Digital Heirlooms [Recipe Books of the Future @mountainjewel + @birdsinparadise]

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

Mountainjewel_Collab.png

This article by @mountainjewel is part of a blockchain collaboration series. Learn more about the Sndbox #cryptocollab initiative, here.


Photo adapted from @ birdsinparadise Cashew Flour and Butternut Squash English Muffins


A Ledger for Recipes


For this month's theme of Collaboration I played with the idea of 'Digital Heirlooms' given the scope of Steem blockchain's immutable ledger. I had long thought that one of the assets of blockchain technology is its storability. To this effect, I communicated with my mom, @birdsinparadise, and tossed around the idea of co-creating one of the most traditional forms of family heirlooms, a recipe book.

My initial idea was to create the book on @dbooks.org, but I had trouble with the DApp and couldn't contact the founder. They also don't allow photos and that was a key component for me as a part of this digital heirloom as my mom takes such beautiful food photography. We briefly thought about creating a kindle book, but decided in the end to wait for an application on the blockchain.

 

QmeApdUECcUQWYNSECdbaF8TQrjwpJK2HRWMkXshHoMS7F.jpeg

 

Sunny Morning Breakfast Parfait photo and recipe by @birdsinparadise

 

QmY2S484fdqXtujbVMKc76FxhPwNaJbfrqeatvGREXf95h.jpeg

 

Red Wine Spicy Italian Calzones photo and recipe by @birdsinparadise


Generations of a ’Digital Heirloom'



I chose my Mom as a collaborator because it means a lot to me that she accepted my invitation (okay maybe persistent pestering!) to join Steem.
Not only that, but she has taken off and built a community of her own and developed considerable skills as a creative food blogger. Food is a time honored way humans show love and I know my mom demonstrates her love for us through this. Each time I see her posts, I am reminded of what a repository she is making for her grandkids, or even great great grandkids to get a window into their grandma's mind, feel her enthusiasm, see her development as a creative foodie and content creator, and a store of recipes!!

When my grandmother died when I was in college, I scoured her computer for any shreds of personalized writings.

It's important for the younger generations to connect with the private thoughts and creative drives of their ancestors. Indeed this is a natural human drive. In collaborating with @birdsinparadise to make a multiple Volume 'Digital Heirloom' of her recipes, I am simply helping in the organization and consolidation of a ball that is already rolling. I hope that future generations find it valuable. I think they'll be amazed that their grandma was so cutting edge and so so ingenious and creative in the kitchen!


For this collaboration, we sent ideas back and forth through email and also talked on the phone. We then took it into busy.org and worked on a draft together. As mentioned previously, I hope there is a working and advanced Steem DApp that allows us to create photo-rich books on the blockchain.

 

DE5C1C63-8DD5-4B3F-9FEB-5576FF975C05.jpeg

 

Our final creation: A Bird's Eye Collection of Healthy Eats Volume 1 | by Mme Oiseau


The First Volume



A Bird's Eye Collection of Healthy Eats Volume 1 | by Mme Oiseau

I really enjoyed working with @birdsinparadise on this collaboration. I love playing with modern forms of technology in the ethos of creating heirlooms, which are traditionally not based in technology. Yet, if we are to be able to speak to future generations, I believe it is a positive thing to stay relevant in this way and expand the borders of defining heirlooms and even of how we conceive of blockchain potential.


This post was authored by @mountainjewel, a member of the sndbox incubator. Learn more, follow @mountainjewel or begin a conversation in the comment section below.


Footer_mountainjewel.png


Empower artists, writers, musicians, non-profits and community initiatives - delegate Steem Power to @sndbox (using the links below) or follow our curation trail. Learn more about Sndbox - watch our introduction, here.

arrow-01.png
arrow-02.png
arrow-03.png
arrow-04.png
arrow-05.png
arrow-06.png
arrow-07.png
100
250
500
1k
2k
5k
10k
Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and our magazine The Creative Crypto / @creativecrypto

---

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sndbox.blog/digital-heirlooms-recipe-books-of-the-future-mountainjewel-birdsinparadise/
Sort:  

I loved this idea when I first saw @birdsinparadise post about it! Such a wonderful way to pass on traditions and love of connecting through food. I am so thankful to be a part of Mama Bird's online community and be inspired by her. I can't wait to see the next volume!

Katie you are amazing. I am so glad I know you and be part of the foodie community! Sharing knowledge and our healthy creations has turned out to be such a fun addition to my daily life. Blessings to you, you are so kind!

Nice work @mountainjewel and @birdsinparadise, if there is one way to bring people together it is through food.

Great collab!

Indeed!! 😊 and thanks!!!

Mouthwatering post :P I just came from the party but still, i am feeling hungry by looking at your post @sndbox.

Hi @sndbox, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @birdinparadise doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @birdsinparadise ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Hi @sndbox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.577 which ranks you at #142 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 143).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This is such an awesome collaboration with your amazing mom @birdsinparadise!
I've been wanting to put my steemit recipe book together here as well as it's such a great way to pass on recipes to future generations, well done @mountainjewel & @birdsinparadise :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36