My Knives - Cook with Us Contest

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,

finally, a knife post from me, and not just any. Boy, do I have a treat for you!

IMGP1899.jpg

Intro


A few months ago I accidentally stumbled upon this guys @cookwithus. They are actually a team of three amazing Steemians who are working hard to make things interesting on Steemint and who, if I may, are kinda undeservedly flying under the radar. Namely, they are @offoodandart, @pandamama and @chefsteve.

Since I've really liked what they were doing with their cooking contest, I've asked them if they would be interested in a collaboration. Even though they were unfamiliar with my work (I think) they were thrilled with the idea and we started talking about how to proceed.

We agreed to make a three-round contest with the elimination of participants until three finalists emerge and the winner of the final round gets one of my hand-made knives for a prize.

Well, the winner was announced two days ago - you check it here - [Cook with us Winner Announced] (https://steemit.com/cookwithus/@cookwithus/cook-with-us-25-round-three-of-the-docsmith-knife-contest-winner-announced). And, the knife is just about done, hence this post.

To summarise, three ladies made it to the final round - @atmemestable, @lizelle and @foodforsoul, and boy did they make our job hard.

All three meals (deserts) were amazing and in the end, it was small nuances that kinda tipped over the scale for @foodforsoul.

She made an amazing dish that could be served in any high-end restaurant a Mango Parfait With Coconut Sorbet on a Fairy Floss Bed.

Anywho, before I start my usual knife-build post, I would ask you to use the links I've provided and share the love with an upvote or two.

Knife build


As usual, I'll take you through the process and post some nicer pictures at the bottom.

After I've cut out the knife from the stock, I did a compound quench as seen in the video below.

You can see that will be the knife in this group pic - it's the second from the bottom
IMG_20180728_165037.jpg


Rough grind at 40 grit
IMG_20180804_130343.jpg


Test etch to see how the hamon turned out at 60 grit
IMG_20180803_174831.jpg


Trying to decide which combination of materials will work best for the handle
IMG_20180818_161428.jpg
IMG_20180818_161413.jpg


Glueing the handle together
IMG_20180908_150153.jpg
IMG_20180908_130216.jpg


Sketching out the handle profile
IMG_20180913_190636.jpg
Dry-fitting the handle before handsanding
IMG_20180914_095640.jpg
IMG_20180914_080550.jpg


Hand sanding - the funnest part of knifemaking
IMG_20180922_115802.jpg
IMG_20180921_184353.jpg


The final etch and the emerence of the hamon

The final product

IMGP1874.jpg
IMGP1876.jpg
IMGP1877.jpg
IMGP1885.jpg
IMGP1891.jpg
IMGP1895.jpg
IMGP1897.jpg
IMGP1902.jpg


Thank you for dropping in and see you soon with more goodies from my workshop...

Sort:  

Woohoo can’t wait to put my hand on this knife! Thank you so much @docsmith for such an amazing knife. The step by step just demonstrate how much work and effort you’ve put into producing such an amazing cooking tool. I like the details on the blade and how the handle is beautifully crafted. I can’t wait to prepare N amazing dish with the help of this knife. Thank you again!

Congratulations again, well deserved:)

It was a pleasure, both making a knife and being part of the contest.
I am especially glad that the knife will be put to a good use.

And I am glad that you like her ;)
I still need to sharpen her and take her to my laser guy for engraving, but it will be in the mail next week.

Also, could you contact me on Discord, or let me know how we can converse privately so I can get your shipping info. I am DocSmith#2734 or @docsmithknives on IG.

Thank you @docsmith. I have provided you with my mailing details on Discord.

A very sincere congratulations to you! It is well-deserved. You don’t know how I excited I am for you. I’m so appreciative of @docsmith’s skill and artistry and ever so humbled by his generosity and support for CwU.

Omg ... yay!!!

@foodforsoul. Congratulations. You well deserved. I love the dessert you have posted with the steps by steps. Finally :)

Thank you very much.

