Cook With Us Week #27- Khao Soi (Northern Thai Noodle Soup)

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1284.jpg

For me, the most comforting meals are noodle soups. I remember as a child, my parents would take me to noodle shops for a quick lunch. There is nothing better than a steaming bowl of noodles sitting in the most flavorful broth. Many of these shops would have their stocks cooking slowly for hours, extracting all the flavors from the bones. When my husband first travelled to Asia with me, I introduced him to a variety of noodle soups and he was simply amazed by how delicious and rich the broth tasted. The one that was the most memorable for him was Khao Soi. It's a Northern Thai curry noodle dish. It's a spicy curry coconut based chicken or beef broth served with fresh and fried yellow noodles. When I saw this week's theme @cookwithus, I thought I would surprise him with his favorite dish.

IMG_1282.jpg

Khao Soi Gai

serves 2

  • 2 tbsp yellow curry paste or to taste
  • 3 large shallots, sliced thinly
  • 1 stalk lemongrass
  • 2 kaffir lime leaves
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp dry yellow curry powder
  • 1 tsp shrimp paste
  • fish sauce to taste
  • 1 14oz can coconut milk
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 chicken legs
  • 1 bag fresh Chinese yellow noodles
  • 6 pieces wonton wrappers
  • canola oil

I rarely make my own curry paste because when I am in Thailand, I always purchase fresh curry paste and freeze it. If you want to make your own curry paste, here is a recipe.

IMG_1272.jpg

Add some canola oil into a hot sauté pan. Add in the sliced shallots, curry paste, turmeric, curry powder, and lemongrass. To get the most flavor out of the lemongrass, whack the lemongrass against your cutting board or use the handle of your chef's knife to bruise the lemongrass. This will release the flavors of the lemongrass into your soup base.
Cook until the shallots are translucent. Pour in the coconut milk and bring to a boil. Add in the chicken stock, chicken legs, kaffir lime leaves, shrimp paste and cilantro. Let the chicken simmer until tender. This will take approximately 40 minutes. Add the fish sauce to taste.

IMG_1273 (1).jpg

I like to leave my khao soi base overnight in the refrigerator so the chicken can soak in all the flavor and I can skim some of the fat from the top of the broth.

IMG_1275.jpg

Since I can't find fresh Khao Soi noodles in NY, the closest thing is fresh Chinese wonton noodle. Cook the noodles in boiling water until tender. Drain the noodles and set aside. For the fried noodles, I like to use wonton wrappers, slice them into strips and fry them in hot oil.

IMG_1274.jpg

It's time to assemble the dish. Mound some noodles into the bowl, chicken leg, fried wonton strips and some fresh chopped cilantro. Traditionally Khao Soi is served with some fresh shallots, lime and pickled mustard greens on the side.

IMG_1276 (1).jpg

Top with coconut curry broth. The broth is the best part!

IMG_1278.jpg

This is one flavor bomb. It's sweet, spicy and salty. The fresh noodles are slightly chewy and the fried wonton strips add crunch. The broth is highly aromatic and the pickled mustard greens add a bit of tanginess which helps to cut the richness of the coconut milk. Thanks @offoodandart, @chefsteve, and @pandamama for another great theme. A big thank you @curie and @sneaky-ninja for the support.

IMG_1280.jpg

Sort:  

Oh this looks and sounds amazing @loveself, I just looove soup and noodles is a must! I've used chicken and pasta shapes in mine ;);)

I wish we could swap soups. I could share some of mine for your chicken muscadel soup. There is something comforting about chicken soup and noodles or pasta. Thank you @lizelle for your support!

Khoa soi is one of my favourite food ka! The one you made looks so so so yummy! Now I actually want one, like, really! Maybe I should get out of my pj soon it's 1pm! hahaha :D

I wish I could lounge in my pjs, haha. There are so many delicious noodle soups in Thailand. I like them all! You'll have to show me where I can find a good khoa soi in Bangkok. Nice to hear from you @waybeyondpadthai.

I honestly don't know where to get it ka hahahhaah LOLOLOL in chiang mai is everywhere but here in BKK is so dang hard. You must make it so yum!!! chef said he had 2 bowls!!! :D

Yep, I tried looking for Khao Soi in Bangkok and I ended up finding tom yum noodles or fish ball noodles. Guess I will have to take a trip to Chang Mai.

That looks amazing! 😻

Thanks so much @blackberryskunk. I just saw your flower power cake. Did you make that? Absolutely beautiful! What were the flavors?

Thanks!
This was a first ”wedding cake“ that I made. I used pink and violet aster flowers and pink and white roses. Those flowers are all edible.

Wow, what a great presentation! I still need to try making my own curry paste. I'm sure yours is delicious and brings so much flavor to that broth!

When you make your own curry paste, make sure you make a big batch because it's so much easier to process a larger batch and it freezes well. Thanks so much @plantstoplanks.

Good thinking! I will definitely try to do that soon!

This noodle soup is one of my all time favorites. The rich chicken broth with coconut and curry is spicy without being over the top. Then you get the soft chewy noodles and the crisp fried noodles. What I like about this kind of soup is that you can customize the flavor by adding lime juice, pickled mustard greens and raw shallots. Your soup is so satisfying just reading the recipe and seeing your photos! Thanks for sharing this with us.

Reading your comments, I can tell you are a connoisseur of this dish. The pickled mustard greens for me is a must! It absolutely elevates the dish. Thanks so much @chefsteve.

The soup looks so delicious! 'Flavor bomb' is the right phrase for it. Love that it's spicy too. The noodles, the chicken and the crunchy wonton strips and pickled mustard greens in a curry base .. all are wonderful for a hearty and satisfying meal in a bowl!

Thanks for making me super hungry @loveself! =D

Hahah, your food is always making me drool so it's a nice change. Thank you for your feedback @offoodandart.

Great entry @loveself. I was looking forward to your entry this week. You know how I love Thai food. Your soup looks amazing and I can’t wait to give it a try. I was just wondering if it was really spicy? I’ve noticed the curry paste in the ingredients list but no chillies.

Most curry pastes will contain chilis in the mix. Depending on the brand of curry paste or recipe, I usually adjust the recipe by adding more curry paste or some extra fresh chilis to the broth. For me, I like some heat in my food but not to the point where I can't taste anything and I am dripping with sweat. I find yellow curry to be milder than green or red curry paste. Thanks so much @foodforsoul.

Jack and Lesley told me that they have been eating a lot of Thai food lately in Cyprus - lucky for them one of the staff at Lesleys firm is opening up a Thai restaurant so they are experiencing all the tasters. Well done with your recipe @loveself - you really are a Super Cook

Awww, thanks so much @pandamama. What fun for Jack and Lesley to be the taste testers. So far what are their favorite Thai dishes?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46