Drafting the pyjama top : Episode 2 ...

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

It's taken longer than I expected due to lack of materials (tracing paper to start with). Here's the process I followed to draft my pattern:

I first of all laid the garment folded in half on top of a long piece of paper (salvaged from a delivery box). I aligned the centre front of the garment with the edge of my paper (assuming that was straight). I used paper clips to 'fix' it into place rather than pins because my sewing pins seem to have vanished so I only had a few available.

I drew with a black pen along the main seams and made little holes along the seam with a sharp pin:

I am sure I have seen a little tool to do this (instead of a rotary cutter; the same sort of tool but with a wheel)

After I finished I took the top off the paper and as you can see that's the sort of line of holes that I had left on the tracing paper. I then just needed to join dot-to-dot to get the sleeve line. It was a bit tricky to see, but it worked just fine. Below's the finished front pattern.

I did the same for the back:

I write CF (centre front) and CB (centre back) to remind myself that many years ago I did do a sewing course...



The sleeves were very difficult to trace. I folded the sleeve and placed along the edge of my 'tracing paper'. The photo below shows you that when I folded along the 'natural centre line of the sleeve' the fold line was crooked.

I decided that the fold line was going to be the right way rather than twisting the fabric. I assumed it was a 'manufactured' issue... At least the line below was quite straight:

I finished drafting the back sleeve section and thinking that it was going to be too wide for my piece of fabric😓

I repeated the process for the front sleeve pattern :

Before sellotaping the two halves of the sleeve to make just one pattern piece. I tried one half onto the fabric I had chosen :

At that point at starting thinking of a plan B, because the sleeve was too wide and the seam of the sleeve underneath would be uncomfortable because there would be too many seams ... Not sure whether you can see it in the photo:

I had a big tantrum break in between trying to find the right type of fabric ... Anyway, fortunately I found this black jersey in my stash. It's not my preferred choice, but it will look just fine ✂ ✂ ✂ ✂...

The photo above shows you the 'whole' sleeve sellotaped along the centre. I've laid it on top of the black jersey material and cut it. That's as far as I got with the photos of the project. I can't reveal the rest yet though 😉

Stay tuned for the final episode (I hope)...

I look forward to seeing your projects...



all photos and musings are by @cryptocariad

Episode 1 : Planning a new pyjama top - considerations...



With thanks to @crosheille and @crystalize for hosting #needleworkmonday and thanks to you for reading 💓

Sort:  

Ooooo! when I'm reading your post, it seems to me that it's not difficult ☺but if I try to do something like this then it will not seem easy to me 😁 I wait for the final result !!!!

Ha ha... when I do this sort of diy / tutorial post my main objective is to inspire others to have a go... When I make it I know it won't be perfect... But I like the process of planning 😊

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Why didn't I waited a day.... I yesterday cut out the fabric for my dress and I used a self-made pattern. But I was not so intelligent as you and tried to draw the seams instead of using a needle to trace them. So clever! Why didn't I have this idea? But to late my fabric is cut. Today I am writing the needlework text, but maybe I will have time to start the sewing… (I suspect also a tantrum break on my side, because the front and the skirt do not have the same width…)
Thank you much for this good idea, to copy the seams with a needle, I will use it the next time. I hope your shirt will come out nicely (and that the sleeves will fit).

😁 you can do that 'pin-hole' tracing next time... l I think it would be easier to do it if there was a cutting mat underneath so I didn't have to lift the garment and paper slightly to make the little holes, but it worked.

I look forward to seeing your post @neumannsalva.

'Pin-hole' tracing is a good idea. I steal the technique too :D Great post @cryptocariad!

Yay! YOu are almost done! or maybe halfway there! You do it so neatly :) I am not done with my mint blouse yet. Probably need another week or two :(

Oh dear... I didn't see the mint blouse post in time last week - will you be posting anything about it this week @marblely ? I don't want to miss it again.
I like sewing but it's not as 'forgiving' as crocheting or knitting...

Hi @cryptocariad... Thanks for asking and looking out for it.. I am not posting this week because I'm a little shy that it is not much progress from my last post :( I am hoping to complete it by next Monday and post it.

No worries, @marblely - I just don't want to miss it again down my feed 😊

I've never made a pattern before so I'm finding this series to be very interesting. Thank you for sharing! The idea for the pin hole pattern trace method is very handy.

Thank you, @jamethiel.
I have these two patterns that I could have traced and adapted :

Somehow making a pattern that I know will be comfortable is more fun... but it does take more time.

Congratulations @cryptocariad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The pinhole tracing is an excellent idea. I have deconstructed a favourite (worn out) top to use to create a pattern. This was about five years ago! With this idea, I can make a more permanent template. I have already bought about six lots of fabric (at least one every year, in the sales).
Look forward to the next episode :)

It would be really interesting to see the process @shanibeer 😊 I can totally relate to buying fabric. We are lucky to (still) have a very good shop here and there's also the Aberdashery shop in Aberystwyth not so far away - I love that name 😄 !

Yes, that's very clever!

You’re making this look pretty easy...I’m sure if I tried something like this I would be so frustrated. You laid it out nicely for us the steps that you took, thank you! I’m hoping for a Victory post and that it turned out the way you planned ;)

It's a pleasure @crosheille. I know I will finish it and it will get worn, but there will be a few issues because I often struggle with the twin needles so I will 'edit' all the tantrums distressing photos out 😆

😅😅😅

😊😊😊 Con tu explicación provoca coser. Son tantas cosas que quiero aprender, y entre ellas coser. Este tipo de post hace que uno ratifique su motivación, como es mi caso. Estoy buscando un curso de costura, y así complementar alguno de mis proyectos de crochet, entre otros.

Pienso que con tan ordenada que vas en tu proceso, vas a lograr el resultado esperado.

Quedo atenta al siguiente episodio.

Gracias @jicrochet... No soy experta, pero con paciencia todo se puede hacer... Como siempre digo mi objetivo es tratar de dar inspiración para poder hacer manualidades ... 😊

I can relate to the tantrum part! I think the tool you're referring to is called a tracing wheel. I remember my parents using one when they made our school dresses :) It sure looks to me like you've done a great job of creating your own pattern pieces!

Thank you for the correct name @mtnmeadowmomma; I'll add it to my wish list. It's nice to have all the pattern pieces ready to be cut but it's shame I'll have to change the fabric.

Hello @cryptocariad, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you very much indeed for your support @creativecrypto !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43