Cook With Us Week #17 - Raw: Cucumber & Yogurt Soup

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

The theme raw was not so easy for me this week - I've just returned from freezing Johannesburg and all I could think of in the way of food was warming and comforting soups, casseroles, curries and so forth; and that was what I cooked for my family this past week.

Hubby and 86 year old Mom Lily stayed home and although she is still very sprightly, she had a bad fall just before I left; cut her hand, and although the stitches were out, she still cannot do very much with that hand!

Hubby would fail if he were to be tested on his culinary skills; I'll admit he can make a cup of tea, coffee, toast and scrambled eggs...a boiled egg as well; but that's where it ends :) Oh he does know how to warm food in the microwave!

So of course whilst I was gone, they reverted to fast food as my trip was an emergency, totally unplanned when my son took ill; no time to cook meals for the freezer. Thankfully my son is much much better and on the way to better health!

Of course I'm happy to be back home with the milder climate of Durban, and although it's still cold as we are in the midst of winter here in the southern hemisphere, it certainly is not freezing cold in Durban!

The awesome Cook with Us team - @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart are challenging us week after week and this is great as it's getting us out of our comfort zones, so a hearty thank you to all our hard working head chefs and generous sponsors!

I still have not been able to do a cooking video as I have no idea how to do this but promise I will give it a go some time.

When I looked at the theme of Cook With Us Week 17, I was really excited at first as I started thinking of all those yummy fudgy and creamy fridge tarts and cakes that I love, but all my recipes contain crushed biscuits so all my plans came to a halt!

My mind then wandered to gelatin based desserts which I also love, but with hubby being a diabetic, I thought it's not fair putting all this temptation in front of him after my absence a week ago and all the fast foods he had consumed!

With my mind still on soups, I remembered making a fuss-free and really refreshing Cucumber & Yogurt Soup one hot and humid summer's day.
Simple ingredients are used - Cucumber, Fresh Mint, Spring Onions, Greek Style Yogurt, Salt & Black Pepper as well as a touch of Paprika.
This soup is very popular in the Middle East - no wonder with the high temperatures they experience!

IMG_20180722_160809.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 large English Cucumber - diced
  • Fresh Mint
  • 3 Spring Onions - finely shredded
  • 300ml Greek Style Yogurt
  • Salt, Black Pepper & Paprika

IMG_20180722_155050.jpg

Place Cucumber, Mint, Yogurt, Salt & Pepper in blender and puree on high till smooth.

IMG_20180722_155557.jpg

IMG_20180722_155656.jpg

IMG_20180722_155807_1.jpg

IMG_20180722_160338.jpg

Spoon into soup bowls, garnish with Spring Onions, a sprig of Mint & Paprika.

IMG_20180722_160855.jpg

Thick, creamy and delicious Cucumber & Yogurt Soup.

IMG_20180722_161012.jpg

A quick look at the making:

IMG_20180722_155557-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Really beautiful, and it would be perfect here today! Truly refreshing, and as always spot on presentation @lizelle!

Ah thank you so much for your lovely reply @birdsinparadise:)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 205 (7/24/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so much, really appreciate your awesome support :)

Although I am not staying in a country with cold season, I really do understand how much you want hot comforting bowl of soup!! But well, u can kinda get that from raw food by adding tons of dried chille....hahaha.

Poor mom lily, please help me pass on my blessing to her. Hopes she heals soon.

Your husband can prepared basic food , good enough. I people people that don't even know anything about preparation of food not even microwave. His lucky to have you.

I really like all the combination of ingredients you used there, it reminds me of a Greek dish !

It is almost like a tzatziki @alansthoughs! Ok, I should have added chilli for some heat hey, will remember that :) I really can't imagine only having hot weather, I enjoy the slight chill but not the freezing weather up in Johannesburg!
Have a great week our food magician ;)

Yes yes tzatziki!! Yes having only one season is not very interesting, but atleast we will get used to it and better still we can save on winter clothing!

U too have a great week!

What a wonderful soup @lizelle! This one is so easy to make and it is loaded with great flavors. I would pair this soup with your lamb curry roti roll for and unforgettable meal! Thanks for sharing this soup!

Thanks @chefsteve, that would be a perfect pairing, but that soup would be served at the end to cool down ;)

OMGosh! This looks so creamy! Perfect for a day of cuddling up on the sofa and getting lost in a book!

Ah thank you @goldendawne, getting lost in a book is just what I need...going down the coast for a couple of days so maybe I will :)

Hello how are you friend? you had an emergency exit I'm glad that your son is better, I see that you really need at home, polish a pumpkin cream with tangerine yours looks very divine, grandmother is delicate with your hand should take care

Always lovely hearing from you @jennimorillo, you're so right hey ;) We're taking a short break down the coast, looking forward to that ;)

it looks and sounds beautiful good luck

This is one of my favorite soups especially in the hot summer when I make it cold. It is very refreshing, thank you for sharing your recipe. 💚

Hello friend I love yogurt and cucumber, for hot weather it is very summery this cream. This recipe is super easy and I will copy your elaboration tips, I am sorry about the cut of the hand of your mother and the sudden illness of your son, but as I read everything is going well around you, here in Venezuela we have many problems with the Internet, but until God arranges I will be active in your blog, good friend a great greeting, and that everything continues to improve the health of your loved ones.

Your soup has the most beautiful hue. Great flavors pairing cucumbers, mint and yoghurt. Happy to hear that your son is on his way to better health. I wish a speedy recovery for your mum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64833.23
ETH 3558.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35