Easy Bananas Foster Topping

in #cooking5 years ago

Ready to seize my Saturday morning with French toast, my plans were almost dashed when I discovered a horrifying lack of maple syrup in my kitchen. Rifling through every cupboard and upturning every condiment in the refrigerator with no luck, I almost made a mad dash to the store to save my French toast dreams. But then I saw the bananas on the counter, and I had a better idea. Instead I whipped together this marvelous banana topping.

Pancakes, waffles, French toast, ice cream, cheesecake, these are all foods that can only benefit from a hefty topping of sweet cooked bananas in a carmely sauce. Versatile as this yummy topping is, you'll also be pleased to know, it's incredibly easy to make.

Of course it's not truly a bananas foster topping until you include pecans. But that's the magic of cooking for yourself, you can eat what you like, how you like.
And there's no harm in adding pecans, in fact I would suggest throwing 1/4 to 1/2 cup of halved pecans in to your topping in the final stages. I just didn't have any , so they weren't included in today's recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 2 bananas
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 5 tablespoons butter
  1. Slice the bananas in to quarter inch pieces.
  2. In a skillet on medium heat, melt the butter. Add the bananas, stir.
  3. Stir in the brown sugar. Continue to stir until the mixture is homogenized.
  4. Turn the heat to low, and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. When complete, serve warm on your favorite breakfast breads or deserts.
Sort:  

That seems delicious an healthy at the same time. also a good alternative for maple syrup.
This will be in my breakfast tomorrow, keep flourishing

That sounds amazing. Next time I make French toast I'm trying this for sure. I havent made it in a while so I think I'm due. That will be my Sunday breakfast

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! Enjoy your Sunday morning breakfast!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43