Cook with Us - March, Week 1 - Rice Noodles with Spicy Fish Soup (Khanom Jeen Namya Kati)

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1756 2.jpg

Hi, Today I want to join competition with my cooking friends #cookwithus, the topic is Favourite Family Recipe! I'm really excited to show you my family recipe, we usually cook it when we met up! This meal is Rice Noodles with Spicy Fish Soup (Khanom Jeen Namya Kati). You can cook this meal in a big pot and it's easy to eat it with rice noodles and fresh vegetables, I like to eat it like that very much! It looks a bit like a small buffet, this meal is not expensive too, I will show you how to cook it, let’s follow my recipe. ;)

Ingredients:
• 500 grams of rice noodles
• 1 snakehead fish
• 500 ml. coconut milk
• 100 grams of sliced finger root
• 100 grams of sliced galangal
• 3 sliced lemongrass
• 7 cloves of garlic
• 7 shallots
• 5 coriander roots
• 6 kaffir limes
• 30 dried chilis
• 10 fish balls
• Fresh vegetables: long bean, sprouts, cabbage, cucumber, hairy basil and peppermint

IMG_1638.jpg

IMG_1654.jpg

IMG_1627 2.jpg

Flavoring:
• 2 teaspoon of salt
• 1 tablespoon of sugar
• 2 tablespoons of fish sauce

Cooking:
• Set the pot over the medium heat, add 1.5 liter of boiled pure water. Then, add garlic, shallots, coriander root, lemongrass, kaffir lime, galangal, finger root, chili and salt, boil all the ingredients for 5 minutes.

IMG_1658.jpg

• Add 250ml. of coconut milk and snakehead fish into the pot boil it for 7 minutes. Then, stop the heat and remove all the ingredients from the pot.

IMG_1665.jpg

• Next step: add all the boiled ingredients, snakehead fish meat and 250ml. of coconut milk into the blender and mix them all together.

IMG_1681.jpg

• Set the pot with the soup again, add all the blended ingredients into the soup pot and boil it.
• Add sugar, fish sauce and fish ball into the pot and cook it for 5 minutes.
• Spicy Fish Soup is finished !
• Prepare the plate with rice noodles, fish soup into the rice noodles, put fresh vegetables into the plate too, if you like to eat them! This meal is my absolutely favourite one! Sooo delicious!!!

IMG_1765.jpg

IMG_1767.jpg

IMG_1760.jpg

IMG_1764.jpg

IMG_1761 2.jpg

IMG_1751.jpg

IMG_1740.jpg

IMG_1738.jpg

IMG_1736.jpg

IMG_1782.jpg

Khanom Jeen Namya Kati is not only my favourite family recipe but it is very famous in Thailand too. We cook it when we celebrate traditional holidays, it doesn't matter if it is a big or a small party. It’s really very popular and Thai people love to eat this meal very much! You can also easily look for it, they sell it everywhere in Thailand cooked in a very big pot and in different versions, too! We like to eat this meal with a lot of fresh vegetables and it usually costs only 30 bath per dish, and you will get vegetables for free, too! You see how popular it is!
Why would the ingredients work together? It's because the ingredients I used are herbs, they are special and have a different taste, but when you cook it together and the ingredients are balanced they fit very well. I used snakehead fish meat and coconut milk which made the meal smooth.
I will tell you about its taste a bit. You can feel the taste of all the ingredients, and to be honest with you, I like to eat it very spicy, as you can see how many dried chillis I used to cook it! Fresh vegetables will help you to balance its spicy taste. I think if you want try this meal and get the feeling how delicious it really is, you have to try my version! The soup is pretty thick! If you like spicy food, I'm sure you'll love it! It can burn your mouth too, but it's sooo delicious!!! I hope you will try it yourself with your family. ;)
Thank you so much for reading my post, and this is the first post for #cookwithus. I’m happy to be the part of it with you all. ;)
Love, ❤️ Maya

Sort:  

หิวข้าวขึ้นมาทันทีค่ะ น่าทานมากๆ ^^

ขอบคุณค่ะ ;)

I really Rice Noodles with Spicy Fish Soup ,, Excellent food photography. I appreciate your post Thanks for share with us

