Collecting Cast Iron Cookware.

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

We're just now learning how bad non stick cookware can be for you, it's essentially coated in poison.  Even the American Cancer Society (Which has no interest in reducing cancer :) ) has admitted that non stick pans (Teflon) contain something called  Perfluorooctanoic acid, which even they admit can possibly increase your risk of Kidney Thyroid, Testicular, Prostate, Bladder, and Ovarian Cancers!!! here's a link (https://www.cancer.org/cancer/cancer-causes/teflon-and-perfluorooctanoic-acid-pfoa.html)

There's an alternative that's way safer!

I've been collecting antique cast iron cookware for some time now.  Properly seasoned, and cared for, cast iron can be essentially non stick without chemicals you can't pronounce.


Here's a "Pot rack" I built out of an old ladder.

The only problem is that collecting cast iron cookware becomes an all consuming hobby.  Learning what brands were (are still) manufactured, the qualities they have, what's valuable, and how to find them becomes an obsession!!!  I posted a video some time back on "That other video posting place" about how to identify your cast iron cookware!!!  I hope you enjoy it!!!

As always, I would really really appreciate it if you would follow, and up vote!!!

Sort:  

I love cooking my chili in a cast iron pot

Aluminum is bad too! I stick to stainless steel or cast iron.

@Finnian Look closely at the picture of my "Pot rack", and you'll see a lot of "Revere Ware" pots peacefully co-habitating with my cast iron. They're Stainless Steel with a copper bottom.

Love cast iron! We cook everyday on a 100 year old cast iron skillet @bobwillow great great grandma had.

Very true! I also avoid aluminium!! Stainless steel or cast iron for me.
Not really used cast iron as it is very heavy. I have also heard that you need to coat it in oil? Is this the case?

Look closely at the picture of my "Pot rack", and you'll see a lot of "Revere Ware" pots peacefully co-habitating with my cast iron. They're Stainless Steel with a copper bottom. Cast Iron has to be ""Seasoned""!!! Throw me a follow, and Tomorrow, I'll share a video on how I do that. Not too difficult, and only has to be redone every few years.

I love cast iron. This is about half of what I have. I even have a double burner one on top. Lots of others in the cabinets. Grew up using cast iron and its all I really like. I have a few dutch ovens and one even has legs. No lids with rims for coals though. I want some of those too! Great post!

20773651_2004777876419826_1106081276_o.jpg

Zoinks Shaggy.... You sure could make some Scooby snacks!!!

Cool , maybe next time you show what you cook on , actualy chek the food tag is several cooking chalenges you can join , plus you can eat everyting you cook :P

I've had a setup for 'Campfire Cooking" for a while now. I always wanted to do a Youtube video series on Cowboy Campfire Cooking. Of course..... No one would see it now. I built up 7600 subscribers there (On Youtube,) and Google's made it so they won't find my videos.

You can do this here ... on Steemit !

I think that's what I'll do!!!!! I've always been ""Vlogging"" kind of guy. I've posted hundreds and hundreds of videos over there on Google's money machine. I've built up a following, but it takes hours and hours of effort to make any good content. I lost 300 subscribers there in one day this past week as they had another one of their infamous purges. At one point it was 7600+ subscribers. If I can ever build that many followers here it will be quite a feat! It took me over ten years to grow on Youtube. I am hoping youtube will stay in business though, if only a place where I can park my video work, and have a place to link here on Steemit. If you know of another (Less corporate, less authoritarian, less controlled by algorithms video hosting site let me know lol.)

I think the guys are building tool for videos for steemit , based on blokchain !

Coooolllll!!!!!

I've never liked those Teflon pans myself. The stuff always scrapes off easy if anything metal touches them and then you know that stuff has to be rubbing off into your food. Resteeming and sharing this. Thanks!

From this Minnow to you.... Thanks!!! (Follow?)

Yep, already following. Watching for more posts. Thanks!

Congratulations @goathollow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome info. I sent this to my wife.

Tell her I said good luck with her new passion!!!

She said she loves her Teflon, this is going to take some work lol.

Buy her just one skillet...... She'll be hooked!!!

Fantastic video. I got my first cast iron pan at an antique store, brought it home and re-seasoned it and it is fantastic. From that day on, we were hooked on cast iron cookwear! Turns out it is one with the ridge on the handle as you show in the video. It's been a fantastic pan and I use it mostly in the oven these days. My only complaint was that it is heavy so a few years ago, my husband found a new cast iron skillet made by Starfrit. He bought it not being sure about it because of the name and it's association with teflon pans but it is AWESOME! It cooks as well as the heavier cast iron, wipes clean and is so much lighter to handle. It's my "go to" skillet unless I am oven roasting.

One other advantage of cast iron that has been awesome for me, is that I am a frequent blood donor here in Canada where we do it for free :) Every few months I have my iron level checked before a donation and my iron count is always fantastic. Surprises the clinic worker that a woman has such a great iron count. I attribute this to my use of cast iron cookwear.

When cooking something acidic like tomato sauces, a tiny bit or the iron is leached out of the pan and becomes available for the body. At least that's my answer for why someone who eats very little red meat and doesn't overload on green veggies is able to keep her iron count so high naturally.

PS - I also have one of those ridged cast iron pans but because it's so hard to clean we rarely use it. Steaks are good cooked in it but the BBQ grill is so much easier :)

Thanks for an awesome post and video. I'm following!

Followed you back, I never ever thought about iron and cast iron!!! Thanks so much for the information!!! We've been looking at Chromium because they tell me I'm borderline type 2 diabetic. Turns out just 200 micro-grams of chromium (About 2 ten thousandths the weight of a small paperclip) per day can cure type 2 diabetes in some people. I'm sure it wouldn't take much iron from your pans to make a difference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52