You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit News: DMCA Claim for Copyright Infringement

in #copyright6 years ago

Sharing Not Stealing

Some people are claiming that I'm stealing content. They sent complaints to DMCA and emailed Steemit. I'm not stealing. I've been quoting, referencing, linking back to, some comments on and from and by users of a public message board. I've included links just like Google Images includes links to their pictures. Same structure, same form, same philosophy. What I do is protected under Fair Use. However, they seem to be disagreeing with me on that. I may not have enough money for a good enough lawyer that can defend me. That's the problem, @ned, @timcliff, is that I'm being falsely accused of things I'm not doing. They're claiming that I'm doing things I'm not really doing. I'm quoting people, not stealing. I shared a drawing and linked it back to the person that drew it. I wrote that it was her art and not mine. I didn't say it was my art. I was encouraging people to visit the message board. I was promoting the website by linking to the website. What I do is educational, supplemental, transformative. I quote and I comment on what I quoted on. I cite what I quote. I link it. I reference it. Weird Al does that. Weird Al doesn't have to ask for permission, legally, to parody songs. He does ask for permission as courtesy but isn't required to. So, some of my Steemit content might be taken down, falsely, because of the allegations, the fake claims. I may even end up in jail or forced to pay a bunch of money. I'm thinking worse case scenario. I have no idea what's going to happen. I'm scared to death. Two of my YouTube channels were terminated for false copyright claims in 2017 and 2018. So, this is scary. I don't know what to do. It's a long story.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60323.94
ETH 2395.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54