Cook With Us 11 - Royal Wedding Fever Cupcakes

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Another awesome theme for Week #11 from The Cook with Us team - @chefsteve , @pandamama and @offoodandart; I've chosen Cupcake Decorating.
IMG_20180518_162001.jpg

All over the world Royal watchers have been having wedding fever, with celebrations taking place everywhere, and the fairy tale Royal wedding certainly did not disappoint.
IMG_20180519_133100.jpg
Television footage taken with my cellphone ;)
I got an invitation to the wedding...haha I wish...I took myself over to my favourite sister in law, and we had our own little wedding party with pale pink and snow white cup cakes.
IMG_20180518_151135.jpg

I was killing two birds with one stone as it was our housekeeper's birthday and pink is her favourite colour, so Cynthia went home on Friday with her batch of carrot cupcakes beautifully decorated, and was she chuffed :)

Cynthia cupcakes.jpg

I made Carrot & Pecan Cup Cakes, and opted for a white glace icing and a pale pink butter cream icing, using a white baking shortening to obtain a true pink shade. Butter would not give the same results.
IMG_20180518_150958.jpg

I know the theme is all about cup cake decorating, but I will still share with you my Carrot Cup Cake recipe, an old one from a Snowflake recipe book, really the best Carrot cake I have tasted. This quantity made 24 large cup cakes, can be baked in a ring pan if a large cake is desired, cooking time will vary of course.

The ingredients:
IMG_20180518_095214.jpg

Carrot Cupcakes Recipe

  • 4 Eggs
  • 500ml Sugar
  • 375ml Oil
  • 5ml Vanilla Essence
  • 750ml Cake Wheat Flour
  • 15ml Baking Powder
  • 10ml Baking Soda (bicarbonate of soda)
  • 10ml Cinnamon
  • 2ml Salt
  • 750ml raw grated Carrots
  • 250ml chopped Pecan Nuts

Whisk eggs and sugar till frothy.
IMG_20180518_100819.jpg
Add oil and vanilla and whisk again.
Sift dry ingredients together and fold into egg mixture with a spatula.
IMG_20180518_101924.jpg
Add carrots and pecan nuts and mix well.
IMG_20180518_102258.jpg
Spoon into paper cups.
IMG_20180518_102827_1.jpg
Bake at 170 C fan oven for about 20 minutes. Cool on wire rack.
IMG_20180518_133732.jpg
Beautiful texture inside.
IMG_20180518_162212.jpg
Glace icing was made with 1 cup Icing Sugar, 5ml shortening mixed in a little boiling water till a thick pouring consistency was reached. This was poured onto cupcakes and left to set.
IMG_20180518_151112.jpg
Pale pink icing was made for piping by beating with an electric beater till smooth and fluffy: 3 cups Icing Sugar, 200g White Baking Shortening, 5ml Vanilla Essence, a little milk & pink food colour.
IMG_20180518_161443.jpg
Our wedding high tea.
IMG_20180519_101615.jpg
A speedy look at the whole process, especially for us busy steemians :)
20180518_225220-ANIMATION.gif
And that is the end of my Royal Wedding Fever Cupcake story - may this Royal couple live happily ever after.


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Lizelle, you are always impressive! And you make your creations with great taste. Your cupcakes look elegant, totally appropriate for a royal wedding. The choice of color is perfect as it is delicate and sweet. Thanks too for sharing your recipe for the carrot cake!

It was a very nice gesture that you had made cupcakes for your housekeeper with her favorite color. I bet she felt special on her special day.

By the way, I was invited to the wedding too! Too bad we didn't run into each other. I bet it was because it was too crowded. Don't you think so?

So I was right, thought I caught a glimpse of you on the red carpet, but as you say it was too crowded! I was the one with the enormous pink hat and tray of cupcakes :):)
Thanks for your great comments @offoodandart!

Enormous pink hat! Omg, I totally saw you!

These are so pretty! Almost too pretty to eat!! I love that you enjoyed the wedding and brought these two items together. Your housekeeper does look so happy!! Fun to make someone's day. So is shortening and margarine considered the same thing? I would say Crisco is shortening and margarine is like butter (even though it really isn't, but it's marketed that way). Yummy yummy! I love following all your tasty treats!!

We usually call it baking margarine or shortening but I use a white one for icing if adding food colour, the brand I use is Wooden Spoon, not familiar with Crisco.
Oh it was a true fairytale wedding and the cupcakes were delicious, our Cynthia is a real gem, been with us for about 15 years already!
I'm planning a patchwork sandwich for next week's sandwich contest, hoping it turns out ok ;)

I really like the glace icing and how it leaves a nice sheen on the cupcakes. The silver dragees are just the perfect accents on the pink frosting. Beautiful job @lizelle.

Ah thank you @loveself, appreciate your support and lovely comments :)

This has been a very special week and another one that will be so difficult to judge. Your cupcakes are so regal @lizelle and what a wonderful birthday present for your helper. The cupcakes would have looked good on the wedding table. You should have got an invite

Haha @pandamama, that would have been a treat! I've seen some fabulous cup cakes here, thanks for the contest:)

They look delicious and professional. Great job. I like the royal fever but am over her family drama. I hope the leave her alone now.

Thank you @insideoutlet, they were delicious but need to practice my icing skills ;)
Yep I agree, they must leave them alone now and all try and remember that message of love for your neighbour by the American bishop!
Thanks for stopping by!

Mmmm I like this, the nuts are good I've never tasted them in a cupcake, I'm sure the carrot touch was very good, besides they were very beautiful decorated

Thanks @andrina, mmmm those nuts really make the carrot cake! Thanks for your great comments, have a fabulous week :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #144 (5/24/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Why thank you @thesteemengine, chuffed to have the wedding cupcakes at The Whistle Stop ;)

I love the cupcakes! Nice way to celebrate a birthday and a wedding. The wedding was absolutely beautiful and they make a handsome couple. I wish them much happiness.

Ah thank you @cecicastor! It was an absolute beautiful wedding hey, she was a stunning bride, so gracious! I loved how the American bishop made the stiff Brits sit up, the music was amazing as well, her mom sitting so poised yet full of emotion, all alone! So sad that Diana could not be there, she would have been so proud!
I also wish them a wonderful life together.

My friend how are you, happy birthday to your housekeeper you really wore that gift for her
That combination with carrot I really like give greetings to grandma

We're all well here Jenni, hope you also! Thank you for the lovely comments, have a great week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98