Baked energy bars - chocolate and peanut butter

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

8803127B-25AB-4CDC-880D-54BABC46F519.jpeg

I have been making energy bars for a long time. In the past I used recipes and I loved the creations that came out. I enjoy prepping ingredients and having on hand food that is pure and delicious.

These bars were improvised. I made a choice of ingredients without studying them too much. I often times need to have a snack available at work, on the road or for my child. These are perfect! As a matter of fact they served as breakfast today! With an dollop of homemade jam they were a breakfast blast!

These are great since they are not too sweet, do not crumble, have many nutrients, will not dry out. Perfect for shoving in a bag and have for a little pick me up in the mid morning.

A99E240A-B5FD-4AAB-80FA-E7251AB76595.jpeg

List of ingredients:

2 eggs
peanut butter
millet flour
honey
baking powder
baking cocoa
turmeric
pumpkin spice
flaxseed
old fashion oatmeal
coconut
chia
sesame seeds
pepitas
sunflower seeds
cacao nibs
dried cherries
raisins

The list of ingredients is long. You most certainly do not have to add all ingredients to your bars. You can pick and choose your favorites.
I like to mix and match many nutrients in my food. Spices included as you can notice.

Here are the steps:

5146AD16-2315-421A-B0D8-41D89C5DB28C.jpeg

Beat the eggs first.

0AC5D87F-0BD6-4448-BC85-3B0CED179D01.jpeg

Add the peanut butter, honey and powders and beat again to combine well. I would add the oatmeal after these are mixed. As you can see on the photo there is some oatmeal already in. My little helper was working hard with me on making those;)

The objective is to combine dry ingredients so they are fully incorporated with eggs, honey and peanut butter. Later start adding oatmeal and after mixing it all together add seeds and nuts. Cherries and raisins go last.

0C020F01-724B-409E-BF53-76518DA68B00.jpeg

Again, I had some help in the kitchen so my ingredients had a slightly different order in which they were mixed. The bars at the end turned out ok;)

The batter will be very thick. I used spatula to spread it in a baking sheet.

Oven as warmed up to 350F.

I placed aluminum foil in my baking pan. Sprayed with cooking oil and sprinkled with oatmeal.

A5CE73AA-10F5-4927-9354-2592C0DC4B52.jpeg

Baking time was about 35 minutes. The layer of batter was rather thin in my baking pan. Please do the toothpick test before taking your bars out of the oven.

Once they were baked I flipped them on a cutting board, removed the aluminum foil and cut when still warm.

B2A74214-74FD-4CF2-A4E1-7C30DDDFCA1D.jpeg

I played by ear with all the ingredients except eggs. I did not really measured all of them. For the flour, honey, peanut butter and cocoa I started with two heaping tablespoons of each. The bars are not too sweet. They taste more like dark chocolate - the 70% and up. If your preference is a sweeter snack definitely add more honey. Or any other sweetener. The bars are hard like store bought bars so will not crumble easily.
I have not tasted yet how long they stay fresh. I am thinking that if stored in an air tight container they will last for at least a week.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 19:16:16
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 42.55/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love peanut butter and chocolate combinations!
Thank you for sharing this recipe I will tray it out it looks great! 😍

My daughter loves the bars! They are bitter though. I would start with a smaller amount of cocoa and possibly larger of peanut butter and honey.

I will work on that recipe ;)

Thank you for you comment! And let me know how it came out once you make it. Please share if you tweak the recipe;)

This recipe is full of nutritious ingredients. I would have never thought of adding turmeric to these bars. Thanks for an awesome idea @sweetsandbeyond.

My pleasure! Turmeric is amazing and I often add it (dry or fresh) to my dishes. As a matter of fact my bread that is waiting to be baked has some in it:)

They are superb👍lovely

Thank you! Definitely a vitamin bomb!

Now those bars look good. I love energy bars.

Thank you! They are very helpful on the go.
I carry them in my purse.