insignia. There were many designs to choose from, but I settled for this one.

I used two layers of the black jersey material rather than felt to make it more washable. I then drew the insignia design onto a piece of paper and pinned it onto those two layers to keep it from moving.

I used running stitch to sew along the line drawing. I didn’t not use an embroidery hoop for this, but I did use embroidery thread to make the stitching ‘thicker’.

At this point, I would suggest making a copy of the design... because I then tore the paper carefully; like this :

This step was quite easy, but I had to adjust some of the sewing because the pulling loosened it a bit.

You can just see a loop that I needed to adjust, but it was no problem at all; I had the basic design.

The photo above shows me sewing along the gaps with running stitch. The idea is to have a continuous line - thanks to @tinygalaxy for taking the photo.

After making a continuous line, I thought of using whipped stitch all the way around to neaten the stitching… but didn’t work out that well - still it’s all part of the design 😂

I then sewed a little star with a longer top bit; after that I cut near the sewing line to make the patch - the fabric doesn't fray and it's quite tough to stand many machine washes.

I pinned it carefully on the top that I’d made and voila…

A happy trekki with a pj / lounge top and the insignia…

I would like to thank @neumannsalva 🖖🏼 for encouraging me to write specifically about the Star Trek connection and to @marblely also for encouraging me to go ahead and make them in different colour combinations 😂 and to @pennsif. Also thank you for reading and visiting my blog.



All photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

fun touch to finish this project!

Lovely - so straightforward! This is a lovely way to personalise items.

Cooool!! Thanks for the mention @cyrptocariad :) It is YOU who made this happen. And thank you for the steps. Yay! We can pretty much do the same for most patch logos, I think?

Thank you @marblely... pretty much... 😃

Thank you for mentioning me.... and I am honoured to be part of the Pyjama-Trekki-In-Group 🖖🏻👽🛸
Post is resteemed. May the embroidery conquer the world steemit

😂 'let's make it so!' @neumannsalva... Thanks for the support and resteem hopefully at warp speed...

Thank you @mrscwin... It was a lot of fun to make it 😊


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you very much for your interest and support @c-squared 😊

Lol, that looks quite simple but effective, thanks for sharing..

You're welcome @anouk.nox... It was fun to make 😊

HI @cryptocariad, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here

Join us on Mondays for Creatives' Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Ramble on Discord or view it life on Rambling Radio.

Many thanks for your support @fiberartists 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24