Cook With Us Homework - Unusual Fruit Where I come from

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Being an obedient little girl...ok... I was one a very long time ago... but today I’ve been given homework by Miss Cookwithus so have to knuckle down and start writing my essay.

The theme is an unusual fruit or vegetable that may be specific to my country or just be unusual; or write a restaurant/ food review , and also tell everyone a little about where I come from.

I will start with the latter - I live in laid-back Durban, a popular holiday destination in a sub-tropical coastal city on the east coast of South Africa.

A misconception I'd like to clear up from the start is that we do not have wild animals roaming the streets, not in any city or town in South Africa. Wildlife is only found in game parks or remote areas nowadays.

7AIthala.jpg
Giraffe at Ithala Game Reserve, Northern Kwazulu Natal

Our country is often portrayed in a bad light by the press and as we all know, good news does not sell so I'm sure you only hear about violent protests marches and other bad things that I believe are relics from the old Apartheid system which came to an end in 1994, and left behind many inequalities. With a government not delivering on its promises, the discontent and injustices will resonate for years to come still!

However, there is much good happening here that does not make the news, and I do share those from time to time in my posts.

South Africa is a wonderfully diverse country with a rich history, culture and amazing natural splendour - the best beaches, breathtaking mountain ranges, endless deserts, exciting game parks.

IMG_20161120_092535.jpg
Young would be-surfers learning the ropes
IMG_20170115_Dbn beachfront.jpg
Sand artists at Durban North beach
IMG_20170517_103813.jpg
Umdloti Beach on the North Coast of Kwazulu Natal
IMG_20161025_062636.jpg
Central Drakensberg mountain range - Champagne Castle
12Ithala.jpg
Misty mountains at Ithala Game Reserve

We have 11 official languages and with such diverse people lends itself to an exciting mix of food cultures.

My city Durban has a large concentration of people from Indian descent so of course Durban is known for its curry, with Bunny Chow being the most famous.
Ok, no need to be horrified - no bunnies go into this hollowed out loaf of bread filled with spicy curries like - Mixed Vegetables, Broad Beans, Sugar Beans, Lamb, Chicken, Chicken & Prawn - to name but a few.
IMG-20180120-WA0010-384x512.jpg
Bunny Chow I made for Steemit Sandwich Contest a while back - they're usually way more spicy than this version

Thought I would add a tale to my story - what do I do now?

I am in my Autumn years, and hubby and I run our own little BnB called Lily’s Cottage since I retired from the corporate world as a Geographic Info Services Technician. Hubby still takes on the odd bit of Civil Engineering design works, but is kept very busy with our little business as well.

I simply love my new job as we get to meet the nicest and most interesting people from near and far with the added bonus of supplementing our income.

Guests come for all kinds of reasons - holidays, business, training, seminars, sport, family illness or funerals plus many expats of late visiting family.

Lilys Cottage front page logos.jpg

As we live close to a river, we do have some wildlife here at home - vervet monkeys troop through the garden mornings and late afternoons, foraging for food, plus we have many species of garden birds.

We have giant Papaya trees and our wildlife feast on the fruit - we only pick the fruit on the lower branches and leave the rest to them.

Papaya.jpg

MonkeyLeader.jpg
Vervet monkey leader enjoying super sweet Papaya
Three monkeys.JPG
The three monkeys sitting in our wild Plum Tree
Loerie.jpg
Knysna Turaco or Loerie in flight showing off its stunning red wings

The unusual fruit I have chosen to tell you about is not indigenous to South Africa but has acclimatized very well here in our sub-tropical region; and that is the Tamarillo.
We have five of these smallish trees in our garden, and I will show you photos taken when they were bearing fruit last summer.

IMG_20180414_131154.jpg

IMG_20180414_131239.jpg

Info from wikipedia

The tamarillo is a small tree or shrub in the flowering plant family Solanaceae (the nightshade family). It is best known as the species that bears the tamarillo, an egg-shaped edible fruit. It is also known as the tree tomato, tomate andino, tomate serrano, tomate de yuca, sachatomate, berenjena, tamamoro, and tomate de árbol in South America. They are popular globally, especially in New Zealand, Australia, and America.
The fruits are egg-shaped and about 4-10 centimeters long. Their color varies from yellow and orange to red and almost purple. Sometimes they have dark, longitudinal stripes. Red fruits are more acetous, yellow and orange fruits are sweeter. The flesh has a firm texture and contains more and larger seeds than a common tomato. The fruits are very high in vitamins and iron and low in calories (only about 40 calories per fruit).

