Cook with Us - March, Week 1 - Thai style stir fry zucchini with eggs.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

THE SIMPLEST, THE BEST.

The dish ‘STIR FRY ZUCCHINI WITH EGGS’ is a really simple dish to make. The ingredients are easy to find in all local markets. I’ve been eating this with my family since I was a child.

Totally one of the dishes that would suit kids who are not into veggies. We are 11 cousins grew up together (Big family, I know!) so this dish is perfect for my grandma to trick all her grandchildren to eat vegetables :D

Could be eaten as a breakfast, lunch or dinner since the tastes are not so strong or spicy at all.


Cook with Us - March, Week 1 - Thai style stir fry zucchini with eggs.

Ingredients: The ingredients are real simple and as mentioned, you could find it literally in every local market.

  • Zucchini (Both happy zucchinis and the sad ones so we have the dish flavorful :D) Hahaa!

  • Eggs
  • Garlic
  • Fish sauce
  • Vegetable oil

Yes! That’s it, that’s all you need. No sugar, no nothing. The zucchini itself is already a bit sweet, naturally.


Me in my family's outdoor kitchen.. getting ready to cook with my grandma! :)

How to Cook :

First of all, wash, peel and cut the zucchinis. Then wash again.

1 . Pour chopped garlics into the hot oil in a pan.
2 . Once the garlics turn into yellow-brown-ish , dump washed-peeled-cut zucchinis and stir them around till the texture gets as soft as you want it to be.

3 . Eggs! Then again, stir..

4 . Sprinkle some fish sauce and another stir..

Now it’s ready!

** The texture of the zucchini depends on how long you cook it in the pan.
** Want a bit more flavor? You could totally sprinkle some ground black pepper.

Tastes: It does taste simply good! Nothing’s so fancy here but the taste and the smell of the garlic and fish sauce combine with the natural sweetness from the zucchinis and you know, the taste of eggs everyone likes.. Eaten with rice is ideal :)

Why these ingredients together?

  • Garlic is a must for almost all Thai style stir-fry dishes. Who doesn’t like garlic? :D
  • Fish sauce makes everything good. I know, not everyone loves it though, it makes the dishes more flavorful in a little bit fishy way.
    *It could be very intensive sometimes so be careful!
  • Zucchinis give natural sweetness and nice soft texture.
  • Eggs add some protein to the dish.

Stay healthy. Eat good food. xoxo.

STEEMIT B.png

Sort:  

I love zucchini - so I'm definitely going to try this one for my family- not too keen on the fish oil - will use olive oil instead. Thanks for a great recipe and idea @waybeyondpadthai

It's actually vegetable oil and fish sauce :D but yes, try to make it sometimes. It's so easy and yum! :)

Hi @waybeyondpadthai, Thanks for your entry! This looks incredible and healthy too. I really like your story about how you have had this dish ever since you were a child and that all the cousins enjoyed it. Adding the egg is such a good idea for kids because most kids love to eat eggs. I think the eggs in Thailand are so flavorful and I like their deep rich color from the yolk. You can't go wrong with garlic and fish sauce to make any vegetable dish taste even better. I was wondering about two things.

  • What kind of rice did you serve with this stir-fry?
  • Do you always peel the zucchini in Thailand?

I appreciate that you showed us a homestyle family dish from Thailand that we in the States and Europe may not be familiar with when we think of the Thai food in restaurants here. You also showed us how fast, easy, healthful and delicious a Thai meal can be. Thank you and your grandma for sharing your family's recipe and the story behind this simply delicious dish!

Wow. Thanks for such a long thoughtful feedback.

  • The rice we had this morning was Riceberry Rice.
  • No, we don't always peel the zucchini in Thailand though, we always do when cooking this exact dish.

Just finished edited the cooking video now attached to the post. Feel free to check it out :)

Cheers.

This is such a great dish. It shows real homestyle Thai cooking the can only be experienced in the Kingdom. I just returned back to the States from Bangkok two days ago. I was able to meet up with @mayasiam with my wife @loveself. We had a great time going out in town and also cooked together one day. We should do a bigger Steemit meet up next time I am in town. Thanks for joining our Cook with Us competition! I look forward to more posts from you!

Thank you so much @chefsteve for another thoughtful comment on this post. Yes, for sure I would love to do the Steemit meet up. Sounds fun! :D

Cheers ! :)

Yum! My grandmother used to shred zucchini from her garden and scramble it with eggs when I was little.

That sounds interesting. Sounds like it will taste not so different from this. I will tell my grandma to make some next time we get zucchini :D and let see how it goes :)

delicios ...love your dish ! (grandma....)hihi

Hahaa thanks! super easy to cook too. Try it sometimes if you'd like :)

First of all, thanks for joining us at #cookwithus. I apologize for just now getting to your entry as it was very busy for me lately. However, I'm glad I finally had the chance to sit down and read your post.

What a wonderful dish! I love its simplicity especially since it sounds so delicious and healthful! I would like to make this sometime soon. I'll be sure to use only happy zucchinis though. =D

Looking forward to seeing and learning new things from your future entries. Hoping you'll join the next one, 3-ingredient dishes (hey, this dish would have worked as seasonings and fat do not count against the three!). That's ok, I'm sure you'll have many other dishes in mind you could share with us.

Many thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42