CwU #32 Pot Luck Dinner to Benefit @adollaraday Charity: Triple Chocolate Semifreddo

in #cookwithus6 years ago

I am glad to be able to present an entry for the Pot Luck Dinner to Benefit @adollaraday Charity. It was not a given at first. I was unwell towards the end of the week, a time when I normally prepare my dishes for the competition. At one point I’ve even considered giving up. But that was not an option. I had a chocolate semifreddo in mind. Over the weekend I changed my mind a few times. However, I’m happy to have held on for @adollaraday Charity.

I suffer from migraine. The last few days have been really hard. The headache, the nauseous episode and the diminishing vision. I had it all on Friday. Saturday was slightly better. And I was glad I could get out of bed and do some normal things. I wasn’t sure that I would be able to present a dish this week. But this particular event was important to me. Especially at this time of the year. I think like most people I like giving. During the festive season or at any other given time. I’ve been raised in a family where looking after the less privileged is as important and respecting others. I had a few things in mind from my childhood but it was a real effort to reminisce and get it all out. Instead I relied on my husband’s memories of his childhood.

In his teenage, my husband was a boy scout. They would do the usual bob-a-job week where they would clean people’s backyard. But this is usually a paid job, as this is the boy scouts way of raising money. During the festive season they would help people in whichever way possible. One of their favourite thing to do was to go and clean a retirement home, run by the nuns. The home was established in an old hospital. New doctors and nurses would be trained there, as well. But as the main hospital, located across the road, expanded in seize, this facility was retired. They lend it over to a religious order who transformed it into a retirement home for women. The residents as well as the nuns were fairly old and the property immense. 

 

To become self sufficient they started a little farm with some animals, chicken, turkey, ducks, and rabbits. As they were mostly allowed to run around freely the surrounding backyard was fairly untidy to say the least. That’s why my husband’s boy scout troop was invited to help clean around. They would start early in the morning on the 23rd of December and worked through the day, and come back the following day to complete what was left. Being Christmas eve, they all went to an early mass. And then as most people went back home to celebrate amongst their family, they jumped on their bikes and rode back to the retirement home. It was early evening, the light was dimmed, a cool breeze was running through their hair as they made it to the property.

They had brought in their bag packs some bread and marinated chicken. Early that day, they were asked by the nuns to organise a barbecue. The idea was to lift up the spirits of the residents. They had a makeshift barbecue with 2 concrete blocks on each side, a grill in the middle and some ashes to properly cook the chickens. They had an amazing night. They ate, they sang, they played the guitar and cheered up the ladies. Shortly before 11 pm, they jumped back on their bicycles and rode back home. According to my husband it was an amazing night; simple and jovial. I happened to know about this particular story of his childhood because he still have a scar on his left leg, next to his knee. He got it whilst cleaning near the chicken shed. And every time he looks at it he remembers this particular time.

 

For this week’s Pot Luck Dinner, I’ve prepared a chocolate semifreddo. It is a relatively easy recipe. 

I hope you enjoy it.

Bon appétit!

And happy thanksgiving to everyone.

INGREDIENTS

  • 250g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1 3/4  cups single cream
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate buttons
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate buttons
 

METHOD

  1. Place the dark chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and stir until melted and smooth. Set aside.
  2.    
  3. Place the eggs, yolks and sugar in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water and whisk for 4-5minutes or until the mixture is think and pale.
  4.  
  5. Remove from the heat and beat with an electric mixer for 5-6 minutes or until cool. Fold through the melted dark chocolate and set aside.
  6.      
  7. Place the cream in the bowl of an electric mixer and beat until soft peaks form.
  8.  
  9. Fold the egg and chocolate mixture and the white and milk chocolate buttons through the cream.
  10.        
  11. Pour the mixture into a metal bowl or cake tin, cover and freeze for 4-6 hours or until form.
  12.    
  13. To serve, place scoops of the semifreddo into chilled dishes.
     
Sort:  

That looks super yummy.

Thank you for supporting this fundraiser for A Dollar A Day.


The A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


It was my pleasure I hope we’ve helped in some ways your organisation.

Yum - this looks delicious - and thanks for supporting albeit with a migraine - your efforts are really appreciated

Thank you. I think it was the easiest recipe I could come up with under the circumstances. But I was glad I could provide a plate to this noble cause.

I would head towards your semifreddo for sure @foodforsoul! Sorry to hear about the migraine, I believe it's not an easy condition to manage.
I loved your story as well, brought back fond memories of when we were active with charity work.
Thank you for sharing your stories with us, just love it and the fabulous food of course always is the cherry on top!

Thank you @lizelle. Thank I think that the semifreddo was really delicious as my daughter kept asking for more. I’m looking forward for a taste of it later this week when my sugar free month ends.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

So glad you were able to make it! I'm sorry about the migraine, though. Both of my sisters suffer from them, so I know how awful that can feel from their experiences. I love your husband's story, as well! Such a wonderful memory that truly shows what the season is about!

Thank you @plantstoplanks. I’ve been unwell all week and wasn’t sure whether it will be coming back or not. We are having such a weird week with mid 10s and then high 20s after. Very unsettling. My husband does have a lot stories in reserve that I can rely on him when I can’t get my brain cells to work properly lol.

The semifreddo looks absolutely decadent. It's always so much fun when you can do a cooking a project and have kids participating. Looks like your little one did an excellent job adding just the perfect amount of chips. As always another excellent entry.

Thank you @loveself. My daughter is at that age where she constantly want to help. I can’t remember how many times she said “my turn to stir!” And she did a fair bit and then had to add the chocolate buttons. And of course she did the post production quality control! It was fun for both of us indeed.

How old is she? What is her favorite thing to bake with you? I'm sure there will be many more baking projects in the future, what fun!

Hi dear @foodforsoul! I like this great chocolate semifredo, it’s looks so good! My daughter likes the chocolate so much, it’s a good recipe for her.

Thank you @creativewoman. Your daughter would have so much fun helping with the process. The only part is cooking/preparing the eggs but apart from that everything else is safe for her to participate in the process. Let me know how you trying it especially now. I heard it’s very very hot in Mauritius at the moment.

I just love semifreddo and I can't even imagine how delicious this one is! For me the texture is as important as the flavor. Thanks for contributing this amazing dessert!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43