Cook with Us #8: Death by Salted Caramel!

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Hello everyone, I hope you are all ready for an excess of fatty foods, sugary products and salty nibbles. While preparing this week’s contest, I must admit that I had to consult the dictionary to have the right definition of “guilty pleasures”. A “guilty pleasure” is defined there as something that you like, even though you know it’s not good. Now that got me thinking: can food in any way, shape, or form be bad for you? My first reaction was “no”. But the word “moderation” immediately sprung to mind and it made me feel a little bit less guilty of the initial thought.

My guilty pleasure in life is salted caramel. Everything and anything with salted caramel will get me going. I, nevertheless, felt a pinch of guilty to classify salted caramel as a guilty pleasure for a number of reasons. I supposed when you like something it is hard to try and associate it with something with a negative connotation. Needless to say that throughout the week I’ve battled with the idea of creating something with salted caramel. 

As a result, I’ve been eagerly awaiting other participants to post their entry for week #8. The hope was that they would have an entry that uses salted caramel and that would provide me with a good enough reason to look for a different “guilty pleasure”. In my anticipation I spent the week going through different regular @cookwithus participants blogs to try and learn more about them or to interact with them. All in all it was an interesting week getting to know other fellow contestants. I had the opportunity to ask @whattheduck for tips on how to showcase my dishes in a different light.

I digress so back to the contest! With nothing in view by midweek, I got on talking with my husband that I will need to quickly come up with something considering the busy weekend ahead. In week #7, @whattheduck offered to promote the contest through other social medias and that got my husband thinking about looking at some of the cooking channels on Facebook. 

Strangely enough (and you really have to ask yourself whether we are not being secretly spied upon) there was a video of a Salted Caramel cake! He showed me the video and at that point in time I thought that there was no escaping my ghost from the past! Salted caramel it is and salted caramel it will be.

In an attempt to free myself from all guilt, I decided to coincide the baking of the cake with the birthday of one of my closest friend, also a fellow steemians (@tomekkk happy birthday again!!). We had them over for diner on Saturday night and cut the cake at the end of the night. Interesting fact about this cake, I actually didn’t follow any recipe. I saw the video once and attempted it instinctively. 

And hell it was sweet!!! 

Very very very sweet!!!!!!! 

It was a slow death by salted caramel!

Ingredients:

Chocolate cake

  • 226 g unsalted butter, softened
  • 400 g sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 55 g vegetable oil
  • 330 g all purpose flour
  • 80 g unsweetened  cocoa powder, sifted
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup hot water

Yellow cake

  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbs vegetable oil
  • 285 g cake flour
  • 300 g granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 169 g unsalted butter, softened


Butter cream

  • 500 g butter
  • 500 g icing sugar
  • Caramel sauce

Salted Caramel

  • 100 g brown sugar
  • 90 g butter
  • 1/2 cup thicken cream
  • Sea salt flakes

Method:

For the purpose of this recipe I will only highlight the process for baking the chocolate cake as the same principle applies for the yellow cake.

  1. In a bowl, add the flour, sifted cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Whisk to blend and set aside.

  2. In the mixer bowl, beat the softened butter on medium speed until light and creamy. Add the oil and vanilla. Gradually add the sugar and mix until light and fluffy, approximately 4 to 5 minutes. 

  3. Add the eggs 1 at a time, mixing after each egg just until the yellow disappears. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as needed.

  4. Mixing on medium speed, add the flour mixture and milk to the sugar mixture, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients.


  5. Add the cup of hot water. The batter will be very thin. 

  6. Pour into cake tin. Bake at 175 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes. Check for doneness at 30 minutes mark by putting a toothpick in the centre of the cake.


  7. To prepare the butter cream, add the softened butter in a bowl and beat until pale. Gradually add icing sugar followed by a few spoons of salted caramel sauce.



  8. To prepare the salted caramel, in a sauce pan add the thicken cream, brown sugar, butter and sea salt. Once ready add 1 tsp of vanilla extract. Cold down for two minutes then reserve in a jar for later use.

  9. Start by levelling both cakes into 8 inch layers. The first layer will remain untouched however all subsequent layers will have a hole in the middle.


  10. To assemble the cake, place the untouched layer of the yellow cake at the bottom. Spread the butter cream around the edge and leave an empty circle in the middle.

  11. Continue assembling the cake by adding the other layers by alternating the chocolate cake and the yellow cake with a hole in the middle.

  12. Once the cake get to a reasonable level, use a funnel to pour the salted caramel in the hole. Use remaining cake to plug the top of the cake.


  13. Decorate the cake with the remaining butter cream. Decorate with popcorns and splash some more salted caramel to complete the cake.


  14. Cut a chunky piece of cake and indulge!! 


At the time of writing this post I’ve got my feet up, the laptop on my thighs and an IV to try and cleanse my blood of all that sugar!!!


Oops... that's obviously not me but the cat busy digesting...

I hope you enjoy it!

Bon appétit!

