Cook With Us Week#18- Vegan Coconut Cashew Sundae

in #cookwithus6 years ago

IMG_9616.jpg

Thinking of ice cream always brings a smile to my face. There are so many different flavors from simple vanilla to creative ones with mix ins. The new craze right now is non-dairy ice creams. I really like non-dairy ice creams but I find that many commercial ones are too sugary and lack flavor. For this week's @cookwithus contest ice cream theme, I decided to make my own coconut cashew vegan ice cream sundae. It is super easy to make your own dairy-free ice cream base and the taste is simply rich and creamy from the coconut milk and cashews. A splash of Meyer's rum adds an extra depth of flavor but you can always skip the alcohol.

IMG_8961.jpg

Non-Dairy Coconut Cashew Ice Cream

  • 1 can coconut milk, refrigerated overnight
  • 100g cashews soaked overnight in filtered water
  • 75-120g coconut sugar
  • 30-60g non-dairy milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp Meyer's rum (optional)
    Strain the cashews and place all the ingredients into a blender. Start with 75g of coconut sugar and increase the amount of sugar to your desired sweetness. Blend until smooth. Depending on the brand of coconut milk, you might have to adjust the consistency of your ice cream mix by adding a bit more non-dairy milk. It should be thick smoothie consistency. Pour the mixture into an ice cream maker.
    TIP: You want to churn your ice cream until it's firm enough to loosely hold it's shape when scooped. The ice cream will firm up after the second freezing. If you over mix the ice cream in the machine, the texture of the ice cream will not be velvety smooth. Also you want your base to be chilled so it will take less time to churn the ice cream.
    Once the ice cream is churned, place the ice cream into a container and freeze for approximately 1-2 hrs to firm up the ice cream.

IMG_8960.jpg

For the base of my sundae, I baked a vegan vanilla sponge cake. I like having a cake or cookie base to soak up the melted ice cream. This cake batter is super delicious and can be baked in a loaf pan as a pound cake.

Vegan Vanilla Cake

adapted from Berenive Leconte

  • 100g all-purpose flour
  • 4g baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp kosher salt
  • 100g non-dairy yoghurt
  • 70g granulated sugar
  • 10g non-dairy milk
  • 75g canola oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix the sugar with the oil, vanilla extract, non-dairy milk and yoghurt. Whisk in the dry ingredients. Spread evenly in a 1/4 sheet pan. Bake at 350 degree F oven for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Cool to room temperature. I needed a crunchy element to my sundae so I made some candied cashews.

IMG_8962.jpg

Candied Cashews

  • 30g cashews
  • 20g sugar
  • 8g water
  • kosher salt
  • unsweetened coconut

Place the sugar with the water into a small sauce pan. Once the sugar is melted, add in the cashews and continuous stir until the sugar crystallizes. Continue to cook for a few seconds or just until some sugar starts to caramelize. Add a generous pinch of salt and some unsweetened coconut. Let the cashews cool and break until pieces.

To finish this sundae I made some basil caviar by pureeing some basil leaves with water and sweetening it lightly with sugar. Then I added some agar and agar and dropped the mixture into cold olive oil. Now it's time to put the sundae together. I used a cookie cutter to cut some cake circles. I placed some strawberries and mangos on the bottom of the chilled glasses. I spooned some strawberry puree (which is just some strawberries blended with a touch of powdered sugar) over the fruit and topped with a piece of cake. Three small scoops of coconut cashew ice cream were placed on top of the cake and I added some more fruit, basil caviar and candied cashews. This dessert is sweet, tart and creamy. The basil caviar added a burst of freshness and the bit of salt in the candied cashews enhanced the coconut, rum flavor of the ice cream. This sundae is so delectable you won't even miss the dairy. Dig inn!

IMG_9611.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Thank you for your support @pennsif!

Lovely and colorful elements @loveself! All the different layers and textures contribute to a beautiful and appetizing presentation that makes eating the ice cream so much fun! Makes me feel like a kid except that my sprinkles are more than just colored sugary bits.

Fresh fruits and the cake are bonus items. Love the basil caviar too. I enjoy making agar agar caviar but have not tried making it with basil. Would love to try it sometime in the future.

I'm guessing you are familiar with pandan. It's one of my favorite agar agar caviars.

Thanks for your entry and good luck @loveself!

I love anything pandan. I'll have to try pandan next time. Thank you for the tip @offoodandart.

Great recipe @loveself! Those candied cashews look awesome. You can't go wrong with cake and ice cream. Good luck on the contest this week.

So true! It's like PB and jelly. Thanks @slowcookingchef and good luck to you too!

This is a sundae I could definitely get behind! Love the fresh fruit and homemade cake to soak it all up. 😋

Wish I could trade some of my sundae for your cherry nice cream. Thanks so much @plantstoplanks.

I know! It would be great if we could all get together for an epic pot luck some day! 😉

That would be so much fun!

Oh wow @loveself, this looks and sounds amazing, I'd love to dig into that!

Thank you @lizelle. I would love to share it with you!

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my The Kitchen Table Edition 20: Recipes, Cooking & Food Curation Day post celebrating "cookwithus"!!

ALL SBD PROCEEDS from this post are EQUALLY divided between the three featured authors' posts.

I'm so honored! Thank you for your support @goldendawne.

INSPIRATIONAL POST LOVED IT HOPING TO SEE MORE
GUYSSS DO FOLLOW ME TO GET AMAMZING FOOD BENEFITS I AM A FOOD BLOGGER AND GET UNKNOWN FACTS

Thanks so much. I can't wait to try your tutti fruity cookies.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-26T17:11:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 276.85/200.00
Total Photos: 44
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.17 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This is just packed with beauty. I can just imagine how delicious this is.
Wonderfully done!

You are too sweet @carolynstahl. I was missing the coconut ice cream I often have in Bangkok and then I thought why not make my own sundae version.

Love this! What a great idea having the vanilla cake as the first layer, that way you can enjoy every drop! Candied cashews, I could just eat those alone, Great presentation and recipe @loveself!

Thank you @birdsinparadise. I'm going to have to make myself some of your date ice cream. What a great recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82