You are welcome. And you deserved it.

Congrats @foodforsoul!! Your desert was really stunning! Well deserved win :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow this really is a gorgeous beast of a knife @docsmith, great seeing all the work that went into the making! Thank you for the contest, it was a real challenge! @foodforsoul is a well deserved winner and it was lovely meeting @atmemestable here as well!

Thank you @lizelle, and thank you for making the contest interesting

It's a great honor to win a cooking contest and an even greater honor to win a handmade kitchen knife, made by a fellow steemian! First of all congratulation for the amazing work, that knife looks very professional. Who wouldn't want one? I can only speak for myself but I do, any time :) You're a real artist! Not only the blade, but the handle looks great as well! Second, congratulations for the winners! Well done all of you!

Thank you.
I did try to make her a bit more eye-pleasing than usual - you simply can not give a lady something she won't enjoy both using and looking at 😉

That's very kind and thoughtful. I'm pretty sure she's going to appreciate it 😉

You make knives!! That is so cool!! Thank you @docsmith for sharing this post with us. I really like your knife. The wave pattern is very different, I have never seen a knife like this. I love the wood handle and the photos. Very artistic shots of the knife too :) And foodforsoul's Mango Parfait With Coconut Sorbet on a Fairy Floss Bed truly deserves to be the winner. Such an effort that went into the creation of the masterpiece, just like your knives :) It is really nice of you to offer one of your knives as the prize. Do you own a knife shop?

Thank you!
What do you mean by knife shop - like a store or something? Then no, it's just a hobby of mine.
If you mean like a workshop, then yes, I do have a workshop ;)

Ah yes, I was thinking of a store :) Workshop works too :) It is a very interesting hobby to have. Where did you learn how to make knives? Did it cost much to buy the tools and raw materials? Happy Sunday there @docsmith :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

The finished product looks good, i love your choice of wood. Looks like a sturdy kitchen knife. I won't mind one in my kitchen. How often do you make knives? and are they for sale?

Thank you.
I'm usually 2-3 days a week in my workshop. As far as how many, I would say I make on an average 2 a month. And yes I do sell them - I mostly advertise on IG - you have a link in my profile.

I will be sure to check it out.

Hi docsmith,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh wow! My first @curie 😊

Thank you so much!

Thanks again @docsmith - and congratulations @foodforsoul for preparing such superb dishes for the competition. Well done to the two who came in very close to winning this coveted prize @lizelle and @atmemestable. Send us a video of your next entry so we can get you on view.ly

You are very welcome 😘

Thanks @docsmith for your generosity! That is a beautiful knife. I’m sure @foodforsoul will enjoy creating amazing dishes with it.

It really was a pleasure - we should probably do this once a year or something like that.
I'm not planning to stop making them anytime soon, so if your plans with CwU project are long lasting, I don't see a reason not to ;)

Wow, thanks so much! It will be motivating and inspiring for the CwU community to keep this going yearly or so.

Congratulations!!

I believe that if a perso who loves to make and us knife, he/she is destined to have skills in cooking too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, and I guess you are right, I haven't had any complains in the kitchen so far 😉

yayyyyy! My predictions are true...hahahaha..

Really i am always amaze how a cook handles his/her knife really knows how food should be cooked. Sorry i have watched too many iron chefs! Hahahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

My goodness! I actually do not know drawn sketches are needed in other to determine how the knife hilt will look like. It's actually a process I've never seen and you took time to show the time lapse processes with the video embedded there.
The hilt of the knife turned out very extraordinary I didn't even realise it could until I saw the end product myself. This is definitely awesome it's ready to be put into chopping of vegetables and others. Well done

Thank you!
There are actually a lot of small but crucial things that were left out because they are either boring (like measuring with callipers a lot) or I simply didn't take a pic (scribing center lines).
It takes a lot to bring everything together into something that looks nice and can preform well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34