โหย เปิดมาเจอ หิวเลย ไม่ได้ทานหนมจีนนานละ ขอบคุณพี่มายา สำหรับวิธีทำค่ะ เล็กชอบบน้ำยากะทิ มากๆ

น้องเล็กลองทำทานเองดูนะคะ ลดเผ็ดลงอีกก็ได้ค่ะ ถ้าไม่ชอบเผ็ดๆ จริงๆพี่ก็ไม่ค่อยชอบทานเผ็ดค่ะ แต่ขนมจีนน้ำยา นี่ขอยกเว้นเป็นกรณีพิเศษค่ะ 😝😝😝

This is really nice @mayasiam but for someone like me with peptic ulcer, can I eat all the 7 cloves of garlic and 30 DRIED chillis?

Lol. The meal looks inviting.

Of course, you can't eat this meal for sure, I want to say sorry to you this dish is for some people who like to eat spicy food, next time I will show you other not spicy recipe. :)

Ok dear. I will be expecting it.

By the way, I can eat the meal with a bottle of condensed milk by my side. Take one spoon, take one sip of cold milk.

Imagining the outcome is kinda fun, you know. Lol

I love this dish so much. If I grew up in Thailand, Khanom Jeen Namya Kati would be a favorite family dish! The fermented noodle is so incredibly soft and tender and pairs perfectly with the rich fish soup. It is such a satisfying dish. The noodles and the soup are soft in texture and the vegetables provide a nice crunchy aspect to the dish. I will try it next time with fish balls too. That would be another great texture to add to the dish.

Maya, I noticed that you did not add a proof photo. There is still plenty of time for you to do this and then your entry will be valid. The contest closes on Monday. A proof photo is made by putting your Steemit name, the name of your dish and the date onto a piece of paper and taking a picture of it with your dish. If you have some leftovers from your dish, just take a photo of it with the paper. Don't worry how it looks, we will not judge the dish based on that photo. We just need it so that it is fair for all the contestants. Check out the other entries to see an example of a proof photo. If you have any questions please ask and we will help you. We really want your entry to be a valid entry. Thanks! Chef Steve

Thank you so much @chefsteve! I will put it tomorrow. ❤️

Hi @mayasiam! and welcome to @cookwithus! We are happy to have you with us. Thanks for sharing your recipe with everyone and telling us about the dish and why the tastes are so good together. This is so helpful for people reading that have never experienced a dish like this one. Your photographs are so beautiful and we appreciate that you put so much detail into the method. This way anyone can make the dish at home. As a reminder please include a proof photo whenever you make an entry. A proof photo makes the contest more fair because then we know that everyone made the dish. If you could add a simple one to this post then the entry will be valid. I forgot to add one once in a contest that I was entering. It is so easy to forget when you are excited about your entry! Good luck!

I'm so sorry about it! Next time I will put the card when I cook. ;)

Thanks for adding the proof photo!

You are welcome! ;)

ทำได้น่าทานมากๆคะ เเต่ปกติเป็นคนไม่กินปลาช่อนกับปลาดุก อิอิ นี้ถ้าไม่เห็นก็ทานได้ปกติ

ขอบคุณค่ะ คุณแจ๊สเปลี่ยนเป็นปลานิลก็ได้นะคะ ;) ❤️

น่าทานค่ะ น้องมายาสูตรวิธีการทำทำให้อาหารน่าทานยิ่งขึ้นสุดยอดแม่ครัวค่ะ พี่อ้อมเป็นคนชอบทานขนมจีนมากค่ะ น้อง มายา อยากชิมฝีมือน้องมายาขึ้นแล้วสิ 👌😙

เจอกันเมื่อไร เรามาลงมือทำหม้อใหญ่ๆไปเลยค่ะ พี่อ้อม ❤️❤️❤️

ขอบคุณมากค่ะน้องมายา❤

Awesome content and your food looks delicious O_o

Would you like to join our group of @teamthailand. I just recently created it 3-4 days ago. I'm Winny from @myndnow btw. I think the group will be beneficial for everyone who's living in Thailand so this way we connect with each other further :)

Winny (on behalf of @teamthailand) out...for now ;)

Love love love your dish ! and will have a go at it ... to buy these ingredients in my country Denmark ... however it would become a very expensive dish lol ... funny that what in one country is cheap and basic ingredients ... in another are specialities and overpriced lol !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51