Cook With Us Week#20- My Knife Cut Salad with Oven Baked Fries

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Lately the weather has been super hot, so I have been eating lots of salads. For this week's @cookwithus challenge, I I thought I could show some knife cuts in my salad. I like to make giant salads that have a variety of textures and flavors so each bite will be different. To serve along with my salad I also made some oven baked fries.

IMG_0020.jpg

Ingredients:

serves 2 as a main

  • 1 bunch carrots
  • 1 crown broccoli, steamed and cut into florets
  • 3 small beets
  • 1 head Boston lettuce
  • 3-4 basil leaves
  • roasted chickpeas
  • croutons
  • 1 plum

Let's start with the fries.

IMG_0021.jpg

I'm not a big fan of eating thin fries. I prefer my potato to be at least 1/2 inch thick. The bayonet cut is 1/2" x 1/2" x 2 1/2 to 3" which is the perfect French fry cut for me. Once the potatoes are cut, place some olive oil into a hot frying pan and add the potatoes. Brown each side of the potatoes.
Tip: this will give you the golden brown look as if the potatoes were deep fried.

IMG_0011.jpg.

Once the potatoes are browned on each side, place the potatoes onto a sheet pan and place in a 400 degreeF oven and bake until the potatoes are tender. Season with salt to taste. Time to start on the salad.

IMG_0017.jpg

At first, I was going to leave the carrot halves raw in the salad but after one taste, I had to change plans. They were so tasteless I decided to coat them with pastrami spices and roast them in the oven. You can find the recipe for pastrami spice here.

IMG_0027.jpg

Place some olive oil into a hot frying pan and add in the carrots. Cook until the carrots are nice and brown and transfer into a bowl. Add a generous amount of pastrami spice and salt to taste. Place the carrots onto a sheet pan and place in a preheated 375 degrees F oven. Bake until the carrots are tender; set aside.

IMG_0022.jpg

I like to cook my beets in a pressure cooker because it is fast. It takes about 15 minutes to cook small beets. Once the beets are cooked and cooled I cut them into roughly 1/4 x 1/4 x 1/4 cubes. It's easiest to cut them into 1/4" slices, stack the slices, then into 1/4" strips and lastly into cubes.

IMG_0024.jpg

For the basil leaves, I wanted to cut them into long thin strips which is called chiffonade. The basil adds a pop of brightness to the salad. You can chiffonade any leafy herbs or greens and use them as garnishes or accents for any dish.

IMG_0019.jpg

To finish this salad, I added some roasted chickpeas, multi grain croutons and sliced plums. I had the roasted chickpeas and croutons leftover from another meal. You can always skip them and add some toasted nuts or seeds for some crunch. I made a honey mustard vinaigrette to accompany the salad and fries.

IMG_0012.jpg

Thank you @offoodandart, @pandamama, and @chefsteve for another incredible theme. I had so much fun reading about all the different knife cuts and applying some to this week's dish. Now it's time to eat!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-13T08:32:21
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 322.35/200.00
Total Photos: 51
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great post @loveself. I love the vivid colours of all the ingredients. And you’ve done justice to the different cuts especially the batonnet. I really like the thickness of the fries. It’s funny how so many things have French names; for example most ballet moves are French as well. I like the chiffonade cut I’m definitely gonna try this in the future. Best of luck and hopefully we have some more participants join us.

Now that you have mentioned it, you are correct. Many things do have French names. I really liked your entry and what was your favorite knife cut? Thank you @foodforsoul.

It must be tasty

It was a simply but delicious lunch. Thank you for your comment!

Beautiful salad @loveself, excellent shots:) Roasted carrots, yum!

What a great salad of textures and flavors. You have crunchy and soft textures and sweet and salty flavors. You have made your knife cuts so nicely. Thanks for sharing with us the chiffanade cut. This one is great for herbs and leafy greens. What a great idea to put pastrami spice on some flavorless carrots! That added some great flavor to the carrots and a complexity to the salad. I also like your idea of eating French fries with the salad! I believe French fries are welcome at nearly every meal! Thanks for your entry @loveself.

Something healthy and something not so healthy to balance it all out. Thank you for your compliment @cheftsteve.

I enjoyed reading your post as you employed different cuts to produce a beautiful and wonderful salad. I love that you made adjustments to the carrots when you saw it needed a boost. They sound flavorful with the pastrami spice. The whole salad sounds delicious!

Thanks for the little tips here and there @loveself and thanks for your continued support for the contest!

Most of the time I'm just chopping everything and this challenge made me more aware of all of my cuts. Thank you @offoodandart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74