You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cook with Us #8: Death by Salted Caramel!

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Holy mother of delights @foodforsoul! The only thing better than salted caramel is salted caramel popcorn. Your cake looks incredible and your shots are stunning, love the reflection of the popcorn in that pool of caramel! While on the subject of getting word out regarding the competition, @cookwithus team, do you have any other social media accounts? I'm sure all the contestants would love to show more support on other platforms, maybe a facebook page where we can compile all the previous entries and get the word out?...anyways back to the cake. I have @lizelle's lemon bars in the oven as we speak, but come the next birthday your cake is definitely on the #myturn list!

Sort:  

Hahahahaha thank you. May I issue a warning though that you might need to start a sugar diet immediately after as it is really rich. The addition of salt and popcorn does help to cut down on the sweetness a bit. It is quite time consuming especially with three cake tins only to work with. But in the end it’s good fun to try new things and fall a little in the extreme end of things.

Hehe, I'll be sure to make it for a party or something so I'm forced to share! Though the diet has gone right out the window since I started this blog. I think I might have to do a clean-eating month...in June maybe....

Salted Caramel - a firm favourite of mine. Thank you for this incredible recipe. You inspired me to go and bake a cake and it was just before midnight. Thank you for your support and for supporting the other contestants - you have no idea how happy it makes us see you all communicating with each other and trying out each other's recipes. Sadly, we are not on Instagram and Facebook - social media is very time-consuming - we have, however, started to get our discord channel up and running. We are grateful for any help from our wonderful contestants

Thank you. I totally agree with you there is something special in mixing salt with sugar. I use to get this salted caramel shake from this shop but for some obscure reason they’ve decided it was too expensive to produce!! On another level I think that we got caught in our own things and forgot to reach out to others. After all Steemit is a platform for interaction and I’m definitely looking forward to interact more. How did your cake turn out?

Not as well as I had hoped because when I first made it I thought it was the best cake I'd ever tasted - but I was experimenting with using alternatives to sugar - so I used 1 tsp of Stevia instead of 1 of the cups of sugar the recipe called for and coconut sugar for the other. It was still good - but nowhere near the original. Just in case you're interested here is the original recipe for my Italian Creamcheese cake:
Half a cup of butter, half cup shortening, 2 cups sugar, 1/2, 2 cups coconut, teaspoon baking soda, vanilla essence, cup of Philadelphia cream cheese or buttermilk - Beat egg whites and set aside, cream butters and sugar with vanilla essence. Add egg yolks one at a time. Add remaining ingredients and fold in beaten egg whites. Bake in 3 x 9" pans - 15 - 30 mins in a moderate oven. Ice with cream cheese and Icing sugar mix and add a cup of pecan nuts or walnuts. Since your recipe used 3 pans - you might like to try this sometime

Thanks for the recipe @pandamama. I will definitely add it to #myturn list. Might not use stevia as my husband has got an aversiomn for it.

We are so looking forward to your #myturn on @lizelle’s lemon bars and future #myturn posts.

Thanks for your campaign on getting the word out via social media. It’s very much appreciated. Watch for the next newsletter for more Cook with Us news! 🤗

Hahahahaha thank you. May I put a warning though that you might need to start a sugar diet after that as it is really rich. The addition of salt and popcorn does help to cut down on the sweetness a bit. It is a bit time consuming especially with three cake tins only to work with. But in the end it’s good fun to try new things and fall a little bit in the extreme end of things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51