Tamarillo cut wikimedia commons.jpg
Image credit

The fruit is delicious and tastes like a blend of Passion Fruit and Guava.
I’ve used it in Fruit Salad and eaten it on its own - one scoops the pulp and seeds out, cannot eat the skin which is too hard. The seeds are soft, almost like Tomato Seeds and not as hard as Guava seeds.
This season we should get more fruit as the trees are bigger so I will try and make chutney or jams with them.

I'm really looking forward to the challenges from @cookwithus, cannot wait to see what the team consisting of @chefsteve, @offoodandart and @pandamama, have up their sleeves for Season Three :)

Hope to see new steemians join the @cookwithus community - you're sure to make a friend or two plus learn some new tricks from some of our amazing chefs!

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Love hearing about your home @lizelle! Thanks for sharing with us. I have to admit, I did think you might have crazy animals wandering around lol I feel better now knowing you don't. :) The monkeys would be fun to watch as well as the beautiful birds. A new fruit! I wasn't familiar with this one. Sounds very delicious. Do you use them in smoothies or juices?

Would definitely be a delicious addition to smoothies, great idea! Hoping to have a bigger crop this year, it's funny that the 🐒 have not bothered to eat them yet, good thing the branches are not strong so they can't really jump on them!
LOL we do have cats and dogs but no wildlife besides the monkeys and birds :):)

Well done @lizelle - so far you are the golden girl - only post so far - we are very grateful to learn more about you and your wonderful country (mine too haha) - also believe it or not I have never heard about that tamarillo - would love to taste it someday

Thank you @pandamama, I do hope you get to taste it one day. If you enjoy passion fruit and guavas, you certainly will enjoy Tamarillo! I'm going to add it to smoothies next time as @birdsinparadise suggested.

Yum - yes I do enjoy both passion fruit and guavas - can't wait to taste tamarillo someday - need to research it and see where else it is grown
@lizlle

Thanks for getting your homework done @lizelle! It is so great to see such nice photos from around your city of Durban. The mountains and countryside of South Africa look so rugged and beautiful.

The tamarillo fruit looks amazing and the way that you described the flavor sounds so good! I hope the monkeys save a few for you!

Thanks so much for sharing with us about your city and your local fruit the tamarillo.

Thank you miss Cookwithus, I nearly did not get it done, but thoroughly enjoyed telling you a little about my hometown and country!

By the way, you get an A+ for this homework! 😜

Ah thank you miss Cookwithus :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 269 (10/02/18)

@lizelle a great story post about us and a great promotion. I think the last time we had a lion in the streets was when Boswell Wilkies Circus was in town. They had tame circus lions. Blessings!

Haha I remember reading about that :) Thank you for stopping by @papilloncharity,

Such a great post and quite informative of your area and life, I always had planned t visit there some day, but kept putting it off and now I cant travel so I will experience it through your posts

Thank you so much @tattoodjay, glad you enjoyed it, such a pity you can't come and see our country for yourself, will share from time to time :)

Wonderful post @lizelle! I feel that I know so much more now about Durban and also South Africa in general. The country is so beautiful. I really need to get over there at some point.

I have never seen this fruit called tamarillo. It looks so exotic and delicious. Thanks for sharing more about where you live and also your local unusual fruit!

Thank you for your lovely feedback @chefsteve, really appreciate it! Hoping you do get to visit South Africa some time :)

Excellent post, I consider monkeys as wildlife, especially the four we call our children. You are absolutely correct on how Africa is portrayed at least here in the USA, it is good you can set the record straight for us Yanks that have been told otherwise about Africa.

Haha mr Papper, we used to tease our children and tell them their cousins were visiting ;)
It's not nice to hear about the bad reporting done about our beautiful country so I try to put the record straight!

You do an excellent job of setting the record straight in my eyes.

Thank you so much for this post @lizelle! I have to say that I learned so much from this one post alone. Had some misconceptions that I'm glad are now corrected. Eleven official languages ... wow!

Beautiful and vibrant bougainvillea! That's what it is? I grew up in the Philippines where it is abundant. They don't grow where I live now so they definitely catch my eyes when I see them.

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback @offoodandart!
You're correct, that is a bougainvillea, it's really gorgeous, the flowers drop into the pool and actually looks so pretty as if it's been done for show :)

What a beautiful sight that is!!!

Someday, I would enjoy a stay at your B&B! It sounds really lovely and I know I would enjoy the gardens.

Oh that would be such a treat meeting you @cecicastor! Thank you for your feedback and support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53