CwU #32 Pot Luck Dinner to Benefit @adollaraday Charity: Roasted Turkey

in #cookwithus5 years ago (edited)


I am very happy to contribute to the @cookwithus pot luck dinner to benefit @adollaraday charity. As a founder and judge of @cookwithus I never get to enter the contest. So, I am excited to be part of the community this week! @adollaraday is a great charitable organization, run by @pennsif, that gives to causes all around the globe. Check out the latest post by @adollaraday where they interview the founder of an organization that they contribute to.

For the pot luck dinner, I will contribute an American classic, the roast turkey. Because this bird is quite large (mine is 14 pounds), it is usually reserved for special occasions. This turkey was prepared for our Thanksgiving feast which occurred this past Thursday. Below you can see the bird at different stages of cooking.



Here is the bird ready for the oven. It is a 14 pound heritage bronze turkey just seasoned with salt and pepper. Check out this video from website Eater for more information about this type of turkey, how they are raised and the Stone Barns farm where I bought them from. The turkey is stuffed with my stuffing of sourdough bread, mirepoix, sausage, prunes, pecans, turkey liver and fresh herbs. If you notice, I do not truss in the traditional way. I just tie the legs enough to keep them from touching the sides of the roasting pan. I like to keep the legs open to help cook the, hard to reach, area of the hip socket.



Here is the turkey after 45 minutes at 350F. Every 20 minutes while the turkey is cooking I rub the skin with butter. I simply take a stick of butter and partially pull the paper back. Then I rub the butter all over the turkey. The stick of butter should be almost totally gone after the full 2.5 hours of cooking.



Here is the turkey after 1.5 hours of cooking. It is starting to smell great in the kitchen!



Here is the finished turkey at 2.5 hours and an internal temperature of 165F. You can see how rubbing the skin with butter helps to give the finished bird a richly colored and crispy skin. The skin even stayed crispy after resting the bird for 30 minutes.

Thanks for reading my post today and I hope that you consider making an entry to the @cookwithus pot luck dinner and/or a donation to @adollaraday!


Sort:  

Stunning! Thanks for sharing the secret to getting that nice skin. It looks perfect. I've been toying with the idea of roasting a turkey for Christmas as I just missed Thanksgiving (and therefore missed an opportunity for a huge turkey dinner) due to travel. I guess this comes in at the right time for me as I can utilize this new technique for the perfect skin. Love it! I feel like reaching in to tear off some of that beautiful skin.

I'm also a lover of skin - especially beautifully browned and crispy skin like on that turkey - Lucky guests and the stuffing also sounds perfect

That does look might tasty (even though I am vegetarian now!).

Thank you so much for this fundraiser for A Dollar A Day.



Oh my, your turkey looks wonderful, gorgeous stuffing and crispy skin to die for, now I'm hungry again!

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Congratulations @chefsteve! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow! This must have been a super flavorful and succulent turkey. I have never seen such a perfectly browned turkey. Your stuffing sounds absolutely scrumptious with the sausage, prunes and pecans. How many people does a 14 pound turkey serve?

Nice one @chefsteve - and you are definitely a winner in your own competition haha - so well done with the contribution going to @adollaraday

Congratulations @chefsteve! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear @chefsteve

I know that you delegated some SP to dstors. I'm not sure if you're aware that they seem to shut down their project lately. Just check out their profile and read latest post.

Guys from dstors didn't even bother to contact people who supported them. Such a shame. This project looked very promissing.

ps.
I was wondering if you would consider supporting my efforts in building a crypto community here on Steemit..

Since HF20 took place, myself, along with a few other active "Steemians" decided to put in extra effort into making our little community stronger. And community build mostly on mutual engagement and support instead of financial rewards.

I recently delegated over 3500 SP to a group of 80 active steemians who struggled with low RC levels (resource credit). And the results has been great so far. One of my latest posts reached over 800 comments, which I found insane

Those results are only proving that our efforts are worth something. The only thing is that I can only do "that much" with my current resources.

Perhaps you could consider supporting our efforts with some delegation? I would seriously appreciate your help.

Please let me know what do you think. I will appreciate every feedback, regardless of your decision.

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97