Cookwithus Week #7- Strawberry Matcha Cookies

in #cookwithus6 years ago

I had a hard time deciding if I should make a chewy, crunchy, sandwiched or a bar cookie for this challenge @cookwithus. They are so many styles of cookies and they are all so good. Then I recalled this delectable dessert I had in Bangkok which is a Japanese sticky rice cake stuffed with a matcha flavored bean paste and a fresh strawberry. What made this dessert so unique was the slightest hint of jasmine in the matcha filling. It paired so well with the green tea and slightly tart strawberry. Using that as my inspiration I decided to make a cookie version with all of those flavor profiles.

IMG_7506.jpg

I started with a short and buttery cookie base and I added some pulverized freeze dried strawberries to the dough. I like to use freeze dried fruits to flavor my baked goods because the flavors are concentrated and since there is no moisture content, it will not alter the final product of my baked goods. If you can't find freeze dried strawberries, you can always use strawberry extract.

IMG_7491.jpg

Strawberry Butter Cookies

adapted from Little Miss Bento
100g unsalted butter, at room temperature
80g sugar
1 egg yolk
200g flour
pinch of salt
20g freeze dried strawberries, pulverized into a fine powder.
15g heavy cream
5g vanilla extract

Cream butter with sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the egg yolk, pulverized strawberries, and vanilla extract. Mix until combined. Add in the flour and salt. On low speed, mix the flour with the butter mixture until small clumps appear. Add in the heavy cream and mix until the dough comes together. Gather the dough into a ball and flatten into a disc.

IMG_7492.jpg

Wrap the dough with saran wrap and place in the refrigerator for at least 1-2 hrs to chill the dough. This will help the gluten relax and the dough will be easier to roll. Place the chilled dough on a slightly floured surface and roll the dough out to 1/4 inch thick. Cut into rectangles or any other shape.

IMG_7495.jpg

Place the cookies onto a parchment lined sheet pan and bake in a preheated 325F degrees oven for 10-15 minutes or until the cookies are slightly firm to touch. While the cookies are cooling, you can start on the filling.

IMG_7497 (1).jpg

Matcha Ganache

adapted from Little Miss Bento
80g white chocolate, chopped into smaller pieces.
4g green tea powder
40g heavy cream, heated
1/4 tsp Jasmine extract

In a small bowl combine all the ingredients. Let the mixture sit for a minute so the chocolate can soften. Using a whisk, slowly stir together the mixture, starting from the center and working your way out. This will prevent the ganache from splitting. If the ganache starts to break, you can whisk in a touch of cold heavy cream. Place a piece of plastic wrap directly on the surface of the ganache so a skin does not form while the ganache sets.

IMG_7499.jpg

To assemble the cookies. Place a dollop of ganache in the center of half of the cookies and place remaining cookies on top. Gently press the tops of each cookie to squeeze the filling to the edges. I drizzled the tops of my cookies with some melted white chocolate mixed with some freeze dried strawberry powder.

IMG_7507.jpg

These cookies came out quite tasty. The cookies were not too sweet and the strawberries added a tart element. The sweetness of the white chocolate paired perfectly with the slight bitterness of the matcha powder and the jasmine extract brought a floral note to the cookies. Thank you @offoodandart, @pandamama, and @chefsteve for organizing this competition and for coming up with such fun themes each week!

Sort:  

@loveself what lovely biscuit sandwiches you have made.I love strawberrys and the freeze dry fruit gives a sharper taste which i adore.I have never used jasmine in my cooking before.This is a new combination for me.Will defo try this one out, just need the jasmine.Thanks for recipe💛

Thank you @pamcooks. Yes, I love the concentrated flavors that freeze dried fruits add to baked goods. I really enjoy your rosti recipe. I can almost taste all the spices in the recipe. Delicious!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 01:52:04
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 61.65/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a creative cookie @loveself! I love anything with matcha in it. To pair the matcha with strawberry sounds great, especially with the hint of jasmine that you added. Really nice cookie! Thanks for sharing it.

Thank you @chefsteve. I have to give credit to the Japanese mochi dessert I had in Bangkok for this inspiration.

Ive never heard of this kind of cookie! I loooove the idea of the strawberries mixed into it!
I wonder what it tastes like! Im sure its delicious🤗 great entry @loveself!

Thank you @cooknbake. The jasmine flavor was subtle so you can still taste the strawberry and the matcha. Love to share some with you.

I like how you are always inspired by the food around you and then incorporate it to produce something like it.

Matcha is something I love but have never tried pairing it with strawberry. It sounds like a nice pair.

Freeze-dried fruits find its way in my cooking and plating. I'm thankful that Trader Joe's has a nice selection. Using it as part of the cookie dough is something new to me though. Great idea!

I never really thought about pairing fruit with matcha either, but I kept seeing all these new pairings in Asia with matcha so it really peaked my interest. In Bangkok they started to make freeze dried mangosteens, durian and other fruits. Thank you @offoodandart.

Omg, I love mangosteen! It's one of my favorite fruits. They are available where I live but very expensive. I pig out on them when I'm in the Philippines and I also remember eating a lot of it when I was in Bangkok.

Did you try the freeze-dried mangosteen?

Love mangoes too.

I did, but it's not the same. The flavor is quite mild. Next trip I will have to bring you back some.

Oh nice! Thank you!

Well these are certainly tastes that I have never experienced @loveself - looks amazing though

Thanks so much @edenmichelle. Looking forward to your next music post!

Gosh these belong in a pastry shop, they're almost too pretty to eat!

Your Salted Caramel Cookies would be an absolute sell out in a pastry shop! Thank you @whattheduck.

We'll visit one another's pastry shops one day! Now I'm craving matcha!

Sounds like a plan!

They are gorgeous! I am intrigued by the fruit element in the cookie dough. Love the idea!

I have used matcha in cooking and I am tempted to buy some more. At the same time I do not use it often enough and I am afraid it will loose its freshness. I guess a good solution would be to drink it more often;)

What did you make with matcha in your cooking? Yes, matcha has many health benefits and is a great antioxidant. Thank you!

The best dessert I made was white chocolate-matcha-whipped cream deliciousness! It was so amazing! I should probably repeat.

I still remember though to make a post about fruity jello wafers. It so happens that I either have no wafers at home or have time to prepare them.

I have also used matcha in energy bars. I made a post. Here is a link:)

https://steemit.com/cooking/@sweetsandbeyond/baked-energy-bars-chocolate-and-peanut-butter

Your biscuits not only sound great, they look great, very well done @loveself!
I first heard of Matcha when @steemit-foodie used it as her theme a while back in @jaybird's steemit sandwich contest, very curious what the taste is like!

Thank you @lizelle. Depending on the type of matcha you buy, the taste can vary from being slightly sweet, earthy with a bit of grassy after taste and sometimes a bit bitter. The color also varies by the quality. The brighter green the powder, the better.

I'm very curious, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44