Sort:  

Holy mother of delights @foodforsoul! The only thing better than salted caramel is salted caramel popcorn. Your cake looks incredible and your shots are stunning, love the reflection of the popcorn in that pool of caramel! While on the subject of getting word out regarding the competition, @cookwithus team, do you have any other social media accounts? I'm sure all the contestants would love to show more support on other platforms, maybe a facebook page where we can compile all the previous entries and get the word out?...anyways back to the cake. I have @lizelle's lemon bars in the oven as we speak, but come the next birthday your cake is definitely on the #myturn list!

Hahahahaha thank you. May I issue a warning though that you might need to start a sugar diet immediately after as it is really rich. The addition of salt and popcorn does help to cut down on the sweetness a bit. It is quite time consuming especially with three cake tins only to work with. But in the end it’s good fun to try new things and fall a little in the extreme end of things.

Hehe, I'll be sure to make it for a party or something so I'm forced to share! Though the diet has gone right out the window since I started this blog. I think I might have to do a clean-eating month...in June maybe....

Salted Caramel - a firm favourite of mine. Thank you for this incredible recipe. You inspired me to go and bake a cake and it was just before midnight. Thank you for your support and for supporting the other contestants - you have no idea how happy it makes us see you all communicating with each other and trying out each other's recipes. Sadly, we are not on Instagram and Facebook - social media is very time-consuming - we have, however, started to get our discord channel up and running. We are grateful for any help from our wonderful contestants

Thank you. I totally agree with you there is something special in mixing salt with sugar. I use to get this salted caramel shake from this shop but for some obscure reason they’ve decided it was too expensive to produce!! On another level I think that we got caught in our own things and forgot to reach out to others. After all Steemit is a platform for interaction and I’m definitely looking forward to interact more. How did your cake turn out?

Not as well as I had hoped because when I first made it I thought it was the best cake I'd ever tasted - but I was experimenting with using alternatives to sugar - so I used 1 tsp of Stevia instead of 1 of the cups of sugar the recipe called for and coconut sugar for the other. It was still good - but nowhere near the original. Just in case you're interested here is the original recipe for my Italian Creamcheese cake:
Half a cup of butter, half cup shortening, 2 cups sugar, 1/2, 2 cups coconut, teaspoon baking soda, vanilla essence, cup of Philadelphia cream cheese or buttermilk - Beat egg whites and set aside, cream butters and sugar with vanilla essence. Add egg yolks one at a time. Add remaining ingredients and fold in beaten egg whites. Bake in 3 x 9" pans - 15 - 30 mins in a moderate oven. Ice with cream cheese and Icing sugar mix and add a cup of pecan nuts or walnuts. Since your recipe used 3 pans - you might like to try this sometime

Thanks for the recipe @pandamama. I will definitely add it to #myturn list. Might not use stevia as my husband has got an aversiomn for it.

We are so looking forward to your #myturn on @lizelle’s lemon bars and future #myturn posts.

Thanks for your campaign on getting the word out via social media. It’s very much appreciated. Watch for the next newsletter for more Cook with Us news! 🤗

Hahahahaha thank you. May I put a warning though that you might need to start a sugar diet after that as it is really rich. The addition of salt and popcorn does help to cut down on the sweetness a bit. It is a bit time consuming especially with three cake tins only to work with. But in the end it’s good fun to try new things and fall a little bit in the extreme end of things.

Thank you for the cake! It was a great start for Tomeks birthday celebration :)

Just looking at your photos @foodforsoul makes me gain several pounds and it's worth every ounce! The step-by-step photos helped a lot in seeing the beauty and deliciousness of your cake. As the theme says, yup, this is exactly what guilty pleasure is. Hey, life is short!

Thanks for sharing another wonderful entry! I also appreciate reaching out to fellow members of the Cook with Us community. We will soon have a forum for communicating with each other. Pretty exciting!

We might need to share diet tips then!! I’m not particularly proud to have indulged myself in such a way however I think the contest demanded it and I couldn’t go against the rules ;)! Indeed life is short!

Ohhh cat is in a Salted caramel coma :D

Hahahaha very funny way of putting it. But rest assure the cat didn’t get any of it!

Yum salted caramel @foodforsoul- one of my mother's favourites too. Looks divine - and you've worked very hard for this one and here I was thinking my simple milk tart was a lot of work haha - your name really says it all !!

Thank you I’m sure you put a lot of time and effort with your tart. In more ways than one we’ve been lucky to have forum like this one to showcase our ‘guilty pleasure’ and not feel guilty about it. Cough! ;)

OK, I feel like your cat after reading this post! I think I would feel more than a little guilty after spooning up all of that salted caramel and eating a little too much cake and popcorn! Great post!

Hahahahaha thank you. Buddy (that’s his name) was actually chilling and sunbathing while I was busy tackling the five cakes. While looking for an area with lights to take some pics I noticed him on the subbed. I must admit that I was unsure whether the caramel would ooze out of the cake the way I wanted or be soaked into the cake. Luckily enough it had the intended outcome otherwise I would have been so disappointed.

Congratulations @foodforsoul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Love the picture of the cat. That is how I would be after eating that decadent cake. Great post! Love the combination of chocolate, vanilla and salted caramel.

Amazing cake @foodforsoul, I just loooove salted caramel! Sure you had a great birthday dinner party, happy birthday to your friend @tomekkk :):)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28