Cook With Us # 2 - Vanilla Creme Brûlée

in #cookwithus6 years ago

I’m upset right now for missing the first week of @cookwithus contest. I must admit that I only read about it this weekend, which means that it was too late to post about my favourite dish. But at least I can provide some content for week 2.

A three-ingredients dish is never easy to find or to pull out. So I had to rely on my strength which is the preparation of dessert. In general I like my dishes to be quick and simple but to remain appealing in all circumstances. I vaguely remember saving for later some recipe i’ve found on the internet about a Vanilla Creme Brûlée. So on Sunday I went about digging for the recipe and fairly enough it was just what I needed. It was provided by taste.com.au.

So I needed 3-ingredients… 

For the Creme Brûlée I used the following ingredients:

  • Vanilla ice-cream
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 3 tsp of white sugar

Method:

  1. In a bowl, pour 3-4 scoops of vanilla ice-cream. Melt the ice-cream in the microwave for 40 seconds. Then add in 1 egg yolk and mix together.
  2. Pour mixture in a ramekin and bake aux bain-marie for 40 mins at 160 degrees celsius.

  3. Allow to cool for 3 hours.
  4. Sprinkle the top of the custard with white sugar and then use a blowtorch to caramelise.
  5. If you don’t enjoy vanilla ice-cream, feel free to try other flavours it might just do the trick for you!

    I hope you enjoy it!

    Bon appétit!

    Sort:  

    I have no idea this dessert is that easy to make (never looked into it :D hahaa). Looks great! I have a sweet tooth and def will have to try making some of this soon. Especially, when the ingredients are so easy to find. Thanks for sharing ! :) Good luck with your entry. I love it <3

    This looks so delicious @foodforsoul and a nice easy recipe to make - definitely want to give it a try - well done

    Looks delicious!

    Why did I have to open this post... now I'm craving for sugar :)

    Hahaha thank you. You should give it a try.

    Welcome to @cookwithus @foodforsoul! Your creme brulee is the first entry received for week 2! Very good idea to use ice-cream as the base. Your photos are very nice and I like how they clearly show the method. Thank you for your entry and good luck!

    Thank you. It was my first attempt at it and only had enough vanilla ice cream for one ramekin. So if I’ve missed it, I might not have been able to enter the contest this week. Luckily it turned out well.

    Welcome to #cookwithus and sorry we missed you in the first round. I'm glad you found us for this 2nd round though.

    Wow, I've been making crème brûlée for a long time and have never heard of using ice cream as a base. What a great and easier method this is. Thanks for sharing! I hope your post gets a lot of exposure so others can benefit from this method as well. I will definitely give it a try the next time I make it.

    Thanks for your participation and we look forward to learning more from you in the future!

    Thank you for taking the time to go through the post. The Creme brûlée turned out really well with the ice cream.

    Your photos do show it turned out well. Can't wait to try it.

    This really looks good - great photographs you've captured @foodforsoul

    It is very creative how you used the ice-cream for the custard! Great idea whenever you need a custard right away and you do not have time to make one. The caramelized sugar looks like shattered glass! so beautiful! Thank you for your entry!

    Thank you for the very nice comments. I’m already looking forward to week #3 of the contest and hopefully another dessert.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.18
    TRX 0.16
    JST 0.031
    BTC 62731.36
    ETH 2678.00
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.54