Steemit News: DMCA Claim for Copyright Infringement

in #copyright8 years ago (edited)

I am a huge supporter of the SteemCleaners initiative, and believe that the work they do is crucial for Steemit to be a successful reputable mainstream blogging platform! This post illustrates the importance of the work that they are doing to stop users from posting copyrighted material without permission.

Someone submitted a copyright infringement claim against some of the content posted on Steemit today!

Normally this type of thing would get addressed behind the scenes and would not get brought to the community's attention, but a GitHub issue was opened, so it is now public knowledge: https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/issues/525

Here is a quote from the user who submitted the claim:

"There are 30 instances of copyright infringement, 15 of which are completely stolen content (right down to the title of the article), and 14 where the client bought usage rights to the article from our site, but did not comply with the terms. We have two types of licenses for our customers: full rights, an exclusive license where the customer owns the content and can customize (including removing the author’s byline); the other is usage, a one-time rights license, where the author byline must be attached to the article. In the instances where Carlidos purchased usage rights, he posted the articles with his own byline."

Most importantly though, look at this:

"If we don’t hear back from you by the end of this week, we will have to take next steps to rectify the situation, such as filing a a DMCA complaint with Google."

This is really serious! If that occurred, it could cause a lot of damage to Steemit.com and the community!

Thankfully @ned has responded and is working to protect the community from the potential damage this user could have caused!

"We take copyright infringement very seriously. If you believe you have a valid DMCA claim. Please send all of the necessary details to [email protected] and we will look into your claim as quickly as possible."

Let this serve as a warning to all Steemit users. If you are reusing content that you found elsewhere on the web, please make sure you are allowed to use it and you site your sources appropriately!


Unrelated to this post, @timcliff is a backup Steem witness.
If you like the work that @timcliff is doing, you can vote for him here :)
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

If Julian Assange was on here, would he be allowed? See, he could be exposing corruption in governments. But, see, many of those governments, and others, can say, allegedly, that he is not allowed. So, they could also claim copyright. So, what would you do?

Steem != steemit.com

@timcliff, my REP fell 57 to 55 today because of three flags by @steemcleaners because, allegedly, they say that I say "hi" too often to new users as opposed to automated bot messaged which are sent to new users which they seem to be ignoring or claiming are in fact an exception that I don't get to be part of. So, I say hello to people too much. So, I must be a pretty terrible criminal.

users/accounts are allowed to upvote/downvote for whatever reason they want. You can discuss with them in their steem.chat channel if you want: #steemitabuse.

My concern is that some bots were going after me automatically, not manually, but automatic, specifically @steemcleaners (not @steemcleaner) and others. See, they put me on these blacklists and target me again and again.

you can talk to the steem cleaners group here: https://discord.gg/JnvkJMV

Tim, I did. I went on the @steemcleaners group on Discord and they placed me on timeout: Here is what I wrote to them:

Steem Cleaners

06:25 PM - @steemcleaners - Three of my comments were flagged. I wrote hi to three different people. So, I am an evil monster, right? Because hi is too simple, right? I can't start a conversation? I wrote an article about this.

I go back to they are allowed to use their stake for whatever they want. You can try to talk to them and convince them to do otherwise, but they are under no obligation to do what you say.

I think you and others make it too easy here. If I flag you once, indeed, I am under no obligation to justify that, but if I automatically flag every of your comments and posts, until you leave STEEM, then I think I should have a good reason for doing so and be able to justify my behaviour, because otherwise one might think all I do is damaging the platform.

I don't know if the flags in the case above are justified or not ... just saying ...

Steem is a decentralized self governing system. Other people are going to act in ways that differ from your personal value system of what is right and wrong, and they are allowed to do so provided the blockchain rules allow it. Self governing does not mean complete anarchy - but it does mean that users / the community are responsible for dealing with their issues with each other. There is no central party to step in and tell anyone they are right or wrong.

Awareness:

It is good to respond to those types of actions. That is what I'm trying to promote. I want people to be aware of how subjective it can be.

50 Shades of Oatmeal

In other words, sometimes, things are not as black and white as we may want them to be. Perhaps, there are different sides, perspectives, to situations, stories.

Art & Beauty

Spam can be hard to define. Many things can be when defined subjectively as opposed to objectively.

Tyranny vs Free Markets

Now, a fake version of objectivity can be bad too and it can lead to bad tyrannical centralization. Now, to some extent, decentralized blockchains like Steem are promoting the freedom for individual to make choices concerning upvoting and downvoting based from a decentralized and subjective point of view, on the other hand, and that might be like an aspect of the free market.

The Meaning to Life

So, I believe in promoting the freedoms for people to do what they want. So, it comes down to private property rights.

Is My Comment a Form of Private Property?

So, by the way, hypothetically, if my comment was my private property, and if people downvoted that alleged private property comment, then did that flag (downvote) damage my alleged private property? Good question. I would say yes. But I don't know if a comment is private property or not. So, that is another can of worms that we can open in these types of debates, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57