Cook With Us Week #14 | Asian Shrimp Rolls with Maple Tahini Sauce

IMG_6941 (2).JPG

This is my entry for Cook With Us Week 14 Challenge. We are on the road right now so preparing this entry added an additional challenge!

I would first like to thank @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart for hosting this contest. It is great to be a part of such a talented group of contributors. Also, thanks as well to our sponsors @hendrikdegrote and @curie for supporting this community.


The kitchen area in my travel van is quite tiny and when I started cooking I realized I had only 1 small skillet. So bear with me my friends!

We love Asian food, spring rolls and wraps are a favorite. You're allowed to have 1 roll or 5 rolls…it’s all healthy!

todaysjourney.jpg

Asian Shrimp Rolls with Maple Tahini Sauce

Shrimp Rolls

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup Cooked Brown Basmati Rice
  • 2 Small Peppers
  • 1 Red Onion
  • 1 Carrot
  • Baby Bella Mushrooms
  • 6 Fresh Lacinato Kale Leaves
  • ½ cup Fresh small Shrimp (well washed and cooked)
  • Gluten Free Tahini Sauce
  • Salt/Pepper to taste
  • Fresh Ginger (grated)
  • Fresh Zucchini noodles

Maple Tahini Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon Organic Coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup Maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoon Gluten Free Tamari
  • 1 clove Garlic minced
  • ½ cup cold water
  • 3 teaspoon Arrowroot flour

Let’s prepare the filling for the wraps!

  • Prepare the rice! Set aside to cool.

  • Finely chop peppers, onion, and carrot. Set this aside.

IMG_6887 (2).JPG

  • Saute Bella mushrooms in Olive Oil. Add 1 Tablespoon Tahini sauce and warm.
    IMG_6880 (2).JPG
  • Chop Mushrooms and combine with rice, veggies and shrimp. I like to add a little Tahini to this mixture, it’s up to you and your taste! Salt and pepper as you wish! I like to also add fresh grated ginger but unfortunately I didn’t have any with me!

IMG_6895.JPG

  • Steam the Kale leaves for just a few seconds, this makes them easy to roll. The fun begins!
    IMG_6920 (2).JPG

Now we prepare this lovely sauce! This is where we work fast! It all comes together at one time.

Maple Tahini Sauce Prep!

  1. In a small pot over medium high heat add the coconut oil, maple syrup, tamari and garlic. Bring to a simmer.
  2. While the sauce is warming, whisk the arrowroot powder with cold water.
  3. After the sauce has simmered for 5 minutes, stir in the arrowroot slurry and continue to simmer until the sauce coats the back of a spoon (syrupy not sticky). This will gel quickly so don’t overcook!
    IMG_6917 (2).JPG

Place a tablespoon of rice mixture in the middle of each kale leaf. Roll and secure with Zuchinni noodle!

I must say this truly an art form!

Drizzle sauce over wrap

And Voila!

IMG_6929 (2).JPG


So tasty! Light and refreshing on a hot summer day!

IMG_6930 (2).JPG

And so, as they say….That’s a Wrap!


Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoy!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

Sort:  

Wow looks yummy! I’m glad you finally got to make these 😘😘 yummy sauce!!

Thank you, I was glad to incorporate your garden goodies into this recipe! The kale was amazing!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-11T16:02:09
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 381.75/200.00
Total Photos: 62
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

your dish looks so sweet and i love your new look with the humming bird on the banana and the flowers so cute

Thank you so much! My daughter@mountainjewel helped me design it. It was fun. She is quite a bit more knowledgeable so it was great! I really appreciate your kind words @celestialcow! Be well!

Lovely entry @birdsinparadise - looks so delicious

Thank you so much! Glad you liked it!

What a delicious recipe! The rolls look beautiful, healthy and tasty. Tahini sauce is one of my favorites and I like how it's used in this dish. Thanks for your entry @birdsinparadise!

Thank you, I too love Tahini sauce! It was fun to create this dish, the kale wraps made it so light. I really am glad you enjoyed them!

Your filling sounds so tasty and I love how you used the kale to wrap this. The zucchini tie is such a great idea! Great sauce too. I must be so nice to taste the maple with Tamari. Thanks so much for your entry!

I love that you steamed the kale leaves and used them for a wrap. I should have thought of doing that as a vegan. I think that sauce sounds brilliant and delicious. They look so beautiful!
I really hope you have a wonderful journey!

Thank you @carolynstahl, you are always so kind, I really appreciate that. As for the kale, it was from my daughters garden and I don't think I have tasted such delicate kale. I steamed it for just a second and it was so amazing to work with. I know you would love it, I hope you'll try it!

The first chance I get to get this kale I'm doing it!

did you say Asian shrimp rolls?
gimme please ^ ^
that looks like a YUM!

have you tried mixing rice vinegar or grape vinegar + honey + cubed red onions + garlic + 1thai chili + salt + black pepper and cherry tomatoes to use as a sauce? this one looks like that of a summer spring roll so I asked :)

oh, now my...that could be a very nice sauce, haven't tried this. Thank you! I am always looking for new tasty sauces, and I like the spice too! Love it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89