Cookwithus Week #9- Cinco de Mayo- Tortilla Soup

in #cookwithus6 years ago

IMG_7646.jpg

This week is Cinco de Mayo and there are so many different Mexican food that it is difficult to pick out one for this week's competition @cookwithus. I remember when I was living in Napa Valley, my friends and I would get together at our favorite Mexican restaurant and order tortilla soup. What made this tortilla soup so special was instead of a tomato base, it was a tomatillo soup base. The acidity from the tomatillos added a nice tangy flavor to the soup.

IMG_7602.jpg

To add my spin to this soup, I decided to char the onions for the vegetable soup base. To char the onion, cut the onion in half and place directly on a open flame until the onion gets dark.

IMG_7616.jpg

Recipe for Vegetable Stock

serves 2

  • 1 large sweet onion, charred
  • 1 celery stalk
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 sprig fresh oregano
    Place all the ingredients into the small pot and cover with 2 quarts water. Bring to a boil and simmer for 45 minutes. Strain the stock and discard the vegetables.

IMG_7024.jpg

Tomatillo Sauce

  • 3 tomatillos
  • 1 large poblano pepper or 2 smaller ones charred
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • small bunch cilantro
    Peel the charred skin from the poblano peppers and remove the seeds. Place all the ingredients into a pot except for the cilantro and and add 1 pint of water. Bring to a boil and cook until tender. Transfer to a blender and add the cilantro. Blend until smooth.

IMG_7642 (1).jpg

To finish the soup, add some chopped vegetables. I add a combination of corn, asparagus, cauliflower and zucchini. Cook until the vegetables are tender. You want a total of 2 cups of diced vegetables. Add in the tomatillo sauce to the soup.

IMG_7647 (1).jpg

Tortilla Chips

  • 2 pieces of corn tortilla
  • canola oil

Place the oil into a small pot and cut the corn tortilla into thin strips. Fry until golden brown and sprinkle with some salt.
Ladle some soup into a bowl and garnish with diced avocados, chopped cilantro and fried tortilla strips. Each spoonful of spoon is a play on textures. You get creamy avocado, crunchy tortilla strips and a pop of freshness from the fresh cilantro. You can also add a dollop of sour cream and some shredded cheese. Enjoy!

IMG_7644.jpg

Sort:  

Your soup looks very tasty @loveself. Hope you are well x

Thanks @lesbento. Love to share some with you. How's your trip?

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-04T02:28:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 75.35/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I can imagine that this soup has such a complex flavor with the roasted chillies, vegetables and tomatillos. Then you get a nice crunchy element from the fried tortillas. This is such a beautiful soup because it is light in texture while being rich in flavor. Thank you @loveself for sharing with us such a wonderful soup. Good luck this week!

Your knowledge of food is incredible and your description of this soup is spot on! Thank you @chefsteve.

CONGRATULATIONS!
Your post is featured in my Saturday Kitchen Table Recipe curation post!

I'm so happy to have your support. Thank you@goldendawne.

I would definitely enjoy your soup!

Thank you @sweetsandbeyond. You are such a creative cook and baker and it's always a pleasure to hear from you.

Beautiful, fresh looking soup! Hopefully I get one more sunny summer day before winter hits here, definitely putting your recipe on the menu, I love a clean, clear broth so you can identify all the goodies in the bowl. Can smell that charred Poblano from here!

You are too kind @whattheduck. Soups are my favorite and I find myself when short on time, making a quick batch of brothy soup for my meals. I can't wait to see what you'll be making next.

Same here! I'm obsessed with how much flavour can be pumped into something that looks like tea! So look forward to your next entries too! (I'm going to have to buy a bigger recipe scribbler at this rate!)

This soup looks wonderful @loveself - reminds me of my time in Spain as a child where we would eat peppers off a skewer that had been deep fried in oil and charred - but then we ate the whole thing - skin, pips and all. Really would love to try this some day.

Looks tasty, light and delicious @loveself! I'm sure the use of tomatillo did wonders for the soup. I love veggies especially when I can enjoy their texture, so this soup appeals to me. Thanks for your entry!

The tomatillos added tartness to the soup which worked really well with the avocados and fried tortilla strips. Thank you @offoodandart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33