You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Buttermilk Pancakes for Breakfast! - Lori's Cookbook

in #cooking5 years ago

I never knew you could start a culture from store bought buttermilk - how cool! I used to buy it all the time to make brown bread for the eldest a few years back, when we were trying to figure out a recipe that didn't upset her system (suspected gluten allergy at the time). Definitely pinning this for future reference - oh, and the pancake recipe looks awesome too...lol!

@tipu curate

Sort:  

I can't remember where I found the reference to culturing buttermilk, but since I make crème fraiche the same way (and you can do sour cream similarly) using cream, I thought "why not"? And it worked! (Yogurt can be done this way too if you put it in a small thermos and then into a larger one full of hot water - just let it cool 12-24 hours.)

And yes, the rice/almond flour combo should work quite well for most gluten-sensitives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59