Cook With Us #3: Decadent sponge-cake with Nutella fillings

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone and particularly those participating in the Cook With Us challenge. How are we all feeling? Pumped and ready to splurge into some really succulent and mouthwatering desserts? I know I’m pumped. I must admit I have a sweet tooth or more particularly I have a penchant for desserts; for making them to eating them. After an unsuccessful entry in the Week #2 contest; I thought I would have another crack at it more in the spirit of sharing recipes than anything else to be honest.

Before I make my submission for the decadent sponge-cake with Nutella fillings I thought I would provide some background to its inception. After I gave birth to my daughter I took on a cake decoration course, on a part time basis, to keep myself otherwise busy. The course was roughly 3hrs a week and was focused on trying different approach to decorating the traditional cake. However, I felt that 3hrs was not enough to master all the techniques involved and I had to give myself more practice. So during the week, after I’ve tucked my daughter in for her midday nap, I’ve tried over and over again to improve my piping techniques and decoration skills. 

Needless to say that this trial and error approach resulted in a lot of waste at first but it eventually paid off as I became more proficient and skilful. So now I feel more confident to attempt new desserts (not limited to traditional cake). I’ve been telling my husband that I wanted to have an entry for Week #3. And last week, on his way to lunch, he saw this appealing dessert. He took a picture and sent it to me with the text:"How about this for Week #3?" I thought great and answered: "What’s the ingredients?" He replied: "You make your own dessert it just needs to look like this one!"

And here we are for the @cookwithus Week #3 entry. 

I really hope I’ve done the picture justice!

Hazelnut Sponge Cake Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup whole hazelnuts
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 9 tbs cake flour
  • 6 tbs cornstarch
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 large eggs yolks
  • 3/4 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil


Cream cheese and Nutella Ingredients:

  • 125g cream cheese 
  • 3 tbs Nutella spread


Ingredients for decoration:

  • Chocolate melts
  • Coconut oil


Method:

  1. Put the hazelnut and 1/4 cup sugar in a food processor and grind.


  2. In a bowl sift together the flour, cornstarch, and newly made hazelnut mixture. Set aside for later.


  3. In a mixture beat the 3 large eggs, 1/2 cup sugar, salt on high speed until thick and pale yellow in colour. Fold in the flour mixture while gradually drizzling oil while mixing.




  4. Pour the batter into a cake pan (sprayed with vegetable oil and lined with baking sheet) and baked for 25 to 30 minutes. Remove cake from oven and allow to cool down on a wire rack for 1hr.



  5. To make the cream cheese and Nutella cream, simply mix the two ingredients together in a bowl until a consistent cream is formed.


  6. For the decoration, melt chocolate with coconut oil. And then create the required shapes.




  7. Last step is to assemble the cake together by piping the Nutella cheese cream at each level.










I hope you enjoy it!

Bon appétit!

Sort:  

OMG! Can I come round and have a piece? I wanna live next to you! 😘

You sure can 😀

Your husband was wise in making the suggestion and you did wonderfully well in delivering a beautiful cake! Not only is it beautiful, i can imagine how wonderful it tastes like too.

Thanks for your dedication and determination in learning the craft! Those hours put in definitely shows in your work. I have learned some things from your post that I can incorporate in my creations!

Enjoyed your stories too!

Thank you a lot and thank you for your great posts.

Mmm... yummy... sponge cake that is very prety. It looks so delicious, so want to try it at home. Thank you for sharing a delicious and yummy recipe. The tutorial is also complete and easy to follow. Thank you very much @foodforsoul

This is the art of cooking @foodforsoul. And and this is really a cooking for the soul! :)

All the practice paid off. Beautiful! I love the combination of hazelnut and chocolate; wish I could have a piece.

Thank you. You should give it a try too.

Thats art! Beautifully presented @foodforsoul!
By the way, your entry for the 2nd week wasnt unsuccessfull- i thought it was very creative to put in vanilla ice cream in the brulee!😄
Good luck with this one ! Love it!

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words.

Wow! Your cake is so beautiful! All of that practice did pay off. We love the story behind your cake and how you got into cake decorating. We also love all of your detailed photographs. They really help to show the method and how you go about assembling a cake like this. Well done and thank you for entering again this week! We really appreciate having you here.

As the saying goes practice makes perfect and while I’m far from that at the moment I really hope to improve my skills. This kind of contest does help to motivate me and set a goal to attain. Thank you again.

Awesome work! Looks like you are ready to teach that cake decorating class! I can tell that this cake will be so delicious. Thanks for including your story behind the dish. That really makes this so much more than just a recipe. Also, your photos are amazing and so detailed. Thanks for your entry and good luck!

Thank you for hosting this competition. It offers us with the opportunity to showcase what we’ve learnt or acquire through our family passing on their skills. I must admit that without a defined goal it is quite hard to motivate oneself to try new things and try and keep on improving.

Wowy this is a real work of art @foodforsoul, looks and sounds amazing, good luck!

Thank you 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60260.23
ETH 3299.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38