Cook With Us Week #19- Austrian Pancakes

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Growing up in Asia, breakfast usually consisted of recycled meals from dinner except for weekends. I remember I always looked forward to the weekends because I knew I would get pancakes or cereal. Pancakes were my favorite. We never had it served with maple syrup. It was just a sweet pancake mix and I would eat it plain. I like all types of pancakes but the one I favor most was something that I did not have as a child but as grown up in Austria. Kaiserschmarren or Emperor's pancake is a dish of torn fluffy pancakes that have a custard like texture and in Austria it is usually eaten as a dessert but I will be happy to have this dish for my breakfast.

IMG_9801.jpg

Recipe

from Austrian Desserts and Pastries
Serves 2

  • 2 tbsp raisins
  • 1 tbsp rum
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 30g sugar
  • 120g All-purpose flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 200 ml milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 60g butter
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • oil

Unlike American pancake, Kaiserschmarren batter does not contain any leavening agent. The whipped egg whites are what give the lightness and rise in the pancakes. Pour the rum over the raisins. Whisk the egg yolks with the milk and vanilla extract and set aside. In another bowl whisk together the flour and salt. Slowly pour the milk into the flour and mix until combined. Whisk the egg whites with the sugar until stiff peaks.

IMG_9793.jpg

Add 1/3 of the whipped egg whites into the flour batter and fold in the remaining egg whites. This batter will be much thinner than regular pancake mix. Heat oil in a cast iron pan or a frying pan and pour in pancake batter and scatter some raisins.

IMG_9795.jpg

Cook until the underside is golden brown and flip the pancake. Don't worry if the pancake tears because you will be cutting them into bite sized pieces. Once the batter is cooked, cut the pancake into irregular bite sized pieces.

IMG_9797.jpg

Remove the torn pieces of Kaiserschmarren from the frying pan and add the butter and sugar. When the butter gets frothy and the sugar starts to melt, add in the pieces of the pancake and cook until the pancake is caramelized.

IMG_9787.jpg

You don't need any maple syrup with these pancakes. In Austria they are served with a dusting of powdered sugar along with a side of apple sauce or plum compote. The caramelized sugar adds a crunch and the rum raisins add a burst of flavor. I paired this dish with a plum compote which adds some tartness. For me this is breakfast at its best! Thank you @cookwithus for another fun and creative theme.

IMG_9802.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-04T20:28:03
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 296.35/200.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Chic article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Oh my, this made my mouth water....wow! I would love to eat them now for dinner :) You have so many creative dishes to share, well done! Good luck my friend!

I don't make them often because I would eat the whole plate! Thank you @birdsinparadise.

Dessert for breakfast... Perfect weekend treat. Hope you are well.

A little indulgence to start the weekend. Thank you @amy-goodrich. It's always so nice to hear from you. I hope you are able to have some time off from all of your hard work.

We sure have... yesterday and today are our days off and enjoying every second of it xxx

You have made me crave these @loveself - looks absolutely to die for

Thank you for your kind comment @pandamama.

Ooh boy, this looks decadent and delicious! I wonder if these would work with whipped aquafaba and a few other tweaks to make it vegan? Hhmmm, that may be a challenge worth the effort because I would love to try it!! :)

When I was making it, I was thinking the same. Would aquafaba work? Let me know if you ever make a vegan version! Thank you for stopping by @plantstoplanks.

These pancakes look great!

I've never heard of this pancake and was excited about the theme this week as I knew I'd learn new things about food and culture.

This dish sounds delicious @loveself. It's so interesting that the egg whites take the place of the leavening agent. I'm sure the texture is light and custard-y as you said. The rum-soaked raisins bring in a beautiful contrasting flavor.

Thanks for educating me on this Austrian delight! Will mention this dish to my son as his girlfriend is Austrian.

Once you try it pancakes will never be the same. Thank you @offoodandart.

Your kaiserschmarren looks amazing! It makes sense to have for breakfast since people love sweet foods for breakfast. It is interesting that the pancake is made light by adding whipped egg whites. If folding in whipped egg whites was too advanced for someone could you add a leavening agent and get a similar result? Thanks for your entry!

I would not skip the folded egg whites because that also contributes to the custard texture. However, if someone is afraid of over beating or under beating the egg whites, I would add a pinch of baking powder to help with the leavening. Thank you @chefsteve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62221.65
ETH 2